Latka 1st Gear July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 ST Forum Jul 22, 2011 Unnecessary precinct upgrading I LIVE in Bishan Street 13 where Bishan-Toa Payoh Town Council is doing the usual painting and maintenance works on the blocks in the precinct, while "upgrading" the surroundings with new facilities. Do these new facilities benefit most residents? For example, one new facility under construction is a bridge that leads to nowhere. It serves no useful purpose other than to add a hunk of concrete on what was previously an open field. To make matters worse, the building site seems to have turned into a fresh breeding ground for mosquitoes. Since work started, the number of mosquitoes in the vicinity has increased tremendously and this has become a neighbourhood nuisance. When I wrote to the town council last month, it replied that checks showed there were no breeding grounds in the area. Gwendolene Hu (Ms) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 21, 2011 Author Share July 21, 2011 Well, they promised u people upgrading what. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 The worst 1) stainless steel handrails only for first floor. 2) slippery color tiles only for lift lobby. 3) false ceilings for void deck! Many more money waster....just to make it looks nice? I would prefer they supervise the cleaners to really clean the area and lifts n do repairs properly, not half fark!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Booboon 1st Gear July 21, 2011 Share July 21, 2011 I have a feeling it involve some kopi lui Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatisthis04 Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 It's an open secret that jobs always given to u know who related to who la... No project also must create one if not how to earn millions from tax payers money? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_young_once Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 (edited) I live in Bishan Street 22, next to Salvation Army, the MSCP has been undergoing (in my opinion) useless upgrading of adding lift and shelter in the form of metal roofing for the top decks of the MSCP, I always felt it's a waste of money and something that runs deep in the veins of Singapore: "wayang", "go through the motion", "do for the sake of doing", all perpetuate since from young we learn these values Top decks sheltered for what? a bit of inconvenience of hot car won't die, and lift for 5 storey MSCP? Handicapped or elderly can always wait downstairs while their family drive the car down and pick them, else able-bodied people come on, only 5 storey need lift? there has always been a carpark problem since the boom in low coe times a few years ago, if they really got money/time/planning, or if it was structurally possible, more important is to ADD MORE FLOORS, ANOTHER 3 DECKS TO THE MSCP, that would be useful worse is now the b------d lift "eats away" 2 parking lots on every level it stops at as converted to a lift lobby Agree with SimonTan, especially points (2) and (3), why for what make the HDB so (uselessly) nice? To con people to actually believe that their house value only goes up? a home to call our own? pride of ownership of something we own? Kenny Edited July 22, 2011 by The_young_once Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 This is what "create economy" is all about ...... or some say money laundry-ing lah. I also dont understand, they are always digging here digging there. Install, hack away, re-work, hack away again and again. Is it necessary ? Is it logical ? I dun know. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 instead of giving free money to everyone, that's one of the ways to pump money into the economy.. although i also agree they should be more prudent to spend on necessary upgrades Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 its call fiscal policy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/21/2011 at 11:25 PM, SimonTan said: The worst 1) stainless steel handrails only for first floor. 2) slippery color tiles only for lift lobby. 3) false ceilings for void deck! Many more money waster....just to make it looks nice? I would prefer they supervise the cleaners to really clean the area and lifts n do repairs properly, not half fark!! Smooth wall tiles on the ground level walls is acceptable as they are easier to clean off any stains compared to painted walls. And in fact if funds are sufficient, it should be done on every levels. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shiraz 1st Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/22/2011 at 12:14 AM, The_young_once said: I live in Bishan Street 22, next to Salvation Army, the MSCP has been undergoing (in my opinion) useless upgrading of adding lift and shelter in the form of metal roofing for the top decks of the MSCP, I always felt it's a waste of money and something that runs deep in the veins of Singapore: "wayang", "go through the motion", "do for the sake of doing", all perpetuate since from young we learn these values Top decks sheltered for what? a bit of inconvenience of hot car won't die, and lift for 5 storey MSCP? Handicapped or elderly can always wait downstairs while their family drive the car down and pick them, else able-bodied people come on, only 5 storey need lift? there has always been a carpark problem since the boom in low coe times a few years ago, if they really got money/time/planning, or if it was structurally possible, more important is to ADD MORE FLOORS, ANOTHER 3 DECKS TO THE MSCP, that would be useful worse is now the b------d lift "eats away" 2 parking lots on every level it stops at as converted to a lift lobby Agree with SimonTan, especially points (2) and (3), why for what make the HDB so (uselessly) nice? To con people to actually believe that their house value only goes up? a home to call our own? pride of ownership of something we own? Kenny I just have to quote you. No upgrades, complain. Upgrading also complain. Then give weird suggestions. . On one hand I agree that it's a waste of money to have a lift for the MSCP, BUT you will be taking the lift up and down too if you had parked on the 5th, 4th or even 3rd floor with some bags of groceries. The MSCP also would not have been designed for the additional load that 3 decks would add on to the existing load. HDB would therefore have to demolish the MSCP and build a new one in it's place. In the meantime, where are people like you going to park? You will complain again that HDB never plan for the future growth despite the government saying they wanna increase the population hence inconveniencing all the drivers in the estate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mawaflight Clutched July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/22/2011 at 12:14 AM, The_young_once said: I live in Bishan Street 22, next to Salvation Army, the MSCP has been undergoing (in my opinion) useless upgrading of adding lift and shelter in the form of metal roofing for the top decks of the MSCP, I always felt it's a waste of money and something that runs deep in the veins of Singapore: "wayang", "go through the motion", "do for the sake of doing", all perpetuate since from young we learn these values Top decks sheltered for what? a bit of inconvenience of hot car won't die, and lift for 5 storey MSCP? Handicapped or elderly can always wait downstairs while their family drive the car down and pick them, else able-bodied people come on, only 5 storey need lift? there has always been a carpark problem since the boom in low coe times a few years ago, if they really got money/time/planning, or if it was structurally possible, more important is to ADD MORE FLOORS, ANOTHER 3 DECKS TO THE MSCP, that would be useful worse is now the b------d lift "eats away" 2 parking lots on every level it stops at as converted to a lift lobby Did you ever think what happen when a driver who is going to collect his/her car along with a wheelchair bound parent or stroller with a sleeping baby? Agree with SimonTan, especially points (2) and (3), why for what make the HDB so (uselessly) nice? To con people to actually believe that their house value only goes up? a home to call our own? pride of ownership of something we own? Kenny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Corgan Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 I am glad that they built a lift for the MSCP near my block, at least its easier for me to bring down groceries and other stuff down when I am alone. The shelter for the top decks are also good as there is now no need to use umbrella to get to the car when raining! Not to mention that the car doesnt heat up as much as before when the shelters were not up yet. I dont feel these are unncessary upgrading. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KVR666 Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/22/2011 at 12:14 AM, The_young_once said: I live in Bishan Street 22, next to Salvation Army, the MSCP has been undergoing (in my opinion) useless upgrading of adding lift and shelter in the form of metal roofing for the top decks of the MSCP, I always felt it's a waste of money and something that runs deep in the veins of Singapore: "wayang", "go through the motion", "do for the sake of doing", all perpetuate since from young we learn these values Top decks sheltered for what? a bit of inconvenience of hot car won't die, and lift for 5 storey MSCP? Handicapped or elderly can always wait downstairs while their family drive the car down and pick them, else able-bodied people come on, only 5 storey need lift? there has always been a carpark problem since the boom in low coe times a few years ago, if they really got money/time/planning, or if it was structurally possible, more important is to ADD MORE FLOORS, ANOTHER 3 DECKS TO THE MSCP, that would be useful worse is now the b------d lift "eats away" 2 parking lots on every level it stops at as converted to a lift lobby Agree with SimonTan, especially points (2) and (3), why for what make the HDB so (uselessly) nice? To con people to actually believe that their house value only goes up? a home to call our own? pride of ownership of something we own? Kenny Sorry, just had to chime in here. With regards to roofing the top deck of the MSCP, have you considered that on rainy days, those who have no choice but to park on the top deck deserve just as much sheltering as those who parked on lower levels? It's not always about the sun. Besides, think about it ; you pay $90 for MSCP season parking a month... you get to park on car on the sheltered decks, away from the sun, the rain, the bird poo & all. Have you imagined how those who come home later & have to park on the top deck due to lack of parking spaces feel? They & their cars are exposed to the elements, but they also pay the same amount per month. Fair? How about you pay full price for season parking & you only get to park there for only 12 hrs a day while others enjoy the full 24 hrs? Fair? Please be more subjective with your comments & views. Just because YOU don't see a need or have never needed something, doesn't render it USELESS. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Those upgrading still not too bad...you actually see a lift and shelter. Mine area, they replace the non-slip (sort of) floor tile and new tile, with a similar looking one. No improvement aesthetically (in fact less coordinated as the original) or non-slip standard. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jkcs Neutral Newbie July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/22/2011 at 10:52 AM, Shiraz said: The MSCP also would not have been designed for the additional load that 3 decks would add on to the existing load. come to Tampines St 32 (not sure of the road name but it is near Tampines Mart), blk 384a MSCP. You will eat your words back. Hopefully it is not complete yet so u can see with your own eyes.. things u dunno, don't talk big Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 On 7/22/2011 at 12:00 AM, Whatisthis04 said: It's an open secret that jobs always given to u know who related to who la... No project also must create one if not how to earn millions from tax payers money? this is 1 of the few things i have to agree with u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear July 22, 2011 Share July 22, 2011 Firstly...ask the writer whether she voted for chiam or WKS? If she voted for WKS....KP si mi LJ?... You want upgrade... You get upgrade wat... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...