Mockngbrd Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) i used to like going Shin alot, i won't go anymore: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3321061 their "explanation" panda9813 wrote: Hey all, i hv noticed that my ad has created an uproar among some singaporeans. I have no means of discrimination to any singaporeans. I'm here to explain clearly why is thre a difference in rates and the newest updates. The information of the ad is provided by the company i work in. Stated clearly, the rates are $6.40/hr for locals and $7/hr for foreigners. The difference in rate is due to the fact that our company contributes CPF to our staff. As foreigners do not have CPF, we payout the additional CPF amount in cash to our foreign workers. We have also received feedback by singaporeans stating that they prefer the CPF amount to be paid out in cash rather than contributed to their CPF. Our company has looked into the feedbacks and suggested to the board. Upon approval on 6th July 2011, we have standardise the rate to be $7/hr for all our staff and there would be no CPF contributions. Sry for not clearly stating this in the ad. But through this, we could see the united spirite of singaporeans and that is commendable. I hope i have made myself clear and if there are any doubts, pls approach me directly through email royal9813 at gmail i going to be bad and boycott ALL those restaurants above.... PUI... don't deserve even my 1cts! Edited July 22, 2011 by Mockngbrd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I tot all along is like that one? Those foreigners that come here work will get "CPF" in cash together with their mthly salary by the co., this is how my wife co. pay system work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mightymito 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Dey, foreigner got no CPF lah dey. 6.4x1.15=7.36 . So foreigner get less lah. You just swam here from china meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Curahee 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Dey, foreigner got no CPF lah dey. 6.4x1.15=7.36 . So foreigner get less lah. You just swam here from china meh? Some co. will pay foreigner worker "cpf" to be fair to them as sporean r getting their cpf as well in their pay from the employer. As foreigner no cpf account, they r given employer contribution 20% of cold hard cash every mth by the co. This is what some co practice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Swingarm 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Dey, foreigner got no CPF lah dey. 6.4x1.15=7.36 . So foreigner get less lah. You just swam here from china meh? Will u be able to withdraw ur CPF?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jim 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) IMHO, foreigners should "enjoy" CPF as well, or perhaps as Tan Jee Say suggested, pay a "CPF equalising levy". I think the CPF will be fairer, except for foreigners, their CPF should be 1) Fully taxable at say 20% on any withdrawal other than reaching withdrawal age 2) Not protected from bankruptcy claims. Offers some protection for local debt holders from foreigners who run road When the barriers that prevent locals from being hired are removed, and the infrastructure can cope, IMHO, then the government can open the floodgates. BTW, I dont think the restaurant did anything wrong. Singaporeans should wake up and smell the roses: our CPF system is causing problems with this many foreigners around. Edited July 22, 2011 by Jim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) You never work hourly rate before ??? This has been in practice for decades man. The real problem is they are paid overall less not more, creating the unfair competitiveness. Some companies will not pay additional compensation for CPF at all to foreigners. For employees below a certain salary, employer and employee CPF contribution are not mandatory. Edited July 22, 2011 by Acieed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Problem is nowadays, too many information from the internet but lack the maturity/knowledge to process these information and then anyhow get angry from it.... BTW, such practice has been around all these while. Many Malaysians that I know donkey years ago do ask for 10% more salary with no CPF. For that, they get taxed more and yet gahmen do not need to give them interest for keeping in CPF. Fair what.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Problem is nowadays, too many information from the internet but lack the maturity/knowledge to process these information and then anyhow get angry from it.... BTW, such practice has been around all these while. Many Malaysians that I know donkey years ago do ask for 10% more salary with no CPF. For that, they get taxed more and yet gahmen do not need to give them interest for keeping in CPF. Fair what.... Please. CPF amount is like a hedge fund. The returns are so much more than the measly 2.5% tagged currently. And foreigners CPF can be made mandatory and tagged to a lower rate if necessary to sustain viability. Essentially, we will be using their money to roll and fund our economy(another way of contributing to the economy). 10% with current income tax % ends up as a peanut amount and is almost transparent to fiscial returns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 10% with current income tax % ends up as a peanut amount and is almost transparent to fiscial returns. It's incorrect... For an employee who pay CPF, the 20% contributed is not taxable. So, you are paying 30% less taxable salary, which is not peanut especially if your salary is on a higher taxable bracket. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Upon approval on 6th July 2011, we have standardise the rate to be $7/hr for all our staff and there would be no CPF contributions. Is this legal? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Upon approval on 6th July 2011, we have standardise the rate to be $7/hr for all our staff and there would be no CPF contributions. Is this legal? It's obviously illegal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 So employ foreigner need pay worker tax r not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 It's obviously illegal. But many employers doing so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) Why is it obvious ? Employee CPF is not mandatory below a certain monthly salary. If work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, $175 only. This is apparently a part-time position so it could even be less, the company will have to manage the total hours contributed by their part-time employees, or compensate CPF if they work long enough to meet the minimum wage. It's obviously illegal. Edited July 22, 2011 by Acieed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gitanic 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 BTW the ad fr Google? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I tot all along is like that one? Those foreigners that come here work will get "CPF" in cash together with their mthly salary by the co., this is how my wife co. pay system work. no not like that. if not, why call it employer contribution Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Why is it obvious ? Employee CPF is not mandatory below a certain monthly salary. If work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, $175 only. This is apparently a part-time position so it could even be less, the company will have to manage the total hours contributed by their part-time employees, or compensate CPF if they work long enough to meet the minimum wage. In CPF webbies. Only following are exempted: a) Foreigners on Employment Pass, S Pass, Miscellaneous Work Pass or Work Permit CPF contributions are not allowed for foreigners. Both the employer ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...