How many of you been retrenched once in working life?

Whatisthis04

heard a few of my frens been retrenched lately...

I thot economy picking up?

Got one fren been terminated w/o notice and only compensate a mth pay...

No reason given....told him to get lawyer advice if can claim more as he's been working there for more than 7yrs....sadly loyalty don't count nowadays ya....

That's y we must go for upgrading if not when come this situation very difficult to find another job as age so old like after 40yrs old...who wana employ u...right?

Anyone gone to engaged a lawyer and managed to get fair compensation for being terminated without valid reasons?

On 7/20/2011 at 7:06 AM, Whatisthis04 said:

heard a few of my frens been retrenched lately...

I thot economy picking up?

Got one fren been terminated w/o notice and only compensate a mth pay...

No reason given....told him to get lawyer advice if can claim more as he's been working there for more than 7yrs....sadly loyalty don't count nowadays ya....

That's y we must go for upgrading if not when come this situation very difficult to find another job as age so old like after 40yrs old...who wana employ u...right?

Anyone gone to engaged a lawyer and managed to get fair compensation for being terminated without valid reasons?

never cos my employer will drop hints and I will just resign

me twice in my working but then nothing can be done. If the company decide to shutdown their operation in singapore, not much option since white collar worker is not unionised.

economy picking up?

just now went sim lim square and found quite a few shops closed down or shift to a small store.

or may be they made too much $$ now retired and close the shops?

recently, my partner's company just terminate a staff, due to attitude problem. no compensation, OT pending yet cause they have not make enough business past two years.

On 7/20/2011 at 7:23 AM, Sdf5725 said:

economy picking up?

just now went sim lim square and found quite a few shops closed down or shift to a small store.

or may be they made too much $$ now retired and close the shops?

recently, my partner's company just terminate a staff, due to attitude problem. no compensation, OT pending yet cause they have not make enough business past two years.

This is why I save like crazy, to prepare for such unforeseen circumstances

once in 1998. Once in 1999. once in 2005. And once more in 2007. Construction sector.

Singkapore only need to give one months notice. Dont like join gahmen sector.

twice by mnc - one of them have 1 yr 1 month scheme, the other just say thank you onli.

once almost by local company, but i left first n found out 6 months later my ex colleague was not even paid salary for few months, as for me onli my cpf not paid.

I did not take any action to my ex boss cause they are in worst shape than me. I found out they sold their house n car in order to keep the company going but still fail... all because of afew overseas customer did not pay up.

Edited by Blueblack

  On 7/20/2011 at 7:35 AM, Mightymito said:

Once I had to go to MOM because they did not even pay my salary. [mad]

did going to MOM help?

my fren was in the same boat once. instead of helping, MOM ask him to appt lawyer. got a blardy bayeee lawyer ask $1k to write love letter and when the co din respond, the bayee simply tell him dun waste time and drop the case. kns....in the end, he kena screwed twice.

Its a two stage process. First you meet an officer who would try her best to dissuade you. Even though I was not covered by labour law she did not ask me to engage a lawyer as labour court is avaliable to everyone.

But one you get over the first officer and get a case officer, it helps. But they mediate rather take up cudgel

My company retrenchment exercise in 2008. They soften the situation by giving out Voluntary forms.

Then they give the Pink Slips to those they retrenched. >50% of them did not volunteer...

Mostly Old staff... I heard one of them till today still Odd jobs as > 50 yrs old.

Severance package also suck !

after this ordeal, I go home early till now. No point sell your life for a paycheck.

So this is the problem as many employers say SGeans donwan OT, work long hour... I use to work 16 hr days... without OT claimable since executive level lah....

What I get ? Health problems.

Let the FTs do it they say...

On 7/20/2011 at 8:04 AM, Tigerwoods said:

My company retrenchment exercise in 2008. They soften the situation by giving out Voluntary forms.

Then they give the Pink Slips to those they retrenched. >50% of them did not volunteer...

Mostly Old staff... I heard one of them till today still Odd jobs as > 50 yrs old.

Severance package also suck !

after this ordeal, I go home early till now. No point sell your life for a paycheck.

So this is the problem as many employers say SGeans donwan OT, work long hour... I use to work 16 hr days... without OT claimable since executive level lah....

What I get ? Health problems.

Let the FTs do it they say...

hmm, what you work as? I also wan a job that can go home early

Wow...4x sia...

If me I dun tink I can take it sia...how do u pick up frm there?

Any gone into depression and seek help?

How about those earning big bucks and have to settle for lower income after being retrenched?

How u managed the shortfalls?

I tink I'm gonna start prepare for early retirement if it happens to me...

On 7/20/2011 at 7:26 AM, Mightymito said:

once in 1998. Once in 1999. once in 2005. And once more in 2007. Construction sector.

Singkapore only need to give one months notice. Dont like join gahmen sector.

On 7/20/2011 at 8:09 AM, Sabbie said:

hmm, what you work as? I also wan a job that can go home early

Mind telling us what you work as since you cannot go back early??

[laugh] Forgot to mention the worst part. The pay goes up and down by more than 50% and I am a PE so OVERQUALIFIED. They wont hire cause if low pay or junior post they think I wont stay long.

Dont think that paper always helps, it can kill as well.