Mona-vie 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I see on news that one person was jailed 15 months for using a fake $50 note. Then someone beat red lights and kill pedestrian jail 1 day...... Our lives that worthless meh?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Curious, what then would make life not worthless in yr examples cited? Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Off cause lah , lives belong to us , Money belong to them . Got money can import lots of FTs mah . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 No head no tail thread... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jcosta Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I guess money comes first... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Fake 50 bucks is a crime against the govt, the other one is against a peasant, what u think. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Never cheat the gov, or powerful people. Can cheat people without power. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Haizzz.... One is a crime against all of us who carry singapore currency. Like it if someone gives u a fake $50 and take away yr genuine, sweat-coated and blood-soaked hard earned money as change? Why only govt suffer? The crime is planned and purpose is to cheat. The only worthless label here is that crime does nt pay. The other is an ACCIDENT. How? Change rule tat if someone is killed in an accident, e driver also be hanged? In many cases we only read conclusions and nt details of the full investigations of how an accident is caused and why e fatality. So, how to judge based on piece-meal info? Life is always precious. No one life is worthless unless u decide it to be so. Anyways, the issue of worth of life here is completely taken out of context and so, please remember that time is also precious so dun sweat over issues that one hv little or no true info on....can make u sad and feel very worthless....wake up frm this slumber...quickly. No offence and remember to hv a worthwhile wkend with loved ones. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I get what u mean. But one is a traffic accident while the other is a fraudulent crime committed with bad intention Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 just be yourself and make your life interesting instead of miserable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poper 2nd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I think in law, the motivation to commit crime is always a key consideration. For example, 1. You hide in one corner, pounce with a knife to kill someone 2. You got into a fight over hello kitty, and accidentally killed someone 3. You were driving and talking over hp, and bang!!!, killed someone I think the judgement is: 1. 1st degree murder (planned) 2. 2nd degree murder (unplanned) 3. Involuntary Manslaughter Penalty for (1) is death sentence in SG, (2) may be 20 years jail, (3) may be just $10K fine + 1 day jail Any lawyer here? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) No need lawyer. The key word here is motive. This kinda thing had been discussed countless times. The first case is that the person has the intention to swindle, to cheat someone. That's the motive. The second is what you & I do when we drive is to get from point A to point B, there is no intention, no motive to run down any pedestrians. Sadly in such accidents it takes two hands to clap, assuming both the driver and pedestrians are sober and mentally sound, they are responsible for their own safety(pedestrian) and own actions(driver). That's why if it's a murder you won't be calling it an accident. And accidents do happen on the roads. By saying one's life is worthless, that to me is too quick to judge. Life is fragile and that's a fact. Edited July 22, 2011 by Watwheels Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Haizzz.... One is a crime against all of us who carry singapore currency. Like it if someone gives u a fake $50 and take away yr genuine, sweat-coated and blood-soaked hard earned money as change? Why only govt suffer? The crime is planned and purpose is to cheat. The only worthless label here is that crime does nt pay. The other is an ACCIDENT. How? Change rule tat if someone is killed in an accident, e driver also be hanged? In many cases we only read conclusions and nt details of the full investigations of how an accident is caused and why e fatality. So, how to judge based on piece-meal info? Life is always precious. No one life is worthless unless u decide it to be so. Anyways, the issue of worth of life here is completely taken out of context and so, please remember that time is also precious so dun sweat over issues that one hv little or no true info on....can make u sad and feel very worthless....wake up frm this slumber...quickly. No offence and remember to hv a worthwhile wkend with loved ones. Safe ride Cheers Hope you will never be the victim in such an accident, or none of loved one will ever be...... have many more worthwhile weekend ourself Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Achtung 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 People with status that kills peasants are a-ok in SG I see on news that one person was jailed 15 months for using a fake $50 note. Then someone beat red lights and kill pedestrian jail 1 day...... Our lives that worthless meh?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 touch wood, metal, paper, stones...... If its an accident, oh well, what to do? Time to report can siam meh? Hv a worthwhile wkend too.....enjoyable as well ya. Safe ride....very safe ride...hehe Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabbie Clutched July 23, 2011 Share July 23, 2011 I see on news that one person was jailed 15 months for using a fake $50 note. Then someone beat red lights and kill pedestrian jail 1 day...... Our lives that worthless meh?? Drive safe on the roads, think of others, do not endanger others lives, even when I drive fast it is usually on an open road on the expressway Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 23, 2011 Share July 23, 2011 (edited) touch wood, metal, paper, stones...... If its an accident, oh well, what to do? Time to report can siam meh? Hv a worthwhile wkend too.....enjoyable as well ya. Safe ride....very safe ride...hehe Cheers KNN chiong Red Light is call accident? So next time got Zebra crossing, I go run over someone and can claim that it is an accident? Accident means you driving in accordance with the law and still something happen. In this case I would say is negligent, should be classified as manslaughter liao . Edited July 23, 2011 by Jasonjst Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 23, 2011 Share July 23, 2011 (edited) pre-repeat.... cancelled, please re the repeat below Edited July 23, 2011 by KARTer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...