13177 Hypersonic July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Really quite expensive to park in CBD area or basically town area! Half hour rate could be at least $3 or more! But i thought HK parking rate also quite expensive?! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear July 27, 2011 Author Share July 27, 2011 Same same... everytime i need to step into CBD, i feel so glad i am working in the Changi area... no ERP, no high parking charges, and no JAM!!! Ya lo see "people mountain people sea" very scary... Only incentive maybe is to drool over pretty babes [;)] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 cheapest is hong lim if i'm not wrong. you can buy monthly season parking and standard HDB rate. But if you're working somewhere near central of CBD, UOB Centre, Pacific Plaza could be a hassle as the travel distance between hong lim and the specified locations mentioned is quite a distance. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Calvin79 2nd Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 got to agree bro, the only incentive is the ladies in city... been in changi for last 4 years... honestly not much scenary... maybe a new gal joins, then u think wow not bad... after 6 months, she realises she is way overdressed with the others ard her... and she dresses like them... hhahaha... but we can look for other perks... go out looking at night lor... hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 last time, i just tabao from golden shoe and eat in office Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear July 27, 2011 Author Share July 27, 2011 last time, i just tabao from golden shoe and eat in office You are not alone. Both my sis in law oso does that. They say sometimes tabao oso have to queue... [bigcry] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dafansu Turbocharged July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 what about parking rate in Hong Kong? during my last year trip to HK the parking rate is cheaper for season compared to Singapore but hourly is much more expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Versatile 1st Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 can you imagine driving from north to CBD? CTE 2 ERP, Havelock 1 ERP... plus parking in CBD at least 40dollar per day. Sum up whopping $50+ per day for pure PARKING!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear July 27, 2011 Author Share July 27, 2011 (edited) can you imagine driving from north to CBD? CTE 2 ERP, Havelock 1 ERP... plus parking in CBD at least 40dollar per day. Sum up whopping $50+ per day for pure PARKING!! Uniquely Singapore... Last time they still trying to sell this ERP idea to the angmos and other Asian neighbors but no news since then. Edited July 27, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gerd Clutched July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 (edited) Oslo and copenhagen's pay is definitely much higher than what we are been offered here. their cost is high and pay is high. our cost is high, pay is low... some waiters in europe earns more than some "managers" here... even dollar to dollar without conversion factored in. read yesterday that the chambermaid involved with the IMF ex president, she is earning US$300 per day...how many managers here earns Sin$300 per day..... Still think our parking is not that expensive relative to land prices. Oslo and copenhagen has got massive income taxes and vat. Everyone likes to assume well they get paid more, denmark is the most taxed country in the world. You want to pay 25% GST?, 55% income tax to support a socialist system? Average salary before tax is around 10-12k sgd. You can figure out what is left and pay 25% on everything you buy. There are no hawker centers, macdonalds meal is $15 and taxi starting fare is $10. Before you say 'their cars are cheap', yes they are less expensive than here but not by much. 200% tax( like our ARF except no rebate when you deregister) on cars and petrol is $3/ liter. Edited July 27, 2011 by Gerd Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Still think our parking is not that expensive relative to land prices. Oslo and copenhagen has got massive income taxes and vat. Everyone likes to assume well they get paid more, denmark is the most taxed country in the world. You want to pay 25% GST?, 55% income tax to support a socialist system? Average salary before tax is around 10-12k sgd. You can figure out what is left and pay 25% on everything you buy. There are no hawker centers, macdonalds meal is $15 and taxi starting fare is $10. Before you say 'their cars are cheap', yes they are less expensive than here but not by much. 200% tax( like our ARF except no rebate when you deregister) on cars and petrol is $3/ liter. Their country will take care of the old & sick and most will be able to retire at +60 whereas for us, our seniors having paper assets and able to cash out to enjoy the quality of life. Compare our DEBT to GDP with theirs and you will see how expensive is the standard of living in Singapore. They also can make choices to either stay in countryside where the standard of living is lower or crowd in the city. For us, every inch is a City and we have no choice to determine our choice of live. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Golden Shoe carpark cost $3.5 per half an hr. Freaking crazy price. thats the cheapest in CBD if im not wrong...(other than the URA open carpark... ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Really quite expensive to park in CBD area or basically town area! Half hour rate could be at least $3 or more! But i thought HK parking rate also quite expensive?! The worst is not pro-rated , if it is 31mins they charge $6 /= . Sometime a few car infront taking own sweet time to exit , siao liao .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Expertz 1st Gear July 27, 2011 Share July 27, 2011 Honestly... compared to the standard of living to costs of parking and how much we earn, we could be ranked up there along with Oslo and Copenhagen, normally logically would be, you earn more you pay more... haha why is it people love to compare stuff with the worst case scenario and declare, actually we are doing ok can't you see things in a different light? can things be better than what they are currently? if you compared our public transport against india where passengers sit ontop of busses, ours are not as crowded if you compared the price of public transport against UK, ours are cheap if you compared taxi prices against UK, ours are dirt cheap so does this mean we have a world class public transport? and there is no need to improve or we should increase public transport fares? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...