Any ex-teachers here?

Biglittlebean

Seriously thinking of handing in my resignation letter to my school at the end of this year. Just wondering.. any ex-teachers here now working in the private sector? If yes, which industry are you working in now? Any difficulty in the transition? Did you take a pay cut when you resigned? Just wondering what are the options available.

Private tutor.

Kent ridge or others.

Just need to advertied ex- teacher with up to date exam scheme and exam papers.

Sure many will hire you when they see a ex teacher.

My HDB every night, this smart tuition teacher will teach two-three student at the pavilion area.

Easy money.

Prefer to find another industry to work long term la... A lot of my ex-colleagues now working as tutors too. Pay not bad.... and life not as hectic as in the past.

my wife did consider quit her job n become tuition teacher ...

but..no CPF, no leave, no MC, if sick means no $$, not secure...

in the end...she decided not to...or maybe later when she is older

My wife is.

Going to resign soon.

Crazy workload, plus endless excursions during weekends.

What is the MOE ministar doing ? Teachers are burning out.

Should hire more allied educators to take over all non-teaching duties ...

Help job market and relieve teachers' load.

Prefer to find another industry to work long term la... A lot of my ex-colleagues now working as tutors too. Pay not bad.... and life not as hectic as in the past.

life alot less hectic yes, but the average tutor (not the famous very few) only makes around $50K per year.....no bonus, sick leave, CPF, blah blah.....but got lots of time n energy to go fishing hehe.

My wife is.

Going to resign soon.

tats where the PRC PE teacher come about..

tuition teacher can earn alot if u know how to do it *hearsay*

definitely a lot..... [thumbsup][thumbsup]

My wife is.

Going to resign soon.

No takers in teaching.That's why I think there are some FTs.The responsibilities are too heavy for teachers I find.

I think some are already outsource exp; some school sports are coach by some professionals.

The non core teaching duties have been as long as early 90s.....Official stand is teachers need to be involved the holistic education of kids n not juz focus on e academic part...as a matter of fact, most teachers would tell u that if they did more wayang projects, like taking students for overseas exposure trip or projects that raise the profile of the school (of coz in +ve light), they wld get a better grade n thus bonus 4 e next year, as long as they don't totally neglect the students so much so that students n parents make a big hu ha.

Thus if u were in their shoes, wldu focus n put more effort in preparing ur lessons so that ur lessons ARE super INTERESTING (gain is students' admiration n looking 4ward to ur lesson) or more effort in wayang (better grades, bonus n promotion prospects)? For most, the choice is clear.

So who take over the real teaching than? Who else but parents n external tuition teachers ( who coincidentally are current teachers (moonlighting) or ex-teachers). This is the truth of the Spore Pri-Jc education.

Sorry 4 not answering TS qtn...but I do know of some friends who quit to join private sector. Usually pay cut, coz teachers are really quite well paid, but emotional workload not as bad. n of coz they missed the super long holidays of school (yes they do, even tho some of their holidays are used by the sch, coz the private sectors are not that generous w their leave n leave approval).

Edited by Sabretan

IMHO, the problem with the teaching service is the mismatch between the people they try to attract to teach, and the management.

You see the teaching adverts, talk endlessly about how teachers mould students' character etc etc. But the people who make it into MOE management are the scholars, mid-career switch corporate types and other ambitious SINGLE young teachers bent on climbing the ladder. In other words, corporate sharks in teacher's clothings with short attention span. The last thing on their minds are unmeasurable intangibles like student well being. They want instant results.

It's like signing up to be a Buddhist monk but end up being deployed as soldiers in a warzone. Of course the teachers will burn out. Heavy workload is just a symptom, not the underlying cause.

Sorry, off point also.

Edited by Jim

I gave 5 good years of my youth to the children that I was teaching.Sometimes got nightmares too when I think of the compo marking and file-checking.

Now working at a Edu Stat Board. Still tough but confirm no complaints compared to s--t I got in the past.

Private sector just cannot give the stability that I was looking for.

life alot less hectic yes, but the average tutor (not the famous very few) only makes around $50K per year.....no bonus, sick leave, CPF, blah blah.....but got lots of time n energy to go fishing hehe.

my son's tuitor is making that much on part time (off day)..

either he's a damm famous one, or he tuapowsian. The average tutor will be able to teach 20 individual sessions on any week. 20 x 2 hours x 4 weeks x $40/h = $6.4K......that's if and only if every single one pays $40/h (slightly on the high side of market rate). Haven't include costs like petrol, car wear n tear n parking coupons.

The money is not fantastic. The relaxing lifestyle is ;)

either he's a damm famous one, or he tuapowsian. The average tutor will be able to teach 20 individual sessions on any week. 20 x 2 hours x 4 weeks x $40/h = $6.4K......that's if and only if every single one pays $40/h (slightly on the high side of market rate). Haven't include costs like petrol, car wear n tear n parking coupons.

The money is not fantastic. The relaxing lifestyle is ;)

I think you are a bit outdated liao...

she is not damn famous but the rate is about $50-$70 per 1.5 hour session (once a week) and she teach at her house with a group of 4 per nite, more on week end, just do the maths.

My wife is.

Going to resign soon.

I am sorry to hear about your wife quitting soon... so what will she be working as after that? So far most replies state that most ex-teachers are now tutors. I am more interested in finding a job in another industry where there is a career path.

It may not be that feasible in the future to be a full time tutor as all schools are moving towards single sessions. Not that the pupils will be free in the afternoon, but there will be enrichment lessons, remedials, supplementary lessons, CCAs... by the time they reach home, it will be about 6pm.