Ngck 3rd Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 They have an option which is in place, but they just never thought of using it. If they can sms us to login and ack our esaf100, they can easily create another option poll on whether you wish to come down for a parade presentation or have it mailed to you. Parade wise, can be conducted like poly graduation ceremony where several courses can come at an allocated time. Likewise for SAF, several units can receive the award at the same time. I'm sure if they want, they can do it. Hold the ceremony in air-conditioned environment, i believe many will turn up. actually i will not.... unless its a saf100 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 I'd gladly exchange BOTH of mine for your ONE. BUt they engraved my name and rank on both. No, they had to issue it on the 10th, if they did so at the beginning, you'd know it wasn't built to last.....2 days outfield, rain and shine. serious? I thought Victorinox was better... Anyway, they could have saved some $$ and issued G-shoscks, SAF edition or Vostoks. I think Vostoks are cool. I think I am going to get myself one later. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 serious? I thought Victorinox was better... Anyway, they could have saved some $$ and issued G-shoscks, SAF edition or Vostoks. I think Vostoks are cool. I think I am going to get myself one later. Afraid not brother, the Victorinox I had, were given to my two younger sons to use, and after 6-7 months of usage, they were damaged by no fault of theirs. (Yes, i did POW Interrogation and broke them down, watches I meant.) They would have tendered them out and who came back with the lowest bid won the contract. Vostoks are nice, price I know our forces will not take. G-Shock would have been good. Well...automatic better, they last, unlike battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Actually, all these quartz watches are dirt cheap, costs about $30 per piece only niah. It's only expensive when displayed in our multi-million shopping complex shops. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 They should give automatic watch. Even a Seiko would be good enough Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 They have an option which is in place, but they just never thought of using it. If they can sms us to login and ack our esaf100, they can easily create another option poll on whether you wish to come down for a parade presentation or have it mailed to you. Parade wise, can be conducted like poly graduation ceremony where several courses can come at an allocated time. Likewise for SAF, several units can receive the award at the same time. I'm sure if they want, they can do it. Hold the ceremony in air-conditioned environment, i believe many will turn up. There is such a thing called "courier service", right?? they can engaged courier service, to personally sent the medal and whatever to your location, right? Isn't it better than just mail to your letterbox? If the bloody banks can use courier service just to get you sign on the credit card application forms, why can't MINDEF think of this?? It doesn't take a PHD or a General rank to think of this mah. Since they like to value government-link companies, they can engaged Singpost courier service, so that the money spent goes from left hand to right hand. Aiyo, they shld have kept me in MINDEF for special projects like this....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 (edited) Afraid not brother, the Victorinox I had, were given to my two younger sons to use, and after 6-7 months of usage, they were damaged by no fault of theirs. (Yes, i did POW Interrogation and broke them down, watches I meant.) They would have tendered them out and who came back with the lowest bid won the contract. Vostoks are nice, price I know our forces will not take. G-Shock would have been good. Well...automatic better, they last, unlike battery. The actual Vostok from Russia are actually quite cheap. They used to sell them at Change Alley and the bridge where the Russian seaman will sell it to the shops or trade for vodka. Now there is another Vostok-Europe imitation which is rather expensive. Seems like there is no dealer for the original Vostok in Singapore anymore. The factory applied for bankruptcy in 2010. vostok komandirskie Edited July 7, 2011 by Bavarian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 (edited) another better way is to have a high tea-gathering in CMPB or something central on a weekend. no need formality or parade. just use an air con area, u go and collect yr medal, and some food and drinks served. just mingle around with yr fellow unit mates, give out name cards, network with each other for the future. then go home.... one regular MINDEF officer and another reservist officer who been through the ICTs with you (your OC or PC) just say a few words of thanks to all. It will end up with a nice feeling of appreciation to the men. aiyo... they need to beef up their PR skills....... and they cannot say no budget for this kind of thing. MINDEF got alot of $$...... cannot bluff ppl Edited July 7, 2011 by Donut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 The actual Vostok from Russia are actually quite cheap. They used to sell them at Change Alley and the bridge where the Russian seaman will sell it to the shops or trade for vodka. Now there is another Vostok-Europe imitation which is rather expensive. Seems like there is no dealer for the original Vostok in Singapore anymore. The factory applied for bankruptcy in 2010. vostok komandirskie Yes, I know of them and picked some up from Change Alley years ago, and sold them off ebay for good prices. I believe I may have 2-3 pieces still with me, somewhere, if the kids didn't get to them first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 what is our worth as NSmen? recently I received my Good Service Medal (5 years). However what saddened me was that, i received the medal through postage mailing. I was thinking what could have been happened that resulted in postage mailing? Is it because an NSF screwed up the job or was it the norm? So do I conclude that our worth is only as good as postage mailed medal? Bro, think back 23-28 years, SAF has the notion of making reservist a ' fool ' of society, Do U expect a master parade to distribute GSM ( 5 years ) ceremony? Guess not, mine was given out by chief clerk when I reported for reservist duty, he say, Na, Sergeant, this is your medal for serving the SAF . . . I was like, Knn, I had served 2half years NSF, 13 years recycled w/o disruption, and I get teh stupid medal from a C.C not even thru my OC/CO in charge, short-changed isn't it What is your worth as NS men? Let me tell U bro, Im in my mid year and I have never been invited to any NDP pre/post ceremony, some more need to draw lot, when my times come to hang up the boot, they got the cheek to ask me to ' Volunteer ' like we are 'Cheapo NCO', a model we do not get recognition nor any kind of prospect in the SAF, of course, the army has come a long way, changes in uniforms fatigue, armoury gear, training method, etc etc, but recognition was nowhere to be found, guess it is not in SAF vocabulary to do so. Dun get me wrong, I may sounds disgrunted in mid year crisis, They never have HR/PR at heart to look into social welfare of reservists, we are the backbone of the army, they say, talking-c--k session they believe in, we, NCO are best forgotten lot. So, U got your medal in postage mail, Utterly disappointed I must admit, How far and how they manage people management is beyond recognition? What really SAF needs is a CHANGE Of Human Relation, Maybe they do not even have a communication/HR department, The recent NDP lady gaga's copyright was another bobo, do you really think they are up to mark? A young colonel in charge of the Nation birthday, he is better off charging ' Peng Gang hill ' over and over again. Lacks of confidence & composure when he spoke to reporter. kns I rest my case . . . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rockaphonics 2nd Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Happy defending the foreigners ! We are also defending your mother and sister. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mlimhs 1st Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Mine quite ok. Ceremony for 10yrs cycle, handshake with the Base CO. Collected certificate and Hamilton watch ( name engraved on it ). Secondly, heard rumours from the regular during the ceremony got $300 to collect leh. Went back happily and check my account, B***s--t, nothing. 3 months later, they did credited into the account. One year later on, i received a registered mail with a WATERMAN pen and letter saying "thank you for contributing your national service...blah blah blah." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funner Neutral Newbie July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Mine quite ok. Ceremony for 10yrs cycle, handshake with the Base CO. Collected certificate and Hamilton watch ( name engraved on it ). Secondly, heard rumours from the regular during the ceremony got $300 to collect leh. Went back happily and check my account, B***s--t, nothing. 3 months later, they did credited into the account. One year later on, i received a registered mail with a WATERMAN pen and letter saying "thank you for contributing your national service...blah blah blah." i got many scars, aches and pains Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pippo20 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 what is our worth as NSmen? recently I received my Good Service Medal (5 years). However what saddened me was that, i received the medal through postage mailing. I was thinking what could have been happened that resulted in postage mailing? Is it because an NSF screwed up the job or was it the norm? So do I conclude that our worth is only as good as postage mailed medal? Yesterday, I went back to Khatib Camp for RT, we parked, then a 1WO chased all of us away from a carpark said the lots are all reserved for VIP regulars (the shitty BG stars, COL, watever).. Can I add that that 1WO attitude was v rude & when we argued that it was an NSF who instructed us to park there, he threatened to clamp all our cars.. This is their treatment of NSmen.. I think instead of killing the enemy during war, I'll machine gun those carry balls enciks a$$es.. The 20+BGs, 3MGs & the LtG, Perm Sec of Mindef, Defence Minister, pls read this and educate your staff on better respect & treatment of NSmen.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Funner Neutral Newbie July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Victorinox was for the older batch, later all changed to Hamilton. the super old batch got zero but i understand then they serve a different type of generals Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acieed 1st Gear July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 You are very lucky. Last time they send me a letter saying they credit extra $0.50 to my make up pay, demand that I send them a cheque of $0.50 in mail. Very smart, their envelope + stamp + my cheque + my stamp and envelope must be > $0.50. Complain for what? When I finished my NSF obligations, I got a plaque from my CO when I ORD. Went home to frame it up and found out my name spelt wrongly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ed2win2 Neutral Newbie July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 To qualify for the watch, must fulfill ALL of the following criterias. 1. serve minimum 7 high keys & 3 low keys 2. 10 year cycle - at least 1 ICT for each of the 10 years (2 high keys within 1 year cycle still counts as 1 year cycle only) 3. Never get charged during the 10 year cycle - Eg. IPPT or RT defaulters at any time during the 10 years, say goodbye to your watch Unlike previously, qualification for MR & the watch is now very strict. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic July 7, 2011 Share July 7, 2011 Yesterday, I went back to Khatib Camp for RT, we parked, then a 1WO chased all of us away from a carpark said the lots are all reserved for VIP regulars (the shitty BG stars, COL, watever).. Can I add that that 1WO attitude was v rude & when we argued that it was an NSF who instructed us to park there, he threatened to clamp all our cars.. This is their treatment of NSmen.. I think instead of killing the enemy during war, I'll machine gun those carry balls enciks a$$es.. The 20+BGs, 3MGs & the LtG, Perm Sec of Mindef, Defence Minister, pls read this and educate your staff on better respect & treatment of NSmen.. you think they care? our dear generals are as over paid as our ministers. most of them are damn useless also. one good example is our "Kee Chui" MP Chan now. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...