M'sia attributes Lions win to foreign imports

Yellowrx8

If you see Qiu Li kissing his t-shirt Singapore badge...I think you won't feel he is not Singaporean enough...in Singapore...who is "original" ....everyone is an import...even if you born here....our forefathers are from china, Malaysia and etc...even malaysian....I bet some of them have relative who is a Singaporean too...just like my wife...her father was a Malaysian who become a Singaporean.....so what is "original"?....the origin of the sperm or the place of birth? subjective...

Not only i saw him kissing the jersey, i saw his layer of fats sticking out after he scored.. Suprising frame for a winger. The other china dude on the other flank used to be better.

I don't think the ft policy is bad in this case. If we do well, more local youngsters will be motivated.. End of the day, just abt creating the demand (winning tropies). The Singapore national side was dead for a while.

If you see Qiu Li kissing his t-shirt Singapore badge...I think you won't feel he is not Singaporean enough...in Singapore...who is "original" ....everyone is an import...even if you born here....our forefathers are from china, Malaysia and etc...even malaysian....I bet some of them have relative who is a Singaporean too...just like my wife...her father was a Malaysian who become a Singaporean.....so what is "original"?....the origin of the sperm or the place of birth? subjective...

To me there are two kinds:

One type is brought here/converted to Singaporean specifically to play sports/win medals for Singapore.

The other type came here for a better future (e.g. to study/to work), turned out to be great sportsmen and get talent spotted.

I support the second type. It's ok not to win or even qualify for the World Cup. As long as I see them playing their hearts out for their country, I will support them.

Taking things to the extreme, say the govt paid top dollar to import the entire Spanish national team here and "Singapore" win the World Cup. Would you feel proud?

Not only i saw him kissing the jersey, i saw his layer of fats sticking out after he scored.. Suprising frame for a winger. The other china dude on the other flank used to be better.

I don't think the ft policy is bad in this case. If we do well, more local youngsters will be motivated.. End of the day, just abt creating the demand (winning tropies). The Singapore national side was dead for a while.

Haha... Who wun take notice of tat fat dude!

I run a search at wikipedia to find out who the hell is he...

Qiu Li (simplified Chinese: 邱礼, born June 6, 1981 in Shenyang, Liaoning, China) is a naturalised Chinese-Singaporean professional association football player. He currently plays as a Midfielder/Striker for the Home United FC in the S. League.

Football career

Qiu started his senior career in Changchun Yatai and transferred to Liaoning Zhongyu in 2001. He was released by the club in 2005 as he was surplus to requirements.

Qiu was brought to Singapore to play for the now defunct S. League club, Sinchi FC. After the club decided to pull out of the S-league for the 2006 season, he stayed in Singapore and agreed on a contract with the Young Lions where he excelled with 19 goals from 25 matches played.[1] He joined Home United in 2007 but failed to find his form and joined Tampines Rovers FC in 2008. Impressive displays in his debuting two seasons earned him Singapore citizenship. He returned to Home United FC in 2011.

He made his debut for the national team in 28 May 2008, in the friendly against Bahrain.

However on the 24th of November 2008, FIFA banned Qiu Li from playing for Singapore because he did not meet the new criteria stating that a new citizen needs to reside in his new country for 5-years. Qiu Li had only lived in Singapore for 3 years. Thus he would be only eligible for international football come 2010.

On 23 July 2011, Qiu Li scored 2 goals in the first leg of the World Cup Qualifier played at a sold out crowd at Jalan Besar Stadium. Singapore won 5-3.

On the contrary, I think more local youngsters will be de-motivated. A couple of my friends were in the Youth National squads for Badminton and Table Tennis. They knew they were good and were willing to work hard to improve. But they knew they don't have a future in the National squads, because the govt will just import from other countries. The furthest they can go is to be their sparring partners. For what leh... study better....

To me there are two kinds:

One type is brought here/converted to Singaporean specifically to play sports/win medals for Singapore.

The other type came here for a better future (e.g. to study/to work), turned out to be great sportsmen and get talent spotted.

I support the second type. It's ok not to win or even qualify for the World Cup. As long as I see them playing their hearts out for their country, I will support them.

Taking things to the extreme, say the govt paid top dollar to import the entire Spanish national team here and "Singapore" win the World Cup. Would you feel proud?

Yes exactly.

Good example to drive home the point.

Sadly, it's true in a way when it comes to table tennis. But in soccer sense, i'm sure we have better talents hidden in the ranks.. I'm very optimistic after watching the u16 plays.

I heard there was a fight broke out between fans of both sides. Anyone witness that?

cups ended up on the pitch

Sadly, it's true in a way when it comes to table tennis. But in soccer sense, i'm sure we have better talents hidden in the ranks.. I'm very optimistic after watching the u16 plays.

but can they keep up their form? once they enlist, will they have time to train and maintain their u16 form?

On the contrary, I think more local youngsters will be de-motivated. A couple of my friends were in the Youth National squads for Badminton and Table Tennis. They knew they were good and were willing to work hard to improve. But they knew they don't have a future in the National squads, because the govt will just import from other countries. The furthest they can go is to be their sparring partners. For what leh... study better....

Thats why we never succeed. Concede defeat even before trying.

If they can become spurring partners, then they have a chance to prove they can be better by beating the FTs, or at least give them a run for the money, to show potientials.

Unless they can tell us with a straight face that if they manage to beat FTs, they still cannot be selected. Then I agree no future.

your analogy is rubbish.

if i traced my family line far back enough millions of years, i am certain my fore-father was a single cell bacteria

so am i a bacteria too?

singaporean = born in singapore, lived in singapore all your life

was your forefather born in singapore and lived in singapore all his life?

no? then he's not a singaporean

seriously, if any singaporean feels proud that our country is winning medals at table tennis or soccer or whatever sport, you have a flawed sense of nationalism

our sports people are all foreigners, almost no singaporeans at all

they are not the same as you and me, whats there to be proud about?

money can't buy everything but it certainly can buy medals, just ask chelsea or manchester city

but pride should only be reserved for clubs that have been consistently successful without a massive injection of money, eg man utd, liverpool or arsenal

Edited by Expertz

Guys..I think you all should look at it that the Singapore FA is run in a meritocracy manner where if you are good, it doesn't matter you are FT, Malay, Chinese or Indian...everyone gets a chance.

It is not that Msia doesn't have FT. But the way their FA runs......well, I don't think FTs want to play for them.

seriously, if any singaporean feels proud that our country is winning medals at table tennis or soccer or whatever sport, you have a flawed sense of nationalism

our sports people are all foreigners, almost no singaporeans at all

they are not the same as you and me, whats there to be proud about?

money can't buy everything but it certainly can buy medals, just ask chelsea or manchester city

but pride should only be reserved for clubs that have been consistently successful without a massive injection of money, eg man utd, liverpool or arsenal

Agreed with your statement. unlike some others sounds like pappies farting. :wacko:

but can they keep up their form? once they enlist, will they have time to train and maintain their u16 form?

Actually when i did rt in bedok camp, i saw a group of boys playing soccer. Was told that they are part of the SAF team. Was told that all they do is to play soccer.

I could be wrong though.

Thats why we never succeed. Concede defeat even before trying.

If they can become spurring partners, then they have a chance to prove they can be better by beating the FTs, or at least give them a run for the money, to show potientials.

Unless they can tell us with a straight face that if they manage to beat FTs, they still cannot be selected. Then I agree no future.

I understand ur point about being defeatist. But it's really difficult to keep going if you were them. Imagine you are the best local born player. Yes you cannot beat the imports but you surely will feel robbed of the chance to represent ur country at the highest level.

When you know the govt paid so much for them, it's hard to keep going. You know the funds are going to groom them instead of you. I remember this shotput dude Chen Guirong. China import who showed alot of promise early on. Sports council continued to support him over many years despite failing to deliver. Local talent see liao also sian.

I understand ur point about being defeatist. But it's really difficult to keep going if you were them. Imagine you are the best local born player. Yes you cannot beat the imports but you surely will feel robbed of the chance to represent ur country at the highest level.

When you know the govt paid so much for them, it's hard to keep going. You know the funds are going to groom them instead of you. I remember this shotput dude Chen Guirong. China import who showed alot of promise early on. Sports council continued to support him over many years despite failing to deliver. Local talent see liao also sian.

everyone has to start somewhere. maybe can put the local in small tournaments for exposure.

and maybe for some sports like table tennis, put the FTs and the local in a doubles match on the same team.

I am quite neutral about having FTs in our national team...provided the ratio between local:FT is reasonable (btw, the interpretation of this word is subjective in itself). If the use of FTs is only an interim strategy to raise the standard of local soccer, and to attract / inspire more local players, then it is not a bad thing.