10 jobs that can lead to depression

Jman888

After knowing what food you crave for will affect your health, now the job that you do that likely to cause depression :D

10 jobs that can lead to depression

Some jobs are more depression-prone than others.

Wed, Aug 03, 2011

AsiaOne

For most people, work is a necessary evil. You might not enjoy it all the time, but you need it to live.

But you survive. You thrive, you grow, you get something out of it.

For some people, however, their jobs may lead them to depression. At one point of time, some of us may feel blue, unhappy, miserable, or down in the dumps.

But others may be truly clinically depressed, which website PubMed Health describes as "a mood disorder in which feelings of sadness, loss, anger, or frustration interfere with everyday life for weeks or longer."

According to website health.com, some jobs are more depression-prone than others.

It lists 10 careers in which full-time workers are more likely to report an episode of major depression in a given year.

If your work happens to be any one of these, don't despair. Deborah Legge, PhD, a licensed mental health counselor in Buffalo, told the website: "Folks with the high-stress jobs have a greater chance of managing it if they take care of themselves and get the help they need."

1. Nursing home/child-care workers

According to health.com, nearly 11 per cent of those people working in this field report a bout of major depression.

2. Food service staff

A combination of low pay and exhausting jobs make this the no. 2 career that can cause depression.

3. Social workers

Dealing with every imaginable crisis can make this a very demanding, stressful job.

Health care workers

4. Doctors, nurses, therapists are included in this group of people whose jobs entail erratic, long hours where lives are literally in their hands.

5. Artists, entertainers, and writers

The combination of irregular paychecks, uncertain hours, isolation, combined with their lifestyle may contribute to their depression. According to the website, creative people may also have higher rates of mood disorders.

6. Teachers

Teachers get all sorts of demands from all sorts of people - from their students, parents to the schools themselves, plus they take home their work most of the time.

7. Administrative support staff

Unpredictable days plus taking orders from all directions while they hold very little control may be the cause for depression for people who hold these jobs.

8. Maintenance and grounds workers

Frequent night shifts, irregular hours, and being called on when something goes wrong to clean up other people's messes make this a tough job.

9. Financial advisors and accountants

Being responsible for handling other people's money and bearing the guilt if their clients start losing money can make them depressed.

10. Salespeople

Long hours, coupled with uncertainty of income due to working for commissions may cause depression.

wonder why undertaker and table wiper are not among them [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

Edited by Jman888

wonder why undertaker and table wiper are not among them [rolleyes] [rolleyes]

undertaker belong to point 8 ................table wiper belong to point 2............ [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

i think 1,3,4,5,6... more likely so..

encounter pple in num 5. in theater one.. they are really good at what they do.. acting.. but sometimes.. they immerse themselves into the role.. very hard to get out..

no wonder i also feel depression.............. [:(] [:(] [:(]

oh heard you are a doctor right [rolleyes] take care ok [laugh] [laugh]

i think 1,3,4,5,6... more likely so..

encounter pple in num 5. in theater one.. they are really good at what they do.. acting.. but sometimes.. they immerse themselves into the role.. very hard to get out..

no. 5 can be quite bad, you see so many movie stars commit suicide [:(]

oh heard you are a doctor right [rolleyes] take care ok [laugh] [laugh]

alamak..............how you know sia......... :o :o

i feel depress.........because all those who came to see me............i refer them all to RADX!!!.......... [laugh]

What about chauffeurs? Depress that the nice car you are driving does not belong to you but your boss? [:p]

chauffeur to boss' mistress no stress, always sit at one corner drink kopi [laugh] [laugh]

the way i see, almost everybody's job will fit into one or another of the category in some way.

unless of course is boss.

this article got write like never write like that.

almost every single job will fit the above criteria somewhat.

i have many roles, probably take up 5 of the mentioned [:(] [:(]

but mcf is my best medication [laugh] [laugh]

the way i see, almost everybody's job will fit into one or another of the category in some way.

boss oso has their stress.. many pple's livelihood under his responsibility..

alamak..............how you know sia......... :o :o

i feel depress.........because all those who came to see me............i refer them all to RADX!!!.......... [laugh]

NB..bro u r a doctor?.... Mai kia wau

maybe I also can write something liao............... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

NB..bro u r a doctor?.... Mai kia wau

he is a real doctor, that Radx always give advice one is a fake one [laugh] [laugh]