2011 Hyundai Elantra

Abachee

Think I m happy with the insulation so far. Having travel at 110km/h the noise level still very soft, but hor mine is on yokohama db tyre n no visor.maybe these are the items making the ride good.

Strange, I have been driving to work on ECP in the nite roughly 90-110km/hr on lane 1 and didn't feel much noise wind on my ride. Occasionally, I will drive my colleague back as well in the morning & I asked him is the wind noise very obvious when I drive to that speed and he too said the wind sound is very faint not tat noisy and it's acceptable to him. He also saying what do you expect, the car is not Conti make and you dun expect zero noise bah. Well, it's up to individual liking and feel. Well, to me I feel is ok maybe partly I normally On my music quite high volume bah. Haha...

In fact personally I think the elantra noise insulation is average. However, the noise by the engine is soft. Probably tats the improvement made. Well I was at Car Studio washing my car with my engine on without realising it. I was sitting away at the table while waiting. After awhile, I realise that my mirror is not fold. Thus I suspect my engine is still running. So I ask those guys whom are washing if my engine is on and they told me that it dun seem to be on. I find it weird so I walk near to my car to check if I've purposely unfold the mirror for washing purposes. However, I found that my engine is still running at idling speed. That's the quietness of the engine.

As for travelling above 90km/h to 100km/h or when you smash ur accelerator to 7rpm, I definitely still hear noise. But the difference is that it was a smooth noise rather than those very loud rough noise. I seriously doesn't know if the insulation improves as compared. But definitely its more comfortable for my ear to drive a Elantra as compared to my previous ride Nissan Latio. Comparing to my friend's avante, somehow I feel more comfortable too. Probably it depends on individual. So my suggestion is to go test drive the Elantra to better understand it.

Hmm, it's strange really. The last time I thought Avante would insulate external noise better due to the double sealing design, one full coverage on the body and the other on the door but it turns out that, it's not true. Wind gushing noise is pretty evident above 100km/h, something which I don't notice on my old Wira. Sonata even better, up to 130km/h still quiet. I don't understand really as Sonata also uses double sealing design but why such difference? The only difference I found out from Sonata and my old ride was the steel on the body is much tougher than Avante, perhaps this contribute to better noise reduction?

Seems like Elantra isn't any improvement over Avante judging by the feedback here in spite of the fact that it is much more aerodynamics, which should allow the wind to flow better. Hence reduction in wind noise.

In fact for elantra, I choose it because the exterior is more streamline and more sporty. The transmission is also a newer technology. Most importantly, the interior is spacious as compared to similar makes over other brands. The only drawbacks would be the radio console which look abit outdated and also location of the middle aircon blower being slightly low.

But I really feel Elantra is one of the better car around lately because the design n looks are dere and also it is practical. I mean I am not rich enough to drive a sports car and spurge my $ on the petrol. But Elantra gives me the luxury to feel like I'm driving one and enjoying the savings on petrol. At times, I do let my rpm fly to 5-6 to chiong. Kinda smooth n shiok. =D But of course petrol consumption oso high! So I do it when i emoing. haha

Most imptly, this car also allows me to fetch my family quite comfortable due to the spacious cabin. Can really fit 4 ppl at the back quite comfortably. Comparing to the new corolla altis, this is much betta. It has got greater leg rooms. =D

The legroom is really awesome, when i sat my father's BMW 320i behind passenger seat, i went "WAH, WHY SO SQUEEZY! CAN MOVE YOUR FRONT SEAT OR NOT!" Then i realized Elantra is very spacious! Suitable for people like me have long leg and tall.

I drove an Avante before this and I would say the insulation of Avante is good, kinda better marginally than Elantra. Elantra trumps on the looks and leg room, but head room sucks.

I love the car, just installed my body kit :) But still, the stereo console suck big time, it is so dated looking that I need to switch the display off. The worse thing is, I would have to change the entire panel around the stereo system, which is few and far in between now.

In fact for elantra, I choose it because the exterior is more streamline and more sporty. The transmission is also a newer technology. Most importantly, the interior is spacious as compared to similar makes over other brands. The only drawbacks would be the radio console which look abit outdated and also location of the middle aircon blower being slightly low.

But I really feel Elantra is one of the better car around lately because the design n looks are dere and also it is practical. I mean I am not rich enough to drive a sports car and spurge my $ on the petrol. But Elantra gives me the luxury to feel like I'm driving one and enjoying the savings on petrol. At times, I do let my rpm fly to 5-6 to chiong. Kinda smooth n shiok. =D But of course petrol consumption oso high! So I do it when i emoing. haha

Most imptly, this car also allows me to fetch my family quite comfortable due to the spacious cabin. Can really fit 4 ppl at the back quite comfortably. Comparing to the new corolla altis, this is much betta. It has got greater leg rooms. =D

Well said, and this is how I feel as well. When I decided on owning a Elantra, I have oredi accepted all the facts you have mention and I cant find any car of his category will matched what Elantra have to offer. Dun expect too much as in the first place as this is not a Conti make and for a Korean make car, it oredi surplus my expectation for a 1.6L family car and the more I ride, I feel I'm getting more buck for this ride.

Haha Thanks =D Given the COE now and the price we paid for Elantra, its really worth it la. Unless anyone gt strong reasons against it if nt this is really the optimum choice among its competitors.

Probably those who are getting cars now gt a wider range of choices with alot more 2011 makes coming out. I think Kia gt 2011 version of their various series. Heard Honda also gonna have newer versions of the Civic. Can have more choices and compare b4 deciding.

Given the time we buy, Elantra definitely is a good choice ;) Cheers to all fellow Elantra owner =D

Anyone changed their door handle to the chrome? Mind taking a pic n show me? Haha. I wanna change but seems like it'll be too thick given the design of our handle.

Btw for those whom changed their paddle, I wanna know if those metal pedal is a clip on or u nid to drill holes on ur current paddle. Please advise =D

Anyone changed their door handle to the chrome? Mind taking a pic n show me? Haha. I wanna change but seems like it'll be too thick given the design of our handle.

Btw for those whom changed their paddle, I wanna know if those metal pedal is a clip on or u nid to drill holes on ur current paddle. Please advise =D

The black elantra I saw this afternoon had chrome handles. Looks quite nice.

I saw those chrome door handles at Mancando. According to the technician, after changing the chrome handles, the keyless entry button will be gone as the chrome ones does not have this function. After hearing this, decided not to change but will consider to put the window molding and c-pillar.

There are 2 types of chrome handle. 1 type is moulding, just stick on your exsiting handle. Another type is change the whole door knob with exsiting ones.

As for paddle, u need to drill to secure.

Haha Thanks =D Given the COE now and the price we paid for Elantra, its really worth it la. Unless anyone gt strong reasons against it if nt this is really the optimum choice among its competitors.

Probably those who are getting cars now gt a wider range of choices with alot more 2011 makes coming out. I think Kia gt 2011 version of their various series. Heard Honda also gonna have newer versions of the Civic. Can have more choices and compare b4 deciding.

Given the time we buy, Elantra definitely is a good choice ;) Cheers to all fellow Elantra owner =D

the new impreza/civic looks doesn't come anywhere close to the elantra :wub:

not to mention current altis FL.. look even uglier than pre-FL

My mother told me when she driving my car recently notice that the car when stationary to moving off gear 1 to 2 very slow.. like very draggy too.. does anyone experience this too?

I tried turning off Eco mode, still the same? maybe she is too used to her previous car.. lol

My mother told me when she driving my car recently notice that the car when stationary to moving off gear 1 to 2 very slow.. like very draggy too.. does anyone experience this too?

I tried turning off Eco mode, still the same? maybe she is too used to her previous car.. lol

Yes, the pickup is very slow even in 3rd gear, abit paiseh everytime at the traffic light when other cars from other lanes already way ahead, but mine still struggling to pick up speed, especially in lane 1.....

Anyone got any suggestions to make the pickup smoother and faster?

Yes, the pickup is very slow even in 3rd gear, abit paiseh everytime at the traffic light when other cars from other lanes already way ahead, but mine still struggling to pick up speed, especially in lane 1.....

Anyone got any suggestions to make the pickup smoother and faster?

No, I dun encounter such slow pickup. Everytime whenever I am in the first in queue of the traffic, I am always the first off the block when the traffic light turn green.

Maybe you shld try stepping the accelerator to slightly above 2.5rpm and not steppng all the way. Once the pickup kick in and your speedometer shoot to 25/30km/hr, you shld release the accelerator abit and then step again and you will feel the next kick in will send the speedometer start increasing upwards. At this point of time, you will be gradually increase your foot pressure and the speedometer will hit to 60-80 level. I have ever tried that to Sonata taxi and as well to Subaru car countless time and I was first to shoot off the block for maybe good for 50-60 metres, but then those car when their turbo engine kicks in, I was left smelling their smoke.Haha....

Maybe this is what I call KungHu or experience. Once you tried and experience the applying different force of foot pressure on the accelerator, you would know & understand your ride better. Thats how I feel it...

Edited by Abachee

No, I dun encounter such slow pickup. Everytime whenever I am in the first in queue of the traffic, I am always the first off the block when the traffic light turn green.

Maybe you shld try stepping the accelerator to slightly above 2.5rpm and not steppng all the way. Once the pickup kick in and your speedometer shoot to 25/30km/hr, you shld release the accelerator abit and then step again and you will feel the next kick in will send the speedometer start increasing upwards. At this point of time, you will be gradually increase your foot pressure and the speedometer will hit to 60-80 level. I have ever tried that to Sonata taxi and as well to Subaru car countless time and I was first to shoot off the block for maybe good for 50-60 metres, but then those car when their turbo engine kicks in, I was left smelling their smoke..... Haha....

Power Lah... Bro. [thumbsup]

I ever tried this morning to a long hair ah liang lady driving a Subaru dunno what model beside me on my left along Tampines Ave 10 on one of the traffic stop there on the way from Ikea Tampines there. She left her right window down and was flipping her hair and look at me. I merely glance at her and turn my head back to the road. And then she windup her window up and waiting for the green light to flash. Once the light turns green, I left her dead on the track and by the time I turn left to her lane with my speed was at 80km/hr. I look back and she was like 100 metres away liao directly behind me. Too bad she cannot overtake me as both lane on the right & left oredi taken up liao. And by the time she was coming near behind me, I oredi start turning to my left to Ave 5 liao. Haha...

Edited by Abachee