RadX Moderator July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 This thread is for discussion and not settle feud leh. In my opinion, a paid up flat hdb or condo and a car would be a good start. With debt obligations settled, one can save to work towards other goals. I think $200k in cash with paid up hdb apt and conti car would be nice. Next is aim to get a pte apt with the aim of earning rental/passive income bah. Not easy for an average incomer though esp in a high inflation environment. no worries bro.....just putting things in perspective. Yes, that should be about right....and the $$$ then goes on to fuel some other investment vehicles for passive income. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 flame war?? not with gearoil lah.... waste time only.. How he flame if no one bothered! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 i cant really intepret your 'smileys' leh, is it a guy giving out angboa??.... can i be number one in the queue to receive them?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 This thread is for discussion and not settle feud leh. In my opinion, a paid up flat hdb or condo and a car would be a good start. With debt obligations settled, one can save to work towards other goals. I think $200k in cash with paid up hdb apt and conti car would be nice. Next is aim to get a pte apt with the aim of earning rental/passive income bah. Not easy for an average incomer though esp in a high inflation environment. if a guy doesnt buy hdb flat / car......... he's totally debt-free... is he the real RICH? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 if a guy doesnt buy hdb flat / car......... he's totally debt-free... is he the real RICH? and stay sembawang beach? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 smlj 1HT? oh half-time..... knn...u think world cup ah got something to do with the soccer match result between sgp and my?? (i heard its a draw also) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freestylers09 5th Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 I want more financial freedom than assets May not be alot but nothing much to worry on loans or free from it as soon as possible After that free mind and freedom of spending I feel better this way This is the contentment i looking for nia,or ambitious lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 and stay sembawang beach? something like that... could be bali beach, or somewhere.... no stress, no heart problem... at 70s he could well be healthier than a walls street guy, who tries to make money just to idle on the beach in retirement.. the beach bum has it since day ONE, on the beach Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 I know a few. Ex bankrupts. LOL............. but wait, you said "Ex-", which means the guys actually paid up and now starting a 'clean sheet'?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 yah... fo average man, this that the best case alrd... most singaporean start work +-26, married after 30 yrs old.. if can pay off car n house loan by 35... think its really damn successful liao... if the flat is a 2-bedroom unit, car a QQ (secondhand), this is achievable for quite many pple Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Bro, dun BS lah. Contented? Happy? That is friggin loser talk. Only people who have no more chances in life and career will say things like that. Ever heard "I'd rather cry in a BMW than laugh on a bicycle"? I think it applies to most people, whether you like it or not. Can eat big fish big meat every meal, who wants to eat plain rice? Contented? Happy? Get real lah. bro, what you have said can be true for quite many pple, but seriously there are some who manage to be contented with not much material stuff.... its possible Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 bro, what you have said can be true for quite many pple, but seriously there are some who manage to be contented with not much material stuff.... its possible As a wise man told me once 'Contentment is indeed a virtue' Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Bro, dun BS lah. Contented? Happy? That is friggin loser talk. Only people who have no more chances in life and career will say things like that. Ever heard "I'd rather cry in a BMW than laugh on a bicycle"? I think it applies to most people, whether you like it or not. Can eat big fish big meat every meal, who wants to eat plain rice? Contented? Happy? Get real lah. I am getting real..... Just because you want to chase for wealth and material doesn't mean everyone wants to do it. Some people are contended with just enough to provide to the family, but having a balance lifestyle with enough time with their kids and family. Or some people are just happy with their Picanto, when they can afford a 7 series. Not everyone derive happiness from materials and goods. They derived happiness from being close to their love ones and knowing their love ones are all safe and sound. Or they are happy because they are in good health and need not work 12 hours a day to win material wealth. And I think these are the ultimate happy people. They enjoy their life with what they have and always remain positive even if they live out of a tent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Just wana find out what do u guys think of the amount of reasonable assets an average 35 year old guy would have in Singapore? Can list in format such as follows: Cash - eg $200k Hdb - eg $600k as $800k mkt value but outstanding loan $200k Car - eg $80k mkt value Pte pty - eg $1.3m and so on No point finding out. Different guys have a different benchmark. Reasonable? You might as well get to the point of asking ppl their annual income. Why beat around the bush and ask for assets? Some ppl can own assets like property or cash due to inheritance. It's not like they had earned it, I think it does not fit your "reasonable asset" but more of an advantage over ppl who do not have such inheritance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Quite generic question. Should make it more specific like "reasonable amount for peasant.." or "reasonable amount for middle class.." and "reasonable amount for elite...."... To some, giodano jeans is reasonable but to me, reasonable pair should be Levis and I'm sure some will think Armani jeans is more reasonable .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hosaybo 6th Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Got to tag to the education level as well (of course there are many with low education level but are big towkays but talking about avg people). For avg graduate, working couple with kids, T2 estimate IMO is reasonable but will be tough to hit for an avg poly grad. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Hope you realise that there is no such thing as "reasonable amount of assets". Everyone will reason it differently. What you are missing is understanding what you want in your own life, and align it with your own personal and family values. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pocus Turbocharged July 29, 2011 Share July 29, 2011 Does the 100k cash includes the married or those with children???? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...