HSBC may cut more than 10,000 jobs

Greatbirdlegend

Singapore came out pretty good in the first round.

Companies were already cutting to the bones.

How would we fare this time?

-----

UPDATE 2-HSBC may cut more than 10,000 jobs - report

Related News

HSBC close to decision on thousands of job cuts -report

Wed, Jul 27 2011

* More than 10,000 jobs at HSBC could go - Sky News

* HSBC spokeswoman in Hong Kong declines to comment

* Credit Suisse says to cut 2,000 jobs (Adds Credit Suisse cuts, background, HSBC shares)

HONG KONG, July 28 (Reuters) - HSBC Plc may cut more than 10,000 jobs as it embarks on a cost-cutting drive, Sky News reported, citing people close to Europe's biggest bank.

The bank's plans have not yet been finalised, Sky News added, citing an insider at the bank . A HSBC spokeswoman in Hong Kong declined to comment.

HSBC's move would be the latest in a wave of cuts announced by the global financial industry, which has been hit by market volatility and lacklustre profits.

Just on Thursday, Swiss bank Credit Suisse announced it would cut about 2,000 jobs.

Standard Chartered , Lloyds , Goldman Sachs and UBS are among banks that have announced job cuts in recent months, hit by rising costs and weak revenue growth.

State Street Corp , one of the world's biggest institutional investors, said earlier this month it would eliminate as many 850 jobs from its technology unit as it tries to curb costs.

HSBC has about 330,000 employees worldwide, and the Sky report comes after it said in May it was looking for sustainable cost savings of $2.5 billion to $3.5 billion in order to reach a cost efficiency ratio target of 48-52 percent by 2013.

It also said it would be conducting a strategic review of its cards business in the United States, and would limit its retail banking operations to markets where it can achieve profitable scale.

It already cut 700 jobs in its UK retail banking arm in June this year out of its staff of 55,000 in the country, one of many banks that have said they will cull jobs to save costs as lenders fight off a limp economic recovery.

HSBC shares in Hong Kong were down 1.1 percent by noon, in line with the broader market's 1 percent decline. (Reporting by Kelvin Soh; Editing by Ken Wills and Muralikumar Anantharaman)

yalor. singapore economy so good. ppl got so much spending power. all these figures presented still cannot beat the reality?

  On 7/28/2011 at 5:41 AM, SimonTan said:

What do these banks know that we don't?

I thought banks are making tons of money lately?

Hmmmm......

not sure true or not, my friend in property line mention that now very hard to get loan.

even got ppl who being rejected because of Credit cards bills. (not sure of the detail though)

On 7/28/2011 at 5:41 AM, SimonTan said:

What do these banks know that we don't?

I thought banks are making tons of money lately?

Hmmmm......

Banks are bleeding la....

Some signs of dip in economy already... Heard some factories are also cutting back on production forcing people to take leave. Brace yourselves for a rough ride after ~ 2 + years of boom!!!

Har ? Last 2+ years got boom mei ?

So-So increment and so-so bonus nia lei.

[:|]

On 7/28/2011 at 6:28 AM, Karu said:

Some signs of dip in economy already... Heard some factories are also cutting back on production forcing people to take leave. Brace yourselves for a rough ride after ~ 2 + years of boom!!!

  On 7/28/2011 at 6:28 AM, Karu said:

to me, if getting out of Economics Crisis so fast mean there is another one around.

Anyway, heard that normally Economic Crisis is double dip format.

On 7/28/2011 at 6:39 AM, Lenfuma03 said:

I scared leh... and somemore graduating soon. how sia?

You scare what, you also no job yet, not vested in the market, worse come to worse take a mba for 2 years and wait for market to recover la

On 7/28/2011 at 6:39 AM, Lenfuma03 said:

I scared leh... and somemore graduating soon. how sia?

take it easy....when i graduate...911 happen...knn sit at home almost one year..hahahaha

On 7/28/2011 at 6:42 AM, Whathefish said:

take it easy....when i graduate...911 happen...knn sit at home almost one year..hahahaha

my first job is during sars and my salary on $1500

Keep more cash... Invest in stocks / property when economy go down & everyone is fearful. Wait a couple of years & you can reap your fruits when economy recovers. Missed the last one, cannot miss it again...

cost cutting reveals one most important info. = Decreasing Revenues

experience will tell us that once it hits our shores, property prices will become more realistic, COE prices will become more realistic.....hang in there.

On 7/28/2011 at 6:55 AM, Karu said:

Keep more cash... Invest in stocks / property when economy go down & everyone is fearful. Wait a couple of years & you can reap your fruits when economy recovers. Missed the last one, cannot miss it again...

me too, but if economy tanks, i scare i lose my job and cannot get housing loan

On 7/28/2011 at 6:58 AM, Throttle2 said:

cost cutting reveals one most important info. = Decreasing Revenues

experience will tell us that once it hits our shores, property prices will become more realistic, COE prices will become more realistic.....hang in there.

when when when my dear throttle