Singapore sour over assam laksa

Jman888

I don't really the taste but had once that was cooked by a friend which was quite good. Still don't like it!

Chicken rice and chilli crab all lose to less popular dish, even french toast from HK??

Singapore sour over assam laksa

The Star/Asia News Network

Tuesday, Jul 26, 2011

KUALA LUMPUR: Penang assam laksa's rise to the CNN top 10 ranking of most delicious food in the world has ranked foodies in the neighbouring country down south.

The Straits Times reported that food consultant Violet Oon, 62, expressed surprise that its chilli crab was only ranked 35th instead.

"One reason could be that we don't have many Singapore restaurants abroad, so not many people have tasted it," said the Singaporean.

A CNN International food survey recently said the assam laksa was the seventh out of the its 50 most delicious food in the world.

At number 35 was Singapore's famed chilli crab, while its chicken rice was at 45th spot.

Thailand's massaman curry topped the list and was described as "king of all foods."

Another commenter on the English daily website, known as Stomper crabby, questioned the ranking.

"My foodie friends disagree with the list, and how can our famous chilli crab only come in at No. 35?" he questioned.

A person who tweeted by the name of Mr Brown has also criticised CNN for badly reviewing Singapore's chilli crab.

"Any site that does a World's 50 most delicious foods & puts Singapore Chili Crab at 35th has no right to review food," he posted in his twitter account.

However, local chefs tipped their hat proudly to the heritage dish.

Chef Florence Tan who praised the assam laksa's quality and texture, said it was "very good for those who want to lose weight" due to its rich use of fish stock, fish meat and asam gelugor (dried tamarind skin).

However, she said she had never tasted any chicken rice that "blew her hat off" in Singapore.

Celebrity Chef Ismail Ahmad said he was "very, very proud" Malaysian food was recognised and commended Thailand on taking first place.

"However, I would say chili crabs and chicken rice are 100% Malaysian," he said, explaining that it was brought over when Malaysia and Singapore split in 1963.

Penang food columnist Helen Ong said its famous char kuey teow was "just as good and unique".

Edited by Jman888

There were probably Msians in the panel from CNN choosing the food.

There are alot of Msian Chinese out there, much more than SGeans.

We all very rooted to SG one. Msian Chinese bcz even top student also cannot go local U so study overseas and don't go back.

We should look at it as 50 best food without any ranking lah.

But I like Assam Laksa from Penang !

We all very rooted to SG one. Msian Chinese bcz even top student also cannot go local U so study overseas and don't go back.

I would go for Penang char kuey teow :D

no dispute of MY food usually much better then SG, but HK winning food were egg tart! not dim sum or wanton mee?

I would go for Penang char kuey teow :D

no dispute of MY food usually much better then SG, but HK winning food were egg tart! not dim sum or wanton mee?

Yes I think Msia food (hawker ones) are better tasting than SG. Our food too clean ...

HK Egg Tart - maybe they say Macau ones...

Dimsum or wanton mee cannot be counted as HK food...

Penang assam laksa's rise to the CNN top 10 ranking of most delicious food in the world has ranked foodies in the neighbouring country down south.

kns english spotted. what the mountain!

But frankly speaking the general food quality in SG have drop but price have not , mostly cook by some FTs from PRC now a day .

Go Malaysia to explore on good food to eat and you will agree . Look at the number of good quality cook books written by many malaysian chiefs , and you will know why .

Edited by Jasonjst

even stinky tofu rank above chicken rice??

who were in the penal of judges!!

actually i felt that our hawker food can be too healthy liao, some food just needs the animal lemak to bring out the flavor... some establishment still believes in cooking it the old way but they are becoming lesser and lesser.

i'm surprised BKT is not in the list at all

but if it's listed, then probably Malaysia has something to say as they claim Ba Shen BKT is the original one

i'm surprised BKT is not in the list at all

but if it's listed, then probably Malaysia has something to say as they claim Ba Shen BKT is the original one

try ketchup, popcorn and donut [laugh] [laugh] :wacko: :wacko:

Mal and Sp are fighting cats and dogs, in football, politics, water issues and foods, all the way back since forties onwards.

Why work up over who is the best food cooked by so & so . . . it will never end. SO long as my stomach can take the food and my saliva drool after half an hour later, I know which food is shiok, marvellously done or damn good.

We knew Malaysian cooks are one of the best trained/produced in Asia and can whip up a decent meal anytime. U can hardly see them in Restaurant, mostly in some zhi-cha coffee-shop/hawker ctre and fancy rest, I truly admired the malaysian cooks for their simply fare whenever I touch malaysian town.

The easy style of steamed frog-with essence of chicken, White pepper carb, Steamed fish in black bean sauce, Black hokkien mee & The fav herbal BKT... say it all.

There is no such thing as who served the best dish, every dish is unique and specially done by the chef. Today one may cook the freshest ingredients, tomorrow someone beat U to it. We are juz foodie with the widest varieties.

In short, it does not matter who is better cook, many travelled abroad and had learnt from one another and exchanged food secret across the continent. Now they are known as Chef or celebrity chef who works for a living.

right, malaysians top talents are moving away

sorry to say traditional malaysian foods are more original

especially the Ipoh hor-fun, bean sprout chicken, & dim-sum in Ipoh r jz wonderful [sunny]