Is ford a continental car?

Ithunk

go and google more lah.

the local Ford Focus and Mondeo all designed by Ford Europe,

and not just assembled in Europe.

ok. designers from Europe doesn't mean that the brand will be under Europe.

i shall not argue anymore and i am certain that Ford is an America brand car. ^_^

My 2 cents worth is why do we care so much whether it's American, Europe, or Asian.... A good car is a good car, with so many shared resources & production facilities across the globe....

At the end of the day, I do agree with Ladykillerz

Ford is an American Brand (the only question is does the term Continental Car encompass the American Continent?, I think someone pointed this out on Page 2)

Rolls Royce, Bentley, MINI, Jaguar, Lotus are all British Brand (though they might have German, Indian or Malaysian parents now)

For those who think that Korean might be inferior to Jap, then don't buy Korean then. You don't have to force other to agree with you. It's perfectly okay to agree to disagree...

Peace

[:p]

It's perfectly okay to agree to disagree...

if u disagree, then u disagree,

need to agree to disagree meh?

ie. i disagree to agree to disagree.

Hmmmmm... so much discussion here.

Let me summarize?

Ford is an America car brand, nothing to do with continental (Ford owners, don't bluff yourself. Let's face the fact and I feel that it is okay to be America branding.)

The only relationship with continental is that, Ford assembles cars in continental Europe countries.

Just like Toyota. We know that it should be a Japan car brand and Toyota assembles some cars in Thailand.

But this will not make Toyota, a Thailand car brand.

On the other hand, Ford produces good cars.

It is just that, in SG's context, one of the major consideration when buying a car is branding.

Buyers rather pay higher for other "branded" brand cars or pay lesser if brand is not a consideration.

Not everyone is into technology, just like a Toyota Camry 2.0L and it is still with a 4-AT gearbox but the sales is damn good.

The best verdict, SG car brands registration in 2011.

Jan-Jun 2011: Total 128 Ford cars registered.

And the rest, see link.

Fact has proven that most SG car buyers will rather go for branding over technology and any other considerations.

That is true. Cars are so expensive in singapore, it can be considered a luxury item. Just like any luxury item, like bags, watches, shoes, clothes, condominiums, etc, any car purchase involves how successful the marketing is (pricing and branding). Any car that makes the buyer look bad will not sell well.

if u disagree, then u disagree,

need to agree to disagree meh?

ie. i disagree to agree to disagree.

Agree to disagree means it's ok to have differing opinions, and you don't have to force other people to accept yours.

[:p]

Edited by Notsogoodman

The point is that Ford had until now for example two different Ford Focus, one for United States and the other for the European market, and both designed seperatly. But they are now going towards a global brand. British Ford has a lot of independence from Ford America. It's a difficult issue. Still it is an American brand. It was founded there...

hey guys i ve things to ask..

i ve problem registering myself into the ford club

http://www.fordclubsg.com/smf/index.php?action=register2

the last part as what forum is this?

i tried like countless times but point is claim the need verification..blabla

i dun quite undertsand and i cant even get to the admin.

no VERIFICATION email was sent to me either..

why is it so complicxated?

btw..janise here.thanks for ur time dude!

Of course yes.

The name is "FORD" founded by Henry Ford, an American.

This makes no sense...

If it's founded by Henry Ford then of course it's American and NOT continental (which I take to mean European)

But the devil is always in the detail,

FORD used to have a British design team, that made designs specifically for their market - separate and distinct from the US designs.

They did, and do still have an Australian team as well, that also is independent of the US team...

So take that for what you will.

ok.. so a warning this lead me to this old thread..

Then I'm wondering, why Ford range of vehicles was keep discussed within Conti Talk thread instead of American Talk??

Please enlighten me..

Thank you

Edited by Hybridcar

ok.. so a warning this lead me to this old thread..

Then I'm wondering, why Ford range of vehicles was keep discussed within Conti Talk thread instead of American Talk??

Please enlighten me..

Thank you

Cos most of the Fords we get over here are actually more European based? Fiesta,Focus, Mondeo, Kuga, S-Max .etc We don't have the US Fords, like the Taurus, Fusion(current gen is the new Mondeo), Flex, Mustang, Explorer, Excursion and many more.

Of course it is.

US is a continent.

People never heard of continental USA?

Liddat Africa oso continental? No wonder BMW considered conti since made in continent of Africa lol

European better da

Like what some brothers here have mentioned, Ford Motor Company originated from the United States. However, we can categories the company's product range into four region, mainly North America, Europe, Asia Pacific and lastly Australia. If you look closely, you can see that some Ford models sold in some countries but not in others. Ford design and sell their vehicle accordingly to geographic demand and preference. Even in the same region, you can see the model in different design. Try google Mondeo and Metrostar. But Ford is moving into standardising some of the models globally starting with the new Focus (They tried it before but failed) to boost profitability. The current Ford vehicles we getting locally mainly are Europe spec model (smaller engine capacity, sharper handling etc) except the Asian built Everest. Hope you can learn more about the brand which introduced methods for large-scale manufacturing of cars. biggrin.gif Ford is way underated in Singapore IMO. Which is a shame.

Me tinks so too. With their history of making cars, they should be knowledgeable in auto making. Also it is the only detroit big 3 car maker that did not need US gov $ to stay afloat. Recently their models and technology are quite appealing. Under rated.

Does it really matters? Even if made in outer space e.g Mars is it is a good cars I will still buy. COL.

unfortunately... the truth is that it's matter to many buyers... [nod]

We cannot fault buyers who buy according to branding because as consumers we ourselves fall for the same branding marketing gimicks all the time.

Just bought a washing machine to replace my broke down one. 1 is Ariston and the other LG. Guess which one i choose. Of course conti brand lah. lol.

Edited by Waterh2o

Cos most of the Fords we get over here are actually more European based? Fiesta,Focus, Mondeo, Kuga, S-Max .etc We don't have the US Fords, like the Taurus, Fusion(current gen is the new Mondeo), Flex, Mustang, Explorer, Excursion and many more.

Simple logic I think ....Left Hand Drive and Right Hand Drive lor.