Vid Hypersonic July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 You are very lucky. Last time they send me a letter saying they credit extra $0.50 to my make up pay, demand that I send them a cheque of $0.50 in mail. Very smart, their envelope + stamp + my cheque + my stamp and envelope must be > $0.50. Aiyo... just ignore them lah. U think what? They get MP to go to your house and put you in DB for failing to return $0.50? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xspace 1st Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 (edited) Mine was given in a simple ceremony during reservist... Watch also same thing... Edited July 7, 2011 by Xspace Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 I already exceeded 5 years / ICT. Never recieved this Good Service Medal you speak of. Not even a chocolate medallion. you always chao keng, mc a lot and at times, skip IPPT...... how to give you 'Good Service Medal' .... anyway, you had received a lots of "Long Service" cert from various operators in Geylang as you always over run the timing allowed.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Brock 1st Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 To qualify for the watch, must fulfill ALL of the following criterias. 1. serve minimum 7 high keys & 3 low keys 2. 10 year cycle - at least 1 ICT for each of the 10 years (2 high keys within 1 year cycle still counts as 1 year cycle only) 3. Never get charged during the 10 year cycle - Eg. IPPT or RT defaulters at any time during the 10 years, say goodbye to your watch Unlike previously, qualification for MR & the watch is now very strict. I fulfilled all. Still no watch. Got MR only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Davidklt Supercharged July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 Sometimes its just the friendly NSF clerk messing it all up. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 lets get this clear. national service is a duty, so dont ever think you should get any award or reward for doing it. serving the people (so it seems) is also a duty, but ministers get rewarded, very rich rewards for the matter ... whether or not the position is volunteered, complusory, acquired, etc doesnt really matter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 You are very lucky. Last time they send me a letter saying they credit extra $0.50 to my make up pay, demand that I send them a cheque of $0.50 in mail. Very smart, their envelope + stamp + my cheque + my stamp and envelope must be > $0.50. this is classic ... so is the plague with wrongly-spelt name Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 (edited) Yesterday, I went back to Khatib Camp for RT, we parked, then a 1WO chased all of us away from a carpark said the lots are all reserved for VIP regulars (the shitty BG stars, COL, watever).. Can I add that that 1WO attitude was v rude & when we argued that it was an NSF who instructed us to park there, he threatened to clamp all our cars.. This is their treatment of NSmen.. I think instead of killing the enemy during war, I'll machine gun those carry balls enciks a$$es.. The 20+BGs, 3MGs & the LtG, Perm Sec of Mindef, Defence Minister, pls read this and educate your staff on better respect & treatment of NSmen.. these WOs survive on deriving their 'self esteem' from shouting / intimidating others including lower ranks (but not limited to that alone).... they dont have a life but keep slacking in SAF for years (although there are still some hard working and dedicated WOs around, but they are the minority), they pass their 8hrs working life everyday by scheming to cut it down to 1hr.... the moment they see an opportunity to bully, they jump at it... Edited July 8, 2011 by KARTer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 how come new citizens no need to perform duty ? coz miw make them 1st class citizens, we all 2nd or no class despite serving 2yrs or 2.5yrs.... this is how bad it gets Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pippo20 Neutral Newbie July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 these WOs survive on deriving their 'self esteem' from shouting / intimidating others including lower ranks (but not limited to that alone).... they dont have a life but keep slacking in SAF for years (although there are still some hard working and dedicated WOs around, but they are the minority), they pass their 8hrs working life everyday by scheming to cut it down to 1hr.... the moment they see an opportunity to bully, they jump at it... Do these WOs work till 62 in the SAF? I would like to see how they survive in the outside working world.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 Exactly, thats why mailing the thread starter is the best alternative... Give medal by mail -> complain Don't give medal - > I think will also complain Give SAF100 to go back collect medal - > I think will complain also That's why my NS OC said "we cannot please everyone, just do whats best for ourselves" cheers- counting down to my last ICT the top brains in SAF gotta think harder: other options -----> serve SAF100 but let the guy choose a date that's convenient (sure, this will entail more admin/co-ord work for SAF, but showing a bit of respect for the recepient should be the least SAF should do; SAF should not neglect the importance of respect for NSmen in the name of efficiency or cost saving). ALso give the guy a choice not to collect it by agree to receive it thru mails. if really there's no choice but go by mail, for the sake of decency, use a proper envolop eg at least wedding invitation card standard.... (but the first option is still prefered) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 Looking forward to my hamilton in few years time. I was hoping the gov can offer at least a low end omega or rolex. wait long long........... or when they collect enough surplas from up-ing ERP charges Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 In my unit, the medal is given to the NSman when he returns for ICT. Have you finished your ICT liability? If you have no more ICT and the clerk called u to return back to camp to collect the medal, will you take 1/2day leave and return to camp to collect a medal? I doubt most of us would so mailing is the next best choice. If they called you to return to collect the medal, I'm quite sure you will post a thread saying SAF is dumb to call you back just for a medal... Ps: im not the ns clerk who mailed you the medal the least SAF can do to show some respect is to give the guy a choice: self-collect (serve SAF100), recieve by post, thru emails, etc... and not just shaft it down his throat. it may involve more work for SAF, but hey, these guys have nothing much to do during peace time, get it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 8, 2011 Author Share July 8, 2011 the top brains in SAF gotta think harder: other options -----> serve SAF100 but let the guy choose a date that's convenient (sure, this will entail more admin/co-ord work for SAF, but showing a bit of respect for the recepient should be the least SAF should do; SAF should not neglect the importance of respect for NSmen in the name of efficiency or cost saving). ALso give the guy a choice not to collect it by agree to receive it thru mails. if really there's no choice but go by mail, for the sake of decency, use a proper envolop eg at least wedding invitation card standard.... (but the first option is still prefered) exactly, that was in my mind too. it is not that I have MR, as a matter of fact, I just completed my 7th yr as NSmen two months ago for 20 days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 There is such a thing called "courier service", right?? they can engaged courier service, to personally sent the medal and whatever to your location, right? Isn't it better than just mail to your letterbox? If the bloody banks can use courier service just to get you sign on the credit card application forms, why can't MINDEF think of this?? It doesn't take a PHD or a General rank to think of this mah. Since they like to value government-link companies, they can engaged Singpost courier service, so that the money spent goes from left hand to right hand. Aiyo, they shld have kept me in MINDEF for special projects like this....... they need to find work for scholars to occupy themselves, so although you can come up with better ideas, sorry hor, the chair is already chopped for these guys... very the sorry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 Do these WOs work till 62 in the SAF? I would like to see how they survive in the outside working world.. dont worry, semcom or capitaland will absorb them.... .. they'll be roped in to do 'grassroot' work for miw.. guessing only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KARTer 2nd Gear July 8, 2011 Share July 8, 2011 Sometimes its just the friendly NSF clerk messing it all up. who these NSF clerks' leaders are??.... can the leaders push all responsibilities to the juniors when there's troubles/complaints? if they cant lead and manage their staff properly on simple peacetime and non-crisis activities like this, what will happen in wars?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rayleigh 6th Gear July 8, 2011 Author Share July 8, 2011 these WOs survive on deriving their 'self esteem' from shouting / intimidating others including lower ranks (but not limited to that alone).... they dont have a life but keep slacking in SAF for years (although there are still some hard working and dedicated WOs around, but they are the minority), they pass their 8hrs working life everyday by scheming to cut it down to 1hr.... the moment they see an opportunity to bully, they jump at it... I remember one incident during ICT two years ago. We just completed our road march and were crowding around the water station quenching our thirst. Suddenly one old old captain (probably could not stand the sight of us crowding the water station) shouted at us to form back into platoon level and lectured us. And he added one sentence : "LOOK AT YOUSELF" (referring to our water drinking behavior). KNN, in my mind I was thinking, "of course I would prefer to look at myself rather than taking you as a reference. A hantak taki Captain" ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...