Latka 1st Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 ST Forum Jul 15, 2011 First-class help from LTA to motorist's expressway distress MY CAR had a tyre puncture late on Tuesday night while I was driving along the Ayer Rajah Expressway, and I managed to drive slowly to the slip road exit to Jurong Town Hall Road. After displaying the reflective emergency warning triangle sign behind my car, I started to change the tyre. Not long after, I was surprised to see an Expressway Monitoring and Advisory System (Emas) vehicle recovery truck stop behind my car. The two officers quickly positioned traffic safety cones and a lane diversion sign behind their truck. They informed me that the Land Transport Authority (LTA) had dispatched them to assist me. Although I did not call the LTA for assistance, I believe its duty officer could have dispatched the Emas crew after spotting my car using the expressway surveillance cameras. While one officer diverted traffic, the other changed my tyre and I was back on the road within 15 minutes. What's more, the recovery service was free. I thank recovery truck staff Nelsan and Murali for their efficient assistance. My advice to fellow motorists in distress: store the LTA hotline number 1800-CALL LTA (1800-2255-582) in their mobile phones, so they can call the Emas crew for first-class help. Mervyn Sek ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 14, 2011 Author Share July 14, 2011 Dunno whether this guy got give them abit of tips or not. They supposed to only tow the car to nearest safe location for him to change tyre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Dunno whether this guy got give them abit of tips or not. They supposed to only tow the car to nearest safe location for him to change tyre. If someone help you when you are in distress, what you do ..... , Its hard work changing tyre & the person who changes it sure got one. No need to spell out lar, wait both on duty kana go lim kopi at 'Uncle Sam' office ..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 15, 2011 Author Share July 15, 2011 If someone help you when you are in distress, what you do ..... , Its hard work changing tyre & the person who changes it sure got one. No need to spell out lar, wait both on duty kana go lim kopi at 'Uncle Sam' office ..... Ji tong people wl know wat to do. This fella say 'recovery service is free'. That's why I wonder if this fella ji tong or not. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dice 3rd Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 I had similar good experience with the emas team too cos previous car broken down in kpe tunnel and they were quick to come. They prolly had to help since driver may have one of the wheels out. The public service chaps are honest enough to do lose their job jus cos of some reward la. Not worth it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Cant believe my eyes...it is FREE? nothing is free in SINGAPORE Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Real event. Last year, my car had a tyre puncture, along AYE. So I parked it at road shoulder, and call for wife help. The car got no spare tyre, and I am rushing to some important meeting. Left the car at the road shoulder. Have to take the spare tyre from my storeroom to change subsequently. Halfway thru my meeting, got a call from the police. Questioning me why I park my car there? A report was made to the police by a nearby building owner who suspect my car may be dangerous. I confirmed me identity and car and the call ended. There was no mentioning of helping to tow my car somewhere or helping me to change the tire for me, etc. Just thinking out loud.......the system really works in Singapore......quick and security wise!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Latka 1st Gear July 15, 2011 Author Share July 15, 2011 I had similar good experience with the emas team too cos previous car broken down in kpe tunnel and they were quick to come. They prolly had to help since driver may have one of the wheels out. The public service chaps are honest enough to do lose their job jus cos of some reward la. Not worth it. Well, people are making a living. Surely a $5 tip isn't too much. Just a show of appreciation. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Cannot set precedence for tipping $$$ to public staff. These people are paid by LTA. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gearoil 1st Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Look at it this way lah... By helping to change the tyre, this allow the Emas crew to 'relax' by stationing themselves somewhere along the expressway... again.. rather than to do more work to tow the vehicle away and yet have to return to their designated area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Cannot set precedence for tipping $$$ to public staff. These people are paid by LTA. they are paid by people who pay road tax, so they help to clear whoever is blocking the road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Ji tong people wl know wat to do. This fella say 'recovery service is free'. That's why I wonder if this fella ji tong or not. not a matter of ji dong or not what later u give $20 (familiar number??? remember china boy at some hotel) then they cuff u for bribe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chrispie 5th Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Cant believe my eyes...it is FREE? nothing is free in SINGAPORE we paid road tax.. so not free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mockngbrd Supersonic July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 if i see XMM in distress i will help change her tyre, her clothes, her underwear Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 if i see XMM in distress i will help change her tyre, her clothes, her underwear Who's is XMM? Xie Ming Ming fr LOVE? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 we paid road tax.. so not free. like that...to use or not to use the facility... to use like cursing ourself...dun use BO HWA....shucks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 Who's is XMM? Xie Ming Ming fr LOVE? err.. i think he meant XIAO MEI MEI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
R_aquarii 1st Gear July 15, 2011 Share July 15, 2011 its free only when they come to you automatically. but if you call them then you have to pay! so if you break down in express way just wave at the camera if you see 1 near by ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...