Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 Dear bros, I may need your professional advise. Dis morning, while reaching my office, i begin to wind up my window as i normally wind it down during morning. As my window begins to wind up, i heard a crack sound like something broke to pieces. Then the next thing is my window cannot be wind up. I can still hear the sound of the motor running when i press the button but the window is simply not moving. I can even use my hand to pull up the window, but the max i can pull is almost fully closed... there's still a small gap to fully closed n the window stuck there... do u guys haf any idea wat happened? Thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 Sounds like the teeth of the gear pinion assembly gave way. But the assembly is enclosed in a casing, not likely for something to get caught in between the teeth. It could probably fail due to fatigue. Anyway I think the assembly & the motor comes as a set for the power window. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 izit exp and long to repair? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tayspiderx 3rd Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 Is your car still under warranty? Its likely be 2 hours job easily depending on q. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 As long as the mechanics got the spare parts ready in shop...then it's a two hour job. Else have to order parts...then it's a half day job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 Warranty over Liao... I juz managed to pull up the window fully... Maybe if today no time I can still postphone to another day... Hopefully it's nothing serious too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 Warranty over Liao... I juz managed to pull up the window fully... Maybe if today no time I can still postphone to another day... Hopefully it's nothing serious too last time mine is can go down cannot go up.............the gearing damage......replace part was i think $145......labor charge $60.............but I think labor on the high side...can get cheaper else where..... what is your ride??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Opel17 6th Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 I had the same problem more than a yr ago. The power window is usually termed as window regulator. The cracking sound is likely to the cracking of the plastic pulley bracket [either end of the slide rail] or the plastic window attachment. I had DIY replaced with a new window regulator, but now the plastic window attachment cracked again. Recently, I checked with STAR Automotive [Jln Boon Lay]. If a new window regulator is provided, they will do the job for S$55.00, not sure have to add 7% GST. If you intend to postpone the repair, do take note that the window glass may slide down anytime due to road vibration, humps, etc.. Suggest you use at least 2 suction cups to hold the window in place, against the door frame rubber seal. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 Mime is company van... Ford transit connect... Looks like its the sAme prob Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 Mime is company van... Ford transit connect... Looks like its the sAme prob if you are in the west or northwest...............i can PM you one spare part shop cum WS..........he charge like 20-30$ for labour and parts you buy from him........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gabriel 1st Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 realli so cheap ? care to pm me as well ? if you are in the west or northwest...............i can PM you one spare part shop cum WS..........he charge like 20-30$ for labour and parts you buy from him........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 (edited) Open door panel to check. Maybe minor, DIY with epoxy or wire will resolve the problem. Know what need to change. So to prevent the carrothead chop. I had repaired my office's MB sprinter window, and it lasted for a few years now. The plastic slider broke. Only stitched with fine wire and bond with epoxy. I think it is even tougher than orginal. Edited July 18, 2011 by 5936 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 (edited) QUOTE (Tianmo @ Jul 18 2011, 12:22 PM) if you are in the west or northwest...............i can PM you one spare part shop cum WS..........he charge like 20-30$ for labour and parts you buy from him........ Hi Bro, can u PM me the add for the WS u mentioned? Thank u so much.... I juz went to check n was told the mechanism spoilt... when i press the buttom, motor moves but the window did nt.... further more there's a draging sound... the mechanic told me no nid to open up as he hear he know its the mechanism spoilt liao coz open up to check got additional cost... i got him to check the pricing wif installation, he told me $540.... I almost fainted!!! coz i juz got my radiator hose replaced last week n nw today got dis new prob... so damn suay!!!! Edited July 18, 2011 by Sash1401 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sash1401 4th Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 Opel17 Posted Today, 11:46 AM I had the same problem more than a yr ago. The power window is usually termed as window regulator. The cracking sound is likely to the cracking of the plastic pulley bracket [either end of the slide rail] or the plastic window attachment. I had DIY replaced with a new window regulator, but now the plastic window attachment cracked again. Recently, I checked with STAR Automotive [Jln Boon Lay]. If a new window regulator is provided, they will do the job for S$55.00, not sure have to add 7% GST. If you intend to postpone the repair, do take note that the window glass may slide down anytime due to road vibration, humps, etc.. Suggest you use at least 2 suction cups to hold the window in place, against the door frame rubber seal. Hi Bro, where do i get the suction cups u mention? if i dun repair, will the inspection fail when my power window is not working? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hiphiphoray 6th Gear July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 That time the power window motor kaput. Basket!!! Sonata NF model is one whole piece one. Must replace the whole panel assembly....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 realli so cheap ? care to pm me as well ? just PM. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 QUOTE (Tianmo @ Jul 18 2011, 12:22 PM) if you are in the west or northwest...............i can PM you one spare part shop cum WS..........he charge like 20-30$ for labour and parts you buy from him........ Hi Bro, can u PM me the add for the WS u mentioned? Thank u so much.... I juz went to check n was told the mechanism spoilt... when i press the buttom, motor moves but the window did nt.... further more there's a draging sound... the mechanic told me no nid to open up as he hear he know its the mechanism spoilt liao coz open up to check got additional cost... i got him to check the pricing wif installation, he told me $540.... I almost fainted!!! coz i juz got my radiator hose replaced last week n nw today got dis new prob... so damn suay!!!! just PM.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic July 18, 2011 Share July 18, 2011 (edited) That time the power window motor kaput. Basket!!! Sonata NF model is one whole piece one. Must replace the whole panel assembly....... last time mine also sonata NF........lucky is gear system only.......think is the belt broken or something like that......motor boh dai ji............ if motor ok than not too ex.................if motor up loli tio siao liao!!! [:(] Edited July 18, 2011 by Tianmo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...