Octopus 3rd Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 Hi All, I have purchased a KDK V56VK ceiling fan, but KDK does not provide the mounting bracket or hook for installing the fan to ceiling. Can someone advise me is the brackets in the photos suitable for KDK ceiling fan? Thank you. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 The welding part looks weak! Very poor welding work!! Rust could set. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kezg1 5th Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 Hi All, I have purchased a KDK V56VK ceiling fan, but KDK does not provide the mounting bracket or hook for installing the fan to ceiling. Can someone advise me is the brackets in the photos suitable for KDK ceiling fan? Thank you. Better to use a hillti 3/8 wall plug and screw in with a direct ring.....like olden days ppl use for sarong rockaby baby..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 Just check with hilti expansion bolt website site. Most likely you will be using 8-10mm expansion bolt. The distance between two bolts is about 80mm from the picture. Check whether the distance is far apart enough or not. Two bolts too close to each other will weaken the concrete and cause 'cone shape' failure in the concrete. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sk65 1st Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 (edited) i got an electrician (uncle) to do the job $35 per fan point, which i did not have a headache, i din even know wats inside the ceiling fan box (it was delivered and put in store room) next day uncle came, and fixed it up but of cos the whole house electrical point i let the uncle do la. -------------------------------------------- from what i know, the fan shop wanna charge me $50 per fan point whcih he outsource to some ah tiong.... (i.e. he earns a % from the job) so i find my own lobang so got hook / bracket or not, i am really unsure but spend a bit of $, let the professional handle this matter. better than worry everyday that the fan might drop on someone right? Edited July 14, 2011 by Sk65 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 very poor welding as someone has already pointed out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 14, 2011 Author Share July 14, 2011 Thanks for all the comments. But still no answer to my question on whether is this correct bracket for KDK ceiling fan? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 14, 2011 Share July 14, 2011 Nope, this is general local type. Can be used for most models. But there is problem with the weldment. Get a new bracket or reweld. remember to insist on safety wire attach to seperate anchor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 14, 2011 Author Share July 14, 2011 The welding is fine. A little bit too much penetration, no problem for its application. The whole bracket is galvanised including the weldment. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 14, 2011 Author Share July 14, 2011 Just check with hilti expansion bolt website site. Most likely you will be using 8-10mm expansion bolt. The distance between two bolts is about 80mm from the picture. Check whether the distance is far apart enough or not. Two bolts too close to each other will weaken the concrete and cause 'cone shape' failure in the concrete. I saw a photo of the "safety tested & approved" type bracket for ceiling fan, it has 3 holes and spaced even closer. Fan weight around 6kg, don't think it will pull out the concrete ceiling. HDB guideline on the expansion bolt is no more than 8mm diameter and no longer than 40mm depth. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 16, 2011 Share July 16, 2011 Saw this bracket at hardware shop today. $5 only. There was another bracket, of similar size, but was flat mounting plate was welded onto a U bracker instead of a O ring. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 18, 2011 Author Share July 18, 2011 Just got reply from Capital Distributors (i.e. KDK local distributor) that the plate + ring bracket is the correct one for KDK fan. CCMPL selling this bracket at $3 each. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 19, 2011 Share July 19, 2011 On safe side, the safety cable must be installed. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 19, 2011 Share July 19, 2011 Just check with hilti expansion bolt website site. Most likely you will be using 8-10mm expansion bolt. The distance between two bolts is about 80mm from the picture. Check whether the distance is far apart enough or not. Two bolts too close to each other will weaken the concrete and cause 'cone shape' failure in the concrete. Ya expansion bolt is best. I think KDK wil provide mounting instructions in the box. Better follow that. Must knock knock the celing to make sure is solid concrete. No air bubbles cos then wil b very weak. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 19, 2011 Share July 19, 2011 Thanks for all the comments. But still no answer to my question on whether is this correct bracket for KDK ceiling fan? Get an experienced contractor to install lah. Pay a bit more for peace of mind. I have 5 celing fans (60" dia) n already >20 years n all still very secure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 19, 2011 Share July 19, 2011 I saw a photo of the "safety tested & approved" type bracket for ceiling fan, it has 3 holes and spaced even closer. Fan weight around 6kg, don't think it will pull out the concrete ceiling. HDB guideline on the expansion bolt is no more than 8mm diameter and no longer than 40mm depth. I tot HDB dont approve celing fans. Install at your own risk.????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 19, 2011 Author Share July 19, 2011 On safe side, the safety cable must be installed. Noted. Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Octopus 3rd Gear July 19, 2011 Author Share July 19, 2011 Get an experienced contractor to install lah. Pay a bit more for peace of mind. I have 5 celing fans (60" dia) n already >20 years n all still very secure. Yes, ID will install the fan. But unlike other brand ceiling fan where the package include mounting bracket, KDK fan does not provide it. That is why I am looking for the correct bracket. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...