How to tame or teach an over-hyperactive child.

Jamstart

On 7/21/2011 at 6:43 AM, Jamstart said:

I tried caning, scolding and threatening (like throw her out of the house), she was scared then. After half an hour later, everything forgotten and back to normal again. If she is a boy, I can understand or accept. But....

How old is your kid?

Is she drinking Anfa milk?

my daughter also hyper active.. she's only N2..and kena stand at the corners with the boys... haiz...

only when i bring out the cane.. she toned down..and watch TV.. after a while, forget about the whole incident and start again.. [dizzy]

Edited by Itsec

  On 7/21/2011 at 12:40 PM, Itsec said:

my daughter also hyper active.. she's only N2..and kena stand at the corners with the boys... haiz...

only when i bring out the cane.. she toned down..and watch TV.. after a while, forget about the whole incident and start again.. [dizzy]

The key word is 'TV' - too much of it, they develop short attention spans, and wander around causing trouble.

Need to find out which activity they like - cars, playground, colouring etc... and rotate through this group of activities in a schedule.

And setting clear limits helps - they need to know the consequences of their behaviour (ie withhold favourite toy, tv, etc). Sometimes caning not so effective as

withholding a privilege for a few hours to a day.

And need to set aside time (20-30min per day at least) to spend time doing something with them that reinforces their attention.

Like building lego blocks with them, or reading bedtime stories etc. Let them know they can have extra playtime or extra story if they can be good and sit quietly for a while

doing tabletop activities.

It takes some time to work out a routine that suits you both, but don't give up, they may continue to plague you with bad behaviour for a while.

Also look into whether they are having enough sleep at night - too little reduces concentration in the day.

Are they getting enough calories to keep them going through the day too - being hungry in the evening is not likely to result in good behaviour.

Sometimes they get a sugary snack at 3pm, and the next meal is at 7 or 8 - might be a little too long and result in lack of blood sugar instead.

Or even vitamin deficiencies - this you can get your doctor to check her out. Certain vitamin deficiencies result in attention deficit disorder, and are very easily corrected with multivites.

Hope this helps.

On 7/21/2011 at 1:25 PM, Bluethorn said:

The key word is 'TV' - too much of it, they develop short attention spans, and wander around causing trouble.

Need to find out which activity they like - cars, playground, colouring etc... and rotate through this group of activities in a schedule.

And setting clear limits helps - they need to know the consequences of their behaviour (ie withhold favourite toy, tv, etc). Sometimes caning not so effective as

And need to set aside time (20-30min per day at least) to spend time doing something with them that reinforces their attention.

Like building lego blocks with them, or reading bedtime stories etc. Let them know they can have extra playtime or extra story if they can be good and sit quietly for a while

It takes some time to work out a routine that suits you both, but don't give up, they may continue to plague you with bad behaviour for a while.

Also look into whether they are having enough sleep at night - too little reduces concentration in the day.

Are they getting enough calories to keep them going through the day too - being hungry in the evening is not likely to result in good behaviour.

Sometimes they get a sugary snack at 3pm, and the next meal is at 7 or 8 - might be a little too long and result in lack of blood sugar instead.

Or even vitamin deficiencies - this you can get your doctor to check her out. Certain vitamin deficiencies result in attention deficit disorder, and are very easily corrected with multivites.

Hope this helps.

thanks for the advises.. [thumbsup] i will give it a go

On 7/21/2011 at 12:07 PM, Bystander50 said:

How old is your kid?

Is she drinking Anfa milk?

She is P1 this year, drinks MY Dumex 6yo. :D

Sometimes I wonder is it the boleh milk that causes her like that. [laugh]

On 7/21/2011 at 1:25 PM, Bluethorn said:

Hope this helps.

I think so too. TV maybe the culprit. Yesterday evening, she made me so mad till I ban her from watching it. :angry: Sometimes, I am so mad till I am afraid that my wife or maid will report me for child abuse. [:p]

On 7/22/2011 at 5:41 AM, Jamstart said:

She is P1 this year, drinks MY Dumex 6yo. :D

Sometimes I wonder is it the boleh milk that causes her like that. [laugh]

My girl is 2.5 yrs old now, been drinking Anfa since birth.

And she is very very active, basically non stop moving and jumping ard.

At 2, we stopped giving her Anfa and switched to Pediasure. She has since tone down a lot, so i just guess it's the milk powder doing it's tricks.

On 7/21/2011 at 9:24 AM, Jamesc said:

Too much energy, let them do house work.

Cannot sleep at nite, give them school text book to read.

If she reads, I will be more than happy. Usually, she will play and watch TV for hours and when it comes to study, 15min dunno have or not.

On 7/21/2011 at 9:20 AM, Babyckh said:

Just curious, does your son had 2 "zhng" on top of his head?

Dont get this bro?? :blink:

On 7/22/2011 at 5:46 AM, Bystander50 said:

My girl is 2.5 yrs old now, been drinking Anfa since birth.

And she is very very active, basically non stop moving and jumping ard.

At 2, we stopped giving her Anfa and switched to Pediasure. She has since tone down a lot, so i just guess it's the milk powder doing it's tricks.

So big "effect"? :o Local milk?

TS,

tried to bring her to some church school.

myself is a Buddhist, just drop mine at church school whereby some, offer tuition class.

during the class, they even have character building.

couple of weeks and it works.

patience is the key..

ban TV..

no behave, no treats

not to be mean but have to teach them who

On 7/22/2011 at 5:53 AM, Jamstart said:

Dont get this bro?? :blink:

the top of the head, wher the general center growth of hair..

if u see two of the it, means kid very naughty.. old saying..

On 7/22/2011 at 5:55 AM, Kurty said:

TS,

tried to bring her to some church school.

myself is a Buddhist, just drop mine at church school whereby some, offer tuition class.

during the class, they even have character building.

couple of weeks and it works.

patience is the key..

ban TV..

no behave, no treats

not to be mean but have to teach them who

On 7/22/2011 at 5:58 AM, Rainbowbiatch said:

the top of the head, wher the general center growth of hair..

if u see two of the it, means kid very naughty.. old saying..

Ic, she has a high forehead, about these 2 "zhng", I need to go find it out. [:p]

On 7/22/2011 at 6:08 AM, Jamstart said:

Ic, she has a high forehead, about these 2 "zhng", I need to go find it out. [:p]

i oso high forehead.. [laugh] [laugh]

kok-tao...

opps.. OT..

One thing about yesterday night, I warned her that if she got mistake for her spelling in her tuition class, I will cane her hand 2 times for every single correction. As a result, she had 2 mistakes, meaning 4 stroke of canes. I asked her to choose between a cane and a metal ruler and she chose the cane. After caning, half hour later, she came back to me and asked me to cane her again. I asked her why?? She said she didnt feel the pain. Knn, faint.

Edited by Jamstart