KARTer 2nd Gear August 9, 2011 Author Share August 9, 2011 I would go for suspension and IHE. And then so on and so forth. Final step should be ECU tuning or piggyback (after everything is completed). isit ok to do the re-map (mild one) earlier instead of at the end?.... ie re-map which doesnt need hardware / internal upgrades ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 isit ok to do the re-map (mild one) earlier instead of at the end?.... ie re-map which doesnt need hardware / internal upgrades Usually re-map is do at the end cos if you add more mod like exhaust or intake after you map, then you need to map again. I leave this to the more senior and experienced bros here to explain to you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Krado Clutched August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 My first mod were the brakes. Changed them to NPad sport and SSBH's. Then came wheels with lower offsets and... that was about it. Bo lui liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 which year model was your Charade Turbo?.... the last generation, or the boxy one? i saw one last month, maybe not many left in SGP? Hey I saw one recently too a 3 dr light blue one! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 9, 2011 Author Share August 9, 2011 Usually re-map is do at the end cos if you add more mod like exhaust or intake after you map, then you need to map again. I leave this to the more senior and experienced bros here to explain to you. ok, understand liao... changing exhaust or intake etc changes the parimeters.... so re-map is needed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 9, 2011 Author Share August 9, 2011 Hey I saw one recently too a 3 dr light blue one! remember the 3dr Charade Gtii 'fought' with the Suzuki GTi of the same era Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elfenstar 3rd Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 My very first mod was an 'extractor' installed by a ICT fren, all in about $400 and the mid range torque improvements were very obvious..... back in those days when engines didnt have ECU, just carb/distributor... Remus muffler + 17 inch ROH Blade wheels back in 2001 on my Megane. Car (sports edition) came from factory with Eibach springs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aeromania 1st Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 Simota air intake on my lancer GLX. Then DIY it to a open pod intake. SHIOOOOK!!! Loud as hell hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 9, 2011 Share August 9, 2011 ok, understand liao... changing exhaust or intake etc changes the parimeters.... so re-map is needed Technically you need to retune your ecu after any power mods but seriously, nobody would bother with mods like exhaust. Most of the time its when you change the fuel system or turbo then you need to retune. Having said that, people generally do the basic power mods (exhaust) before their very first tune but after that, they wouldnt bother unless the mod is something significant (e.g. new fuel pump, injectors, intercooler, turbo etc). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 mine is some snake oil magnet.... ah the school fees we have to pay in order to learn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6656 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 Cheetah 911 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Technically you need to retune your ecu after any power mods but seriously, nobody would bother with mods like exhaust. Most of the time its when you change the fuel system or turbo then you need to retune. Having said that, people generally do the basic power mods (exhaust) before their very first tune but after that, they wouldnt bother unless the mod is something significant (e.g. new fuel pump, injectors, intercooler, turbo etc). OIC, no wonder i see some of my geeky+carsiao frens keep plugging in their com to the engine every now and then to re-map after they added something physical for performance enhancements.... too much for me to understand, but fun watching them read live 'maps' on the fly regrets not learning enough about programming etc last time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 ok, understand liao... changing exhaust or intake etc changes the parimeters.... so re-map is needed Uncle Foo, you testing me har? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Strudel- 1st Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 Well a good tune is something you gotta pay for. I've raced a R34 GTT with around 450rwhp once and absolutely annihilated him with only 340awhp (around 360rwhp?) and I think its due to the tune. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Uncle Foo, you testing me har? mai siao lah, where got testing?! me just a monkey watching others do their car things... try to learn, but very very slow... stick stuck at cleaning engine bay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 the 4dr was quite rare, most Gtti were 3dr? my fren had a white one, but later he blew the engine... ya, old tech was fun!! ya most 4 doors are 1.0 cx and 3 doors could be 1.0 TX or 1.0 Gtti. but seriously gttis are brute on pick up...leaves behind the eg civics but aft 120kmh no more power liao haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear August 10, 2011 Share August 10, 2011 remember the 3dr Charade Gtii 'fought' with the Suzuki GTi of the same era one turbo one NA. very close fight always. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear August 10, 2011 Author Share August 10, 2011 Well a good tune is something you gotta pay for. I've raced a R34 GTT with around 450rwhp once and absolutely annihilated him with only 340awhp (around 360rwhp?) and I think its due to the tune. OMG..... hope you can share this thru PM if not so convenient here..... well done!! i do believe a professionally tuned car (engine+the rest) can beat 'bigger brother' in the hand of the right driver, the satisfaction is 'priceless'..........though not cheap usually tssss.... yours conti or jap, engine capacity? (not that i m biased or anything, just curious) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...