manufacturing or precision engineering

Remixes

Yah man.... situation is getting from bad to worse.

And too old to change line..... [:(]

Its like one person doing at least 2 peoples work in order to maintain the costs.

R&D (EMS line) is also going out...

Aaaiihhh..... see whether still got job in 2 years.

Just saw this thread, I am in this line abt 20yrs liao [speechless] .

If u still young, dun come in......I'm too old to change line [bigcry]

Wont die YET but hard to earn/expand in SG.

also now the current situatio9n worse...dunno can last how long...and how many of them will be out of job...

also now nothing much ....alot of houseflys sian man

But not all have the people skills to connect people. There are bound to have brilliant people who are good in hard skills, but little soft skills.

Most of the glamourous jobs are actually "sian tao" jobs (just keep on bullsh1ting will do) lah with little skill sets needed.

This one very true , lool like next geration will all be sian tao generation liao ! [:p]

I'm in this line more then 10 years, don't come in if u have other options! MNC that are supporting this industries are leaving. local companies are mostly depend on export market. export market is challenge against third world countries. countries like China and India are difficult to beat on prices. our customer has many many options when give projects to suppliers. prices are cut throat, we make very little. on top of that, exchange rate is very disadvantage to us, local overhead is high. many FT is also asking for less pay, your pay would be good also.

i still in this line after many year just because relationship still here and support my position, if I have to do it over again, not so lucky.

I'm in this line more then 10 years, don't come in if u have other options! MNC that are supporting this industries are leaving. local companies are mostly depend on export market. export market is challenge against third world countries. countries like China and India are difficult to beat on prices. our customer has many many options when give projects to suppliers. prices are cut throat, we make very little. on top of that, exchange rate is very disadvantage to us, local overhead is high. many FT is also asking for less pay, your pay would be good also.

i still in this line after many year just because relationship still here and support my position, if I have to do it over again, not so lucky.

So what is best in SG ? look like every industries also got pricing and FTs issue

It will still be a surviving industry for a very long time (for those bigger companies for are still around) but if one are looking for good bonuses/properous career pathway, please please turn around.

I'm in this industry for close to 7 years and hardly survive if I'm just holding on to 1 "portfolio".

Its getting very bad in Singpaore, seriously...

So what is best in SG ? look like every industries also got pricing and FTs issue

any industry or job in sgp that's competing predominantly on pricing, no need to say - sure lose one. whether 'FT' or not is irrelevant as they are employed in low-value, sunset industries. if u find yourself in these industries, cut ur losses and get out instead of trying to expect miracles to happen and move into a value chain that generates $$, not save $$ for the client. that's where the sgp value proposition comes in.

Hi Anyone from the Manufacturing or Precision Engineering Industry??

How do u think of the current market now??Can share

Don't even think about it if you're young. Old with experience no choice [laugh]

any industry or job in sgp that's competing predominantly on pricing, no need to say - sure lose one. whether 'FT' or not is irrelevant as they are employed in low-value, sunset industries. if u find yourself in these industries, cut ur losses and get out instead of trying to expect miracles to happen and move into a value chain that generates $$, not save $$ for the client. that's where the sgp value proposition comes in.

great ! only keep stock that is paying , sell away those that keep losing money , haha ! Never know this theory also can apply in jobs industries .

if someone had bought creative shares at $32 10-years ago and still hanging on to these $2.50 shares today hoping that the glory of the soundblaster will return and their shares will again be worth $32, i would say to them: "the world have moved on. so should you". [laugh]

Depending on which side you are at:

Employer's side or

Employee's side.

U will be surprise that some local big companies prefer

looking for local vendors, for the quality and the precision.

Price factors are the same in everywhere, including Malaysia.

Big companies just like to push down the costings, for some allowances in the pricing *wink

Currently the FT ratio in manufacturing sector is about 65% of the total workforce for M'sians

and 25% for PRC. IMO, still manageable for SMEs if you are talking about

precision engineering.

If you are on the employee's side, it will depend on which position you hold in the company.

lol, can try being a purchaser you will have alot of 'perks'.

Btw, Foxconn will be in JB soon...

Manufacturing is a dark dark world... [:p]

Cheers, Melissa.

been in manufacturing line (hard core manufacturing) in 2002 till 2006...

left becos saw no future in it

Pay increase also not that much, due to its a labour intensive work and u dont really expect much increment.

Work is hard also, requires alot of OT,

Basically alot of s--t work with alot of politics

I admit its a very dark world. Imagine working when the sun just rises and gg home when its dark in the nite, at times, even gg home in the early hours of the morning

was working as a planner in a local listed SME manufacturing co 3yrs ago that do some simple OEM products. But got retrench in Yr 08 due to financial storm that time. In the end landed myself in another manufacturing co as Product Engineer, but doing Medical device product. Annual, comparing now n 3yrs ago, jumped abt 80% inclusive of avg 3 mth bonus yrly. Increment wise, my current co gives abt $250-$300 yrly comparing to my that previous job of $80 max.

Forget about manufacturing or precision engineering.

The future in SG lies in Services.

Try to get into services line. Provision of services can fetch good margins and can ward off competition from lower cost countries as they may not have gain the competency required to compete with you on service quality.

Edited by Icedbs

good to know all the seniors here...sharing all the ups and downs!!!!

tough being in this sector.

also who knows i might know some of u here !!! my customers...suppliers...haha

There is a major player with manufacturing here in Singapore for precision engineering. Makino Asia pte ltd is building vertical milling machines, EDM and Wire EDM machines here in SG.

I would advise you to go into R&D or Applications if you are keen. I'm pretty sure R&D and Applications dept are here to stay. The machines built here in Singapore are designed in Singapore.

There is a major player with manufacturing here in Singapore for precision engineering. Makino Asia pte ltd is building vertical milling machines, EDM and Wire EDM machines here in SG.

I would advise you to go into R&D or Applications if you are keen. I'm pretty sure R&D and Applications dept are here to stay. The machines built here in Singapore are designed in Singapore.

Makino pay quite sucky. My Friend there as Senior engineer 10yr liao barely 5k

anything to do with manufacturing. precision or otherwise is on a long term down hill trend .

perhaps you can leverage on your precision engineering skill to go into a industry which is more niche and yet can utilise your experience and skillset. e.g aerospace.

MRO business is relatively stable and the pay is better and they will value your precision engineering skill set.

anyway. just a suggestion. good luck