Scion Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 look at what this crybaby is saying... surely one of the worst reasons given for transport fare hikes the transport companies are acting like any other profit-oriented companies where high management receive huge bonuses every year while ordinary workers get pathetic increment or even pay freezes i'm really disgusted by them Quote Jul 28, 2011 Fare hikes 'help bus workers and operators' FORMER labour chief and minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Boon Heng waded into the public transport debate yesterday, explaining why fare increases, while unpopular, are necessary. If bus fares were never allowed to go up, transport operators might not have enough 'to invest in new buses, and quality of service must drop'. Speaking at a delegates' conference of the Singapore Shell Employees' Union, he noted that fare increases also went towards funding pay rises for workers. 'You know raising bus fares is unpopular. But if we cannot raise bus fares, how will that impact your fellow workers? I am sure you will understand that it is not fair if they cannot get wage increases,' he said. 'But their wage increase will be funded by fare increases, which adversely impact the public.' Mr Lim, who left the Cabinet after the May General Election, said that in the absence of productivity improvements, a 3 per cent wage increase for workers meant that fares had to go up by 1.5 per cent because labour costs make up half the total operating costs for buses. Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Strait's Times. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 What rubbish is this.. Fare increase once every few years, i can still accept.. But this is an annual affair, the "application" to PTC seems almost like a formality.. On top of that, there is no increase in service quality.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 2:51 AM, Scion said: look at what this crybaby is saying... surely one of the worst reasons given for transport fare hikes the transport companies are acting like any other profit-oriented companies where high management receive huge bonuses every year while ordinary workers get pathetic increment or even pay freezes i'm really disgusted by them *like* Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 (edited) Now they use people against people.....blardy smart. If consumer never agree to fare increase....then employers(your family or relatives) will not get salary increamemt. Brilliant strategy. Two heavy weight already come out to HINT about the outcome before the review even started....... Done deal. Deep down the I can imagine the wayang review committe members, pretending to review and give their final double confirmed answer. Going tru motion is really what's going to happen? Edited July 28, 2011 by SimonTan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leok777 Clutched July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Anyway most of the workers are FT so we must pay for their salary increase! Once again foreigners gain at local expense! Simply amazing country! What more can be said! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Author Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:04 AM, SimonTan said: Now they use people against people.....blardy smart. If consumer never agree to fare increase....then employers(your family or relatives) will not get salary increamemt. Brilliant strategy. Two heavy wright already come out to HINT about the outcome before the review even started....... Done deal.r maybe the plan is to help FTs how many of the bus captains are Malaysians and PRCs? anyone has the figures? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 now you know why he is without portfolio, cos nothing fits him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 Yesterday evening Waited for 5 mins at LRT station, 8mins at MRT station, another 6 mins at JE Interchange..just waiting and waiting...for trains to come The return trip lagi better...6mins at Raffles place, another 6 mins at JE interchange..the CCK bound train waited for 3 full train loads from either platform on both sides before it finally got its ass moving..wah biang..all that talk about increasing train frequency..where got? Wait until my neck long only..saw some people waiting like me wiping sweat from their necks and foreheads.. while the MRT CEOs sit in their comfy offices collecting record payouts.. what is this coming to man? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:08 AM, Scion said: maybe the plan is to help FTs how many of the bus captains are Malaysians and PRCs? anyone has the figures? not enough to hamper our service during chinese new year. all FT go back to their country during those period leaving behind all the local driver to drive the bus. my aunty and her hubby drive bus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:13 AM, Kyrios said: Yesterday evening Waited for 5 mins at LRT station, 8mins at MRT station, another 6 mins at JE Interchange..just waiting and waiting...for trains to come The return trip lagi better...6mins at Raffles place, another 6 mins at JE interchange..the CCK bound train waited for 3 full train loads from either platform on both sides before it finally got its ass moving..wah biang..all that talk about increasing train frequency..where got? Wait until my neck long only..saw some people waiting like me wiping sweat from their necks and foreheads.. while the MRT CEOs sit in their comfy offices collecting record payouts.. what is this coming to man? I think the problem is not transport in the first place. It's too many people and this country is just toooooooo small to accomodate all these people. Unless we can fly, if not, even top brains also cannot resolve this 'transport' problem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:19 AM, Windwaver said: I think the problem is not transport in the first place. It's too many people and this country is just toooooooo small to accomodate all these people. Unless we can fly, if not, even top brains also cannot resolve this 'transport' problem can.... is weather they want to earn "less profits" or "reasonable profits"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sosaria Twincharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 2:59 AM, Shull said: What rubbish is this.. Fare increase once every few years, i can still accept.. But this is an annual affair, the "application" to PTC seems almost like a formality.. On top of that, there is no increase in service quality.. Their latest argument is easily shot down... people who have family members/relatives working as bus captains will surely know what is the true picture. By the way, who is your avatar? Very "symmetrical"... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tom_kkh 1st Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:13 AM, Kyrios said: Yesterday evening Waited for 5 mins at LRT station, 8mins at MRT station, another 6 mins at JE Interchange..just waiting and waiting...for trains to come The return trip lagi better...6mins at Raffles place, another 6 mins at JE interchange..the CCK bound train waited for 3 full train loads from either platform on both sides before it finally got its ass moving..wah biang..all that talk about increasing train frequency..where got? Wait until my neck long only..saw some people waiting like me wiping sweat from their necks and foreheads.. while the MRT CEOs sit in their comfy offices collecting record payouts.. what is this coming to man? from what i see, waiting period quite ok what... u expect every 1 min? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Apvman 2nd Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:47 AM, Tom_kkh said: from what i see, waiting period quite ok what... u expect every 1 min? Bro not ok leh.. its Evening time.. peak period.. rather than waiting for 3 full load of trains to come first, why cant they wait for 1 o 2 full load train then move off... the way u say 6 mis still ok... next time they tell u 10 mins ok ..wait for4 or 5 full load train, squeeze all of u like sardines first before moving off... stiill ok? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:47 AM, Tom_kkh said: from what i see, waiting period quite ok what... u expect every 1 min? Where got ok, if during peak hours you need to wait 5 mins or more, this is consider not ok. At least every 2 mins. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahwhye 5th Gear July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 (edited) please lah.....this type of essential services won't anyhow let people take leaves one, you think can suka suka many go off at the same period one meh??? furthermore those prc contract workers where got yearly balik kampung one.... On 7/28/2011 at 3:14 AM, Joseph22 said: not enough to hamper our service during chinese new year. all FT go back to their country during those period leaving behind all the local driver to drive the bus. my aunty and her hubby drive bus. Edited July 28, 2011 by Ahwhye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shull Turbocharged July 28, 2011 Share July 28, 2011 On 7/28/2011 at 3:19 AM, Windwaver said: I think the problem is not transport in the first place. It's too many people and this country is just toooooooo small to accomodate all these people. Unless we can fly, if not, even top brains also cannot resolve this 'transport' problem HK and Tokyo.. definitely more congested than Singapore.. But their public transport run like clockwork, have higher frequency when compared to us, timing also very zhun.. How about that? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...