Buying a used car now?

Ario

Bro welcome..

05 car should be 65% of the omv figure u'll take back after 10yrs finish..

If u wan downpayment 30k than why not pay in full..

Should be 55% only ba

Hey guys! Thanks for the prompt reply and I really appreciates it ^_^

My intention was to buy the camry by making full cash payment but some of my friends told me better to keep some cash on hand for rainy days as this is a 6 year old car, anything can happen to it so therefore extra cash on hand is better than dumping everything into the car purchase right? Correct me if I am wrong..... [:p]

Is this camry's yearly depreciation amount considered as decent? This is my first time buying a car so I would like to buy one 6 year old car to clock my insurance's NCD [:)]

Do you need such a big car in the first place?

Now there are a total of 5 members ( my parents , my wife and baby )in my family so therefore I wanted them to have a comfortable journey mah.....

[rolleyes]

Actually I've considered a altis but then I think it is too small for my family as I needed space for my baby chair.... After puttuing the chair in the altis, where is my parents going to sit? I know it can be done, but don't you guys think it is very crampy? :wacko:

Edited by Slyison

Camry depreciation for this model is very decent n fc also not bad..

My full tank can clock about 580-600 km..60L tank..

Drove it for pass 1-2yrs only regular servicing n change rotor+brake pads only..

At least Toyota car dnt need to worry for break down half way n need tow truck..

Wow.....Glad to hear that ! Petrol is not a problem to me as my dad got many free time coz he just retired so therefore he can drive in to boleh land for some grocer and petrol.....

May I know which camry are you driving right now? from PI or AD ? Year ? :D

Wah seh.....The price difference is indeed very big lor... But then at the end of the day, it's still up to individual whether or not to send it for regular servicing at AD. For me, since it is a relative old car, I would rather source for my own workshop than going back to BM.

As for the boleh land petrol, I got some friends whom I know them very well told me that their meter is zhng before de, so that's why they never kena caught before. For me, I wouldn't want to take the risk for such a small gains. hehe :huh:

Camry cannot zhng meter cos it will spoil the function that tell u how many meter of road u still can move..just remember normally the check is after 11pm that's mention by some bro here..

After u bought the camry n u need my mech to service ur camry than pm me..

Oh I see...... As for the meter thing, I wouldn't want to take the risk by zhng-ing it because I can still afford to pump petrol.

So if I ever needed to repair or service my camry, I will definitively give you a PM.

Really appreciate your help bro! ^_^

Hi Everyone,

Advise needed.

My car's coe will expire on 2014. Slightly less than 2 years to go.

Would it be a good idea to trade in now for another car OR drive till COE expire then change car.

And if decide to drive till the end, when should I trade in the car? 1 month before expiry or closer to the day?

Thank you!

Hi all. I interested to buy a 2nd hand 5 year car. Can anyone advise what the reasonable amount to pay for a nissan latio or toyota rush. See at sg car mart for latio is around 40k to 43k. For rush is 46k to 49k. Not sure whether the amount shown on sg car mart price is final. I know the price exclude tax and insurance. Can anyone advise. Thanks

The price shld be able to bargain further if you are taking a loan from the dealer... [:p]

Hi, I currently own a Honda fit bought in 08 at a good price of 55k. Now can trade in for 45 k I think from a second hand dealer. Outstanding loan abt 35 k. So will have a 10k extra to trade into a new ride.

Thinking if should get a new vw jetta now which is ex at abt 120-130k (seems to have a lot of promo now) or a second hand 09 or 2010 jetta at 95-105 k. Or now not a good time to change car?

Hi, I currently own a Honda fit bought in 08 at a good price of 55k. Now can trade in for 45 k I think from a second hand dealer. Outstanding loan abt 35 k. So will have a 10k extra to trade into a new ride.

Thinking if should get a new vw jetta now which is ex at abt 120-130k (seems to have a lot of promo now) or a second hand 09 or 2010 jetta at 95-105 k. Or now not a good time to change car?

Bro, just go to vagsg and find out the issues with VW .....

I would keep the "Fit" if I am in your position ..... your Fit dep is less than 5k if you drive till 2018 .... whereas the Jetta's dep is easily double at 10k per year ....

At the end, it is your choice but finanically, it is not a good decision IMHO ... However, it is not easy to resist the temptation ....

Jetta base model was selling at $105k when it was launched mid last year and sometime early this year and COE secured then around $56k

Edited by Amazon777

But upgrading of car will definetly have a higher depreciation cos better car means higher price? I thought at least when will be a good time to upgrade so it make sense and not making a lost eventually. My car is 4.5 years. Should change before 5 yr?

I think dealer is also paying more for old cars. Maybe a good gauge will be to look at similar cars in Quotz (which is only for dealers bidding) and see how much dealers are bidding for a particular make of car. This will provide a rough guage of the price of 2nd hand car.