Scion Turbocharged July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 yes... Malaysia can claim to be 100% original but they can't deny the fact that they marginalise their Chinese and Indians ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiario 5th Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 yes... Malaysia can claim to be 100% original but they can't deny the fact that they marginalise their Chinese and Indians even the malaysia national team also dun have a single chinese, just like singapore, chinese just like betting only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gizmore Supercharged July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 To malaysian football fans - Your youngsters cannot contain Singapore's Ah Pek (Duric) ! nuff said !!! woahahhahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondacub777 6th Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 even the malaysia national team also dun have a single chinese, just like singapore, chinese just like betting only. At least the chinese are champions in betting.U can see them honing their skills in Genting Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 If you see Qiu Li kissing his t-shirt Singapore badge...I think you won't feel he is not Singaporean enough...in Singapore...who is "original" ....everyone is an import...even if you born here....our forefathers are from china, Malaysia and etc...even malaysian....I bet some of them have relative who is a Singaporean too...just like my wife...her father was a Malaysian who become a Singaporean.....so what is "original"?....the origin of the sperm or the place of birth? subjective... Haha correct. In a way its correct cos this is what Singapore is all about, foreigners. Singapore since the 1920s are 80% immigrants, whether from china or indian or indonesia. So I dont really understand what the so-called FT issue is all about. Singapore is a much much more globalised city than Malaysia who is about 30 years behind us. They focus only on their own bumi people while Spore went on to recruit foreign talents in our homeland. This is why u can see foreign-faces in our sport teams. Cmon isnt it a well known fact currently, 40% of the population are foreigners in Singapore while only about 5% of the population are foreigners in Malaysia? ( excluding foreign workers ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PaiKia-Lee 1st Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 even the malaysia national team also dun have a single chinese, just like singapore, chinese just like betting only. that is why the malaysian team is almost 100% bumis. No chinese at all. the same goes to their government policy. In everywhere, its bumis only. Singapore opens up to foreigners and they are not happy. Problem is, they can also bring in their experienced and competent chinese players or foreign-borned citizens to beat Singapore but they choose not to. When French soccer team won the world cup with nearly 100% foreign-borns, I dint hear the Malaysian complaining. When spore, another globalised city beat them, they start to whine. but anyway, over the past 30 years, singapore soccer teams used to beat the malaysian teams without so-called foreign-born players. So this means that we dont really depend on foreign-born to win matches against malaysia. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 On the contrary, I think more local youngsters will be de-motivated. A couple of my friends were in the Youth National squads for Badminton and Table Tennis. They knew they were good and were willing to work hard to improve. But they knew they don't have a future in the National squads, because the govt will just import from other countries. The furthest they can go is to be their sparring partners. For what leh... study better.... So what if it's less competitive to join and later gets thrashed when go for international tournament? To win, the player has to be the best of the best. There is no 2 ways about it. Thing is, everyone gets an equal level of opportunity, if you are good, you're in, if not, you're out... There's no charity nor preference involved. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacxaviqer 1st Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 I felt proud when Singapore win. Be it in Football, Table Tennis, Swimming, Badminton etc etc. FT or not, doesn't matter to me. Why? They show commitment by denoucing their own citizenship and became a Singaporean, holding a pink IC, sing the national athemn and recite the national pledge, spending a minimum years in Singapore in order to be able to represent Singapore. Look at the sacrifices that they have made just to become a Singaporean and have the opportunity to represent Singapore. Leaving their family behind and arrived in Singapore at a tender age, surviving through the langagues barriers, culture differences, climate changes without any kins or friends... Above that, have to excel and prove that they are better than the existing national players.... High expectations are always hovering above their head as we expect them to bring in the result, and when they do eventually after going through the hardship, I think we should be appreciative of their commitment and effort to make Singapore proud, to make Singapore noticed in the global map.. Most of the FT athletes that came to Singapore does not boost a wonderful career in their homelands. Some of them actually blossom in Singapore while under going the kind of training regime in Singapore that make them who they are now. Feng Tianwei, Li Jiawei. Wang Yuegu Tao Li, etc.. are actually rejects from their home country but went on to win at International meetings, beating the top athletes in the world and are now considered as one of the better athletes in the sports. How did they do it? Through Singapore system... In that case, shouldn't we be proud that when our national team or athletes win? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
EllaEmma Neutral Newbie July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 I read somewhere FAM stopped foreign player participations in Malaysia League to groom local footballers...thus the results in their SEA games etc.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 I read somewhere FAM stopped foreign player participations in Malaysia League to groom local footballers...thus the results in their SEA games etc.. omg.....their 100% bumi policy extends to football oso? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Babyt 4th Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 im ok w FTs occupying jobs or jobs that lack talents such as SPORTS. however i do not like any other FTs occupying jobs that any singaporeans can do Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 Malaysia can walk the talk by not importing their FTs to Singapore. right on brother! how many Man U players are from manchester? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 im ok w FTs occupying jobs or jobs that lack talents such as SPORTS. however i do not like any other FTs occupying jobs that any singaporeans can do i agree. fortunately - they arent (as is proven by the record low unemployment rate) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Windwaver Turbocharged July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 If you see Qiu Li kissing his t-shirt Singapore badge...I think you won't feel he is not Singaporean enough...in Singapore...who is "original" ....everyone is an import...even if you born here....our forefathers are from china, Malaysia and etc...even malaysian....I bet some of them have relative who is a Singaporean too...just like my wife...her father was a Malaysian who become a Singaporean.....so what is "original"?....the origin of the sperm or the place of birth? subjective... We all came from Africa, that's original Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Badder Neutral Newbie July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 France is different their, their afro descent players speak brought up in france since young, speak french and afro descend ppl has been part of france culture for last 30 yrs. try 300 years :) over 100 million africans speak french as their primary language. Africa was a french colony in the seventeenth century in the 60s ad 70s a few million migrated to france so dont be surprised to see french africans. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
New_Atlantis 3rd Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 Malaysia (Tigers) VS Singapore Zoo (Lions/Sg, Panda/China, Eagel/Serbia, etc) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 Malaysia (Tigers) VS Singapore Zoo (Lions/Sg, Panda/China, Eagel/Serbia, etc) of course zoo will win da dei! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 25, 2011 Share July 25, 2011 of course zoo will win da dei! Last time kangaroos+koalas helped us win MY Cup ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...