M'sia attributes Lions win to foreign imports

Yellowrx8

football requires a strong team of 11 players, highly likely to have a few 'imports'

if FT > local, then [thumbsdown]

my view is 2/3 FT + 9/8 local = acceptable leh

unlike ping-poing, the team is almost china's team

Having nationalized foreign player is the policy of the Government. These players offered their service and gave their 100% on the pitch.

No one should doubt these foreign players attitude. Duric is 41 this yr. And look at his dedication and fitness. Puts a lot of local players to shame. Daniel Bennett is 31 this year and is still rock solid at the back.

Malaysian fans are just poor losers. Those malaysian citizens working in Singapore should fark off from SG if they are so damn patriotic.

Having nationalized foreign player is the policy of the Government. These players offered their service and gave their 100% on the pitch.

No one should doubt these foreign players attitude. Duric is 41 this yr. And look at his dedication and fitness. Puts a lot of local players to shame. Daniel Bennett is 31 this year and is still rock solid at the back.

Malaysian fans are just poor losers. Those malaysian citizens working in Singapore should fark off from SG if they are so damn patriotic.

Yap, you have to give credit when credit is due. Duric is the type of FTs (& citizen for that matters) we wanted (not necessarily for sports only), that walk the talk, committed & professional. 41 years old still kicks Malaysians' team butt so badly, they have difficulties sitting down.

If most of the FTs we get in the respective field have the same attributes as him, then, I think few can complain. Instead of focusing on FTs, we should maybe applause the discipline & determination shown by Duric, as an example for Singaporean, you can still achieve success if you are delicated, even if situation seems against you. In Duric case, age.

The Star/Asia News Network

Sunday, Jul 24, 2011

By Eric Samuel

SINGAPORE - Malaysia went down fighting to Singapore 5-3 in a nail-biting Asian Zone World Cup second round first-leg qualifying match at the Jalan Besar Stadium last night.

The tense encounter, played in front of 6,000 fans, also saw both teams reduced to 10 men.

It was tough for the gritty Malaysians to match the home team, who meant business when they started with all five naturalised players.

The result was evident as all the five goals came from the physically superior imports. The towering Aleksandar Duric scored a brace (8th, 80th) while Qiu Li (22nd), Mustafic Fahrudin (44th) and Shi Jiayi (45th) added a goal each.

Safee Sali scored a brace for Malaysia (1st, 70th) while substitute Abdul Hadi Yahaya (69th) added the other goal.

There was drama on and off the pitch, too.

There was a scuffle in the stands when Singapore trooped off leading 4-1 in the first-half. And four minutes into the breather, Malaysia were reduced to 10 men when skipper Safiq Rahim was sent off for a rash tackle on Harris Harun.

Despite the odds stacked against the Malaysians, the never-say-die attitude of the players brought back the cheers to the partisan Malaysian fans.

Singapore were also reduced to 10 men when their defender Ismail Yunos was sent off for a second bookable offence in the 54th minute.

The Malaysians must be praised for their persistence even when the chips were down.

They fought back from three goals down and reduced the score to 3-4 by the 70th minute. But Singapore's 41-year-old striker Duric had the last say of the game with his second goal in the 80th minute.

Singapore now enjoy a two-goal cushion for the return leg at the National Stadium in Bukit Jalil on July 28.

National coach Datuk K Rajagopal was disappoined by the team's sloppy defending, which he said was the cause of their defeat.

"We had the best ever start when Safee scored after just 26 seconds of the game but after that, the whole defence collapsed and we gave away the goals just like that," said Rajagopal.

It certainly was a goal feast for the Lions but the game could have gone Malaysia's way if only they were not so porous at the back.

Wily midfielder S Kunalan got down to work immediately from the kick-off and his cross from the left opened up the Singapore defence, leaving Safee with a shot at goal.

Singapore goalkeeper Mohd Izwan Mahbud did well to palm away the shot but the Pelita Jaya FC striker made no mistake from the rebound. But it was all Singapore's show after that shock goal.

Duric caught the Malaysian defence off-guard when he latched onto Qiu Li's free-kick to easily slot the ball past goalkeeper Sharbinee Allawee in the eighth minute.

Then, Qiu Li stunned Malaysia when he curled in a free-kick in the 22nd minute.

Then, within a two-minute spell, Mustafic and Shi Jiayi punished the Malaysian defence with close-range goals in the 44th and 45th minutes respectively.

Malaysia's fightback came in the second half with substitute Abdul Hadi Yahaya picking up a loose ball to score in the 69th minute before Safee added his second a minute later with a clinical finish from outside the box.

Singapore: Mohd Izwan Mahbud, Muhd Safuwan Baharudin, Shi Jiayi, Aleksandar Duric, Qiu Li (Shahdan Sulaiman), Hariss Harun, Mustafic Fahrudin, Daniel Bennett, Shahril Ishak, Juma'at Jantan, Ismail Yunos

Malaysia: Mohd Sharbinee Allawee, Mohd MUslim Ahmad, Mohd Fadhli Shas, Mahalli Jasuli, Mohd Asraruddin Putra Omar, Amar Rohidan, Safiq Rahim, S. Kunalan, Ismail Faruqi (Mohd Amirulhadi Zainal), Mohd Safee Sali (Izzaq Faris Ramlan), Ahmad Fakri Saarani (Abdul Hadi Yahaya)

http://www.asiaone.com/News/Latest%2BNews/...724-290670.html

Wat can u say more... I can onli shake head at our Sing team...

when my wife saw the news snippets of the win. first thing she asked me is why singapore team got ang mohs playing.

i told her not only ang mohs, singapore tell got united nations representation here - 2 ang mohs, 2 china players and used to have brazilians and africans.

i also told her frankly that i don't feel any pride in the win for singapore.

Hard to form a team that makes up purely locals...last time we had Abbas, Alistair, Jang Jung etc. So why the hoo haa now leh? The French National team also make up of migrants

Crowd only 6000 I heard. It will look bad to play in the national stadium with such a small crowd. I believe the match in KL will be full house, or near to that capacity.

Crowd is only 6000 because Jalan Besar capacity is 6000.

haha....i knew this was the kinda response the lions would get after winning.

if win = ex-FT kena blame for overshadowing local 'born & bred' players.

if lose = ex-FT kena blame for being useless trash.

notwithstanding everyone in the team that beat m'sia all hold pink IC.

this was one of the lion's best moments. but if we're not ready to embrace the spirit of sportsmanship, tink we better stick to playing marbles.

FT in football team is complicated issue:

1) MIW is using sports FT as a visible example that FTs are good for S'pore so the whole issue is politicized.

2) Last time Abbas and JJ had the Malaysia Cup to prove their commitment to S'pore. If those 2 were incorporated into National team, no one would mind. Nowadays, some FTs are headhunted directly into the squad (see issue 1). Some are OK some are mercenary.

3) I wonder if MIW will be using Young Lions' entry into Malaysia Cup to filter our FT players. Potential FTs join the squad at 18 and play till 23. By that time they would have 5 years staying in Singapore and just nice to join National squad.

Haha... Who wun take notice of tat fat dude!

I run a search at wikipedia to find out who the hell is he...

Qiu Li (simplified Chinese: 邱礼, born June 6, 1981 in Shenyang, Liaoning, China) is a naturalised Chinese-Singaporean professional association football player. He currently plays as a Midfielder/Striker for the Home United FC in the S. League.

Football career

Qiu started his senior career in Changchun Yatai and transferred to Liaoning Zhongyu in 2001. He was released by the club in 2005 as he was surplus to requirements.

Qiu was brought to Singapore to play for the now defunct S. League club, Sinchi FC. After the club decided to pull out of the S-league for the 2006 season, he stayed in Singapore and agreed on a contract with the Young Lions where he excelled with 19 goals from 25 matches played.[1] He joined Home United in 2007 but failed to find his form and joined Tampines Rovers FC in 2008. Impressive displays in his debuting two seasons earned him Singapore citizenship. He returned to Home United FC in 2011.

He made his debut for the national team in 28 May 2008, in the friendly against Bahrain.

However on the 24th of November 2008, FIFA banned Qiu Li from playing for Singapore because he did not meet the new criteria stating that a new citizen needs to reside in his new country for 5-years. Qiu Li had only lived in Singapore for 3 years. Thus he would be only eligible for international football come 2010.

On 23 July 2011, Qiu Li scored 2 goals in the first leg of the World Cup Qualifier played at a sold out crowd at Jalan Besar Stadium. Singapore won 5-3.

yah man...see the fat fark....but not bad can play quite well summore [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Let's put it this way.

Would you send your son/daughter to do full time sports, despite knowing that there is a high chance of not being able to represent Singapore at the highest level?

There was a documentary on China's sport training framework. Basically, they would get a few thousand kids to start training at a young age. When they reach competition age, they might only select 3-5 out of that batch of kids to go for national selection trial. What happens to the rest of the kids whom spent all their lives training just to have their hopes dashed? With no academic qualifications, and failed to make it to represent the country, they become factory production workers. Not that it's bad to become production workers, but these kids might have the potential to achieve even more.

This is where FT comes in useful.

Yes, cos in singapore under meritocratic system, everyone has a chance to climb higher in life, by having good academic qualifications. Everyone has a chance to go to school and nobody has to drop out owing to lack of financial help. So not surprisingly people would prefer to spend time in their studies and forgo sports and whatever else talent.

In other regional countries, the poor and downtrodden have little hope of improving their lives, so sports is their only escape. Look at the example of the filipino boxing champ, manny pacquiao. Naturally they will be fully committed to training and delivering 100+%.

HAve you seen Team USA and Canada in Table Tennis? All Foreign imports as well...and they didn't win a thing...

The world cup winning Frace soccer team is also made up of non-France origin players...

it's a global city, be glad that people want to come to our country........

Of course, if we can have locals representing and winning everything, that's the best......

but if we can't, then look for alternating ways of doing it.

France is different their, their afro descent players speak brought up in france since young, speak french and afro descend ppl has been part of france culture for last 30 yrs.

ours is like maggi noodle, plug and play from other countries direct

Crowd only 6000 I heard. It will look bad to play in the national stadium with such a small crowd. I believe the match in KL will be full house, or near to that capacity.

thats the max capacity..... so when you leaving SG?

You think Singaporeans so free like msia to everyday kick soccer? Give u chance you want do not?

i somehow agree with this...

majority of singaporeans keep complaining our sports realm is dominated by FTs

yet when asked if they themselves have tried harder in sports during young or do they allow their children to have a career in sports, most won't even give a second thought

in the end, academics still have an edge here... to excel in academics and have a professional job are far more important than anything else

sports?

nay, no future one

Honestly, if you visit any of the international cities in the west such as Paris, Berlin, New York, Amsterdam, London, etc.

Chances are you will see a lot of people that do not appear to be local but speak the local language in for e.g. Berlin.

Similarly in Singapore, it is part and parcel of life that the moment u touchdown in Changi Airport, the 24hr convenience shop is serviced by a Filipino. When you go Kopitiam for breakfast every morning, the chances are that it is a tiong serving you kopi, and when u go to work, there are FTs of different races.

Since Singapore is already multi national and multi racial. Having FTs or "new citizens" in our national team, is not really that "unrepresentative" of the state of the country. So in a way, I do not agree that we are not "100% original", simply because Singapore IS in fact a multi-racial and international city with all type of nationalities. So whats so wrong with our national team also having different colours in there?

Watching the game last sat and i must say, i am amazed by that Fatty..... nbz stamina so good, can run n run n run.

Our best player was a 40 year old... [;)]

actually the defender daniel benett also grow up since young in singapore, so we should embrace him as our own.

duric at 41 liao still score 2 goals against malaysia, can tell you the standard of soccer in singapore and malaysia.

and yes, the fatty Qiu Li quite good in the 1st half, but 2nd half punctured liao, if he is 100% fit, will definitely tortured malaysia again on thursday.

Edited by Kiario