Any ex-teachers here?

Biglittlebean

I think you are a bit outdated liao...

she is not damn famous but the rate is about $50-$70 per 1.5 hour session (once a week) and she teach at her house with a group of 4 per nite, more on week end, just do the maths.

yeah, he very outdated.

typically, ppl who go around is going to earn less than those that held the session at their own home in a small class formate.

can easily earn up to 8~9K a month if good. all from home.

quit in 2004 and nvr looked back, went overseas to work since 2006, now though not earning as much as my last drawn teaching pay 7 yrs ago, but with the experience gained overseas and my current lifestyle now, I would still have quit moe if I had to do it again.

tuition teacher if lobang good, got figures one..my ex army officer 2nd upper Honours go be tuition teacher,forgo his working pay...not bad sia..that time he is bonding pay somemore..

btw teachers at my side good life sia..everyday 230-3pm off, school holidays see no people...

Seriously thinking of handing in my resignation letter to my school at the end of this year. Just wondering.. any ex-teachers here now working in the private sector? If yes, which industry are you working in now? Any difficulty in the transition? Did you take a pay cut when you resigned? Just wondering what are the options available.

Don't think will get pay cut . Teachers pay so pathetic already

tuition teacher if lobang good, got figures one..my ex army officer 2nd upper Honours go be tuition teacher,forgo his working pay...not bad sia..that time he is bonding pay somemore..

btw teachers at my side good life sia..everyday 230-3pm off, school holidays see no people...

so good life...which school? can tell me...ask my wife to apply..

everyday...i send her to school b4 7am...almost everyday...7pm go fetch her...normally..she meeting or CCA or extra lesson till 4-5pm or later...then start marking or do admin work....go home..still must mark some more or prepare tml lesson....

no life man...

school holidays still have to go back...about half of the days

see no people or not in school does not mean not working mah [:p]

your wife teach simi i can help ask...

v nb one is those school off days like youth days,10/08 we admin need work, they off also...

adapt same system also,5 years got lump $ not bad..

your wife teach simi i can help ask...

v nb one is those school off days like youth days,10/08 we admin need work, they off also...

adapt same system also,5 years got lump $ not bad..

primary school teacher...so teach every F thing except mother tougue...

have cca lah, parents meeting, meeting, project, admin, coaching..... OMG

Left the teaching profession 10 years ago after teaching for 4 years. No regrets although I took a huge pay cut as I joined an EDB training program.

After the EDB program, I was hired by a MNC which gave me alot of overseas exposure in the chemical industry. Pay was back to teaching pay after about 3 years. Now I am in the Oil and Gas industry. I don't miss the marking, CCA meetings, parents-teachers meetings...all those extra hours.

I think many new teachers feel stressed particularly because it's their first job fresh out of school. Get the most complaints and high resignation rate among this group.

Teachers who are mid-career and recruited from private sector seem more satisfied with their job. This tells us something.

Compared to the stresses and overtime work in private sector, teaching is relatively easy..... IF you are not too attached and too affected by the job. Some young teachers I know get stressed because of one or two problem students, noisy class, etc. There are ways to deal with it through official channels. Do it.

And don't need to feel like you need to change the behaviour of every single student in the class. You can't. Just breeze through what you can't change, but take time to help those that do want to change for the better.

As for marking and other administrative duties... people who come from private sector know well how to deal with it. What is important, and what is not? Identify these. Spend more time on the important things. Hint: what does the boss consider important?? Pay very special attention to these things!

I think many new teachers feel stressed particularly because it's their first job fresh out of school. Get the most complaints and high resignation rate among this group.

Teachers who are mid-career and recruited from private sector seem more satisfied with their job. This tells us something.

Compared to the stresses and overtime work in private sector, teaching is relatively easy..... IF you are not too attached and too affected by the job. Some young teachers I know get stressed because of one or two problem students, noisy class, etc. There are ways to deal with it through official channels. Do it.

And don't need to feel like you need to change the behaviour of every single student in the class. You can't. Just breeze through what you can't change, but take time to help those that do want to change for the better.

As for marking and other administrative duties... people who come from private sector know well how to deal with it. What is important, and what is not? Identify these. Spend more time on the important things. Hint: what does the boss consider important?? Pay very special attention to these things!

I agree with you about the mid-career change people. They tend to be abit more laid back and not as "on". Some of them have told me that their reason for joining teaching is really because of the pay(some of them were retrenched during the crisis and had no other place that offer them a similar salary except MOE). There are also some who is not interested in the rat race.... and they are the ones who will say no to help out at certain school events etc(unless it's a "highly encouraged" attendance event). But of course, naturally, they are usually not that close to their students as well.

I never feel like I need to change every student.... but sometimes, it's really hard to say no and be there for students when:

1. A parent called me at 8pm on a weekday and told me that her daughter ran away from home. I joined in the search since I stay around the area until 9pm.

2. Divorced parent with no income or in jail.... had to keep calling and calling to make sure child comes to school. Call MCYS, or whatever organizations to work with them to counsel pupils and parents. Many times, MCYS will just bounce things back to us since their hands are full as well.

3. Suicidal cases.... comes to school with penknife marks on their hands.

4. And countless other stuff that I can't finish writing..

I have never regretted joining teaching. But I guess I am also human...and do feel tired emotionally and mentally too. The amount of admin workload and planning and projects seem to be never ending. Not forgetting the countless hours of lesson planning, marking, and counselling of students. I am so busy that I no longer have time to hang out with friends. I hope that the day will never come when I stay on as a teacher just for the money. After these years... I have to think for myself and my family.

either he's a damm famous one, or he tuapowsian. The average tutor will be able to teach 20 individual sessions on any week. 20 x 2 hours x 4 weeks x $40/h = $6.4K......that's if and only if every single one pays $40/h (slightly on the high side of market rate). Haven't include costs like petrol, car wear n tear n parking coupons.

The money is not fantastic. The relaxing lifestyle is ;)

40 per hour?! Please.. my friend charging 80 an hour for physics.

Another charging 100 an hr for A level Maths. You can really hit 10k quite easily with a handful of students.

all you need is 100 hours a mth, if you charge 100 an hr. So taht is about 25 hrs a week. Weekday, 4 hrs each day is possible from late aftn to one night session, finishing at 10, then weekend, work a bit harder. You get most of your weekday hours free and just need to sacrifice a little of your weekends. Even if you are at 80 an hr, you can make 7-9k.

No cpf? Go buy your own insurance and cover yourself. CPF money may never be yours anyway. Most teachers i know slog like a dog and make 5-6k a mth only. And most of it is admin and non teaching work.

tuition teacher can earn alot if u know how to do it *hearsay*

yes, some earning big bucks.

i got a friend doing private tuition and she told me so.

My bro In law join teaching after 5 yrs as engineer. See him very relax leh. After skool go play badminton w the pe teachers or skool kids. Pay also buuay pai, 5/6k every month. He say less stress n more eng than his last job.

My wife is.

Going to resign soon.

Crazy workload, plus endless excursions during weekends.

What is the MOE ministar doing ? Teachers are burning out.

Should hire more allied educators to take over all non-teaching duties ...

Help job market and relieve teachers' load.

speaking of crazy workload, do you think private sector is having more relax working life?

don't forget, teachers have more "rest" days as compared to workers in private sector.

some good examples are, they don't have Teacher day, Children day and etc. =p

Seriously thinking of handing in my resignation letter to my school at the end of this year. Just wondering.. any ex-teachers here now working in the private sector? If yes, which industry are you working in now? Any difficulty in the transition? Did you take a pay cut when you resigned? Just wondering what are the options available.

TS, first of all, is teaching that tough or you just want to experience more/explore more in life?

like the old timers always say, "got hands, got legs, don't worry no food".

if your thoughts are more on experiencing and exploring the world, by all means, go ahead and see/know more.

if your thoughts are because teaching is tough, i think you better stay put. ^_^