Nlatio

Do take note that Picanto do have inherent problems:

1. brake pump - S$300+

2. aircon coil short - $200+

3. Suspension - $600+

4. Auto gear box - $3K+ to overhaul

5. Car remote - $100+

6. Timing & fan belt - $300+ (about 60KM need to change liao)

Not true only picanto will have these problems. Any car might also have these problems, it is part of the wear & tear process esp if your car is getting older n older.

Yes. I agreed that most cars will have such issues due to wear and tear.

However, based on my mechanic input (assuming he's right), Toyota car do not have such brake pump issue which is pretty common to Picanto (just check Picanto forum) and realized quite a few kana until the shop run out of spare parts to replace.

Suspension wise, is kinda of weak that after 3 years, it start to give problems. I would expect the car remote to be a little longer lasting but however, it wasn't the case and a few in the forum also kana that and have to change the whole electronic unit (take note you can't duplicate Picanto remote).

If you buy car using chain type (e.g. toyota), no need to change timing belt.

Yes. I agreed that most cars will have such issues due to wear and tear.

However, based on my mechanic input (assuming he's right), Toyota car do not have such brake pump issue which is pretty common to Picanto (just check Picanto forum) and realized quite a few kana until the shop run out of spare parts to replace.

Suspension wise, is kinda of weak that after 3 years, it start to give problems. I would expect the car remote to be a little longer lasting but however, it wasn't the case and a few in the forum also kana that and have to change the whole electronic unit (take note you can't duplicate Picanto remote).

If you buy car using chain type (e.g. toyota), no need to change timing belt.

spare parts out of stock? unlikely. in a forum, do not believe everything you read...just as i also do not believe what you have written

Well, you don't have to believe what I have written and same thing for me as well (worse for those pretenders who don't even drive a pica before and start making recommendation based on hear say). Everybody reserve their view and their own experience. Let's hope none of the pica owners kana those troubale bah :) Happy driving

My BIL driving a OPC Getz 1.1M I have seated in the car quite many times from my point of view I find that quite fuel saving, not bad in term of powerwise.. Interior wise abit cheapo ba.. Behind if seat 4 ppl abit squeezy..

My colleague driving a Picanto auto.. He keep complaining car no power sibei jialat engine noisy and when full load no power.. But interior wise I see better then Getz.. But of course legroom also very small for my case.. I suppose the manual 1 will be better for either Getz or picanto.. So is ur choice TS.. I said not to get the auto for either car..

Go for the getz. I sat in a picanto and my ex-bf drove a getz. The getz is a much better car. I could feel every uneven surface and road bump in the picanto and it lacks power.

My BIL driving a OPC Getz 1.1M I have seated in the car quite many times from my point of view I find that quite fuel saving, not bad in term of powerwise.. Interior wise abit cheapo ba.. Behind if seat 4 ppl abit squeezy..

My colleague driving a Picanto auto.. He keep complaining car no power sibei jialat engine noisy and when full load no power.. But interior wise I see better then Getz.. But of course legroom also very small for my case.. I suppose the manual 1 will be better for either Getz or picanto.. So is ur choice TS.. I said not to get the auto for either car..

I believe for a 1.0L car auto should be no power esp when full loan, dont think it only happen in picanto. That's why getz 1.1L only have manual version.

Sigh, i was like you, thinking of hyundai getz or kia picanto, but after much research and advises for people, I'd say it's best not to get Getz or Picanto at this current market. They are supposed to be cheap buys but it becomes so expensive now! It's not worth it anymore!! Think twice..... If you die die must buy a car now, opt for toyota or honda i think.....thats what i concluded

Honda and Toyota at this time also not cheap. [:(]

I believe for a 1.0L car auto should be no power esp when full loan, dont think it only happen in picanto. That's why getz 1.1L only have manual version.

full loan? or full load?

Let me have a say...I have 1.3a getz and pica 1.1a at home. I felt that pica have better power than getz. Although both are quite powerless due to small cc but both of them are pretty reliable. My aunt bought the her getz at the same time. But 7 years down the road ,moi had no problems at all except regular servicing. However my aunt one kept going in & out of the workshop.

The reason is you do regualr servicing...... she do regular shopping (without servicing).... [:p]

Personally drove a 1.6m 3dr getz for 1yr plus, good power for the size , maintenance and service are cheap. Fcuk 9-11 depending on ur foot. Looks better than picachu . Reliable and no issues at all.

The Toyota Starlet EP80 was a classic 1.0L car which managed to survive for >20 years.

The Getz 1.1M is a very popular car here too. Am wondering if it is also able to survive for 20years, just like the Starlet.