Calvin79 2nd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 sounds more like you need a wheel alignment? which reminds me i need to do mine too after spring change. I did mine 6 months back... so i think maybe what he pointed out is true.. but then the good thing is that he didnt insist it must be changed he just highlighted its wear and tear and the rubber part has some leakage... and all this can wait... hm... maybe change only during the next servicing... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 (edited) Hmm, normally ... well, i seldom seriously exceed the legal speed limits (besides NSHW), but once in awhile i like to sprint around just to whack the car. Hence, prefer to have more "braking confidence". Change to Brembo gold is just nice. A bit high price for used brake, but it is worth it. Edited April 19, 2012 by Dscheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Hmm, normally ... well, i seldom seriously exceed the legal speed limits (besides NSHW), but once in awhile i like to sprint around just to whack the car. Hence, prefer to have more "braking confidence". you will be surprised when you discovered the 4pot potential in street use. but, can't argue with urge. like it, want it, buy it. enjoy! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Change to Brembo gold is just nice. A bit high speed for used brake, but it is worth it. isn't Brembo only fits PCD114.3? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 isn't Brembo only fits PCD114.3? brakes should not be dependent on PCD but rather rim size and offset. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 that's odd imho, vents placed in front of the scoop. make sure the hood comes with frame underneath else fail inspection hor. Hmm, why odd leh? Are the vents normally supposed to be ... running parallel to the scoop instead i.e. along the left/right of the bonnet? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Change to Brembo gold is just nice. A bit high price for used brake, but it is worth it. How high, is your abit high? Ahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Skyiet27 Clutched April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Better change timing belt set to be safe cos as everyone knows mileage can be fake For my current used ts, I changed once I get my ride n take it as a new cycle from there on It's only matter of time u nd to change Sooner or later Can get from stockist below 400 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 brakes should not be dependent on PCD but rather rim size and offset. but of course. the context was changing wrx 4pot to Brembo, which i doubt will be a direct fit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Garyong84 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Dear all. I have 16" rims and tyre to trade with 15" rims plus tyre. Labor by buyer and top up. Any one interested can contact me 90920257. Whatapps me for photo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Hmm, why odd leh? Are the vents normally supposed to be ... running parallel to the scoop instead i.e. along the left/right of the bonnet? that design will allow hot air comes out of the vent and possibly into the scoop. ideally, non-heated air is needed for the intercooler (via the scoop) for proper cooling. other designs put vents on each sides of the scoop, or just a huge vent in the middle with intercooler relocate elsewhere (usually front as FMIC). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 but of course. the context was changing wrx 4pot to Brembo, which i doubt will be a direct fit. PCD is on the rotors. The 5 holes on the WRX are at 100mm diameter while that on the STi are 114.3mm. Brembo rotors are bigger than the WRX 4-pot (326mm vs. 294mm). Just make sure that when you upgrade from 4-pot WRX to Brembos, the rotors are 5x100. Also whether your wheels can fit the bigger Brembo calipers lah... 17" minimum, but the offset and design of the spokes must also give enough space... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotshot85 4th Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 PCD is on the rotors. The 5 holes on the WRX are at 100mm diameter while that on the STi are 114.3mm. Brembo rotors are bigger than the WRX 4-pot (326mm vs. 294mm). Just make sure that when you upgrade from 4-pot WRX to Brembos, the rotors are 5x100. Also whether your wheels can fit the bigger Brembo calipers lah... 17" minimum, but the offset and design of the spokes must also give enough space... Hmm, thanks. I'm currently on 17" rims. Assuming the brembos have enough space to fit in, and in the future I wanna change the rims, should I switch rims first then pray the Brembos fit in, or install Brembo first then look for a rim that fits? Sorry for the noob qns, never done any of this before heh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dscheng 3rd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Hmm, thanks. I'm currently on 17" rims. Assuming the brembos have enough space to fit in, and in the future I wanna change the rims, should I switch rims first then pray the Brembos fit in, or install Brembo first then look for a rim that fits? Sorry for the noob qns, never done any of this before heh. If u change the RIM, do double check rim offset before changing to brembo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S4vtec 3rd Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 but of course. the context was changing wrx 4pot to Brembo, which i doubt will be a direct fit. Front is a direct bolt on , The rear is a bit more complicated which involves some modifications Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 PCD is on the rotors. The 5 holes on the WRX are at 100mm diameter while that on the STi are 114.3mm. Brembo rotors are bigger than the WRX 4-pot (326mm vs. 294mm). Just make sure that when you upgrade from 4-pot WRX to Brembos, the rotors are 5x100. Also whether your wheels can fit the bigger Brembo calipers lah... 17" minimum, but the offset and design of the spokes must also give enough space... so would it need caliper mounting bracket/mod in this case? thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gee 1st Gear April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Front is a direct bolt on , The rear is a bit more complicated which involves some modifications oops missed this, ok i see. thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ShogunSg Neutral Newbie April 19, 2012 Share April 19, 2012 Hmm, thanks. I'm currently on 17" rims. Assuming the brembos have enough space to fit in, and in the future I wanna change the rims, should I switch rims first then pray the Brembos fit in, or install Brembo first then look for a rim that fits? Sorry for the noob qns, never done any of this before heh. I m also on 17" rims using brembo gold brake kit. Offset is 35. Can clear. If u change rims in future, think the rim shop should be able to advise u on which rims can clear the brembo. Install the brake in first before change rims. Coz at the rim shop, if rim cannot fit at most dun buy that particular rim and choose another rim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...