Reply to:

Mockngbrd

In response to interpreting "constructive criticism...",

1) That fella is going to stay a minister for at least the next 4-5 years. Constructive cristicism is to respond to his policies with a critical mindset and offer something better if you can. But if you cannot, then bad mouthing him, put some rooster picture beside him, or just simply saying "since he paid so much he shd have better solutions" will do nothing to improve his policies nor our lives.

2) Lumping everything back to PAP men equals bad, equals money suckers, equal not listening to public opinion, does not equate to constructive criticism.

3) Yes we do not possess 100% information so how can we criticise constructively? Does the general mood here in MCF sound like people whom takes all things into careful consideration before wording all the nasty comments to whomsoever that does not look pleasing to their eyes? If you ask me, i think most are simply posting tongue in cheek, takes things literally, and quotes out of context.

4) How many posts in this thread is in responce to his actual acticle and the gist behind it? I think most are more concerned with making snide remarks that is funny and sounds like endless whinings to me. Ok ok, maybe whine, whine, complain, complain, Govt gets rid of MBT, and presto.... everything improves! Great.... we sure are a godly bunch.

5) But seriously, since most here are not able to agree nor relate to his "Dun throw stones....offer better ideas..." mentality, do you guys actually agree that throwing stones but not offering better ideas is the way to go? Btw... politics, agendas, and governance is not about providing necessarily good aftersales customer service.

1) That fella is going to stay a minister for at least the next 4-5 years. Constructive cristicism is to respond to his policies with a critical mindset and offer something better if you can. But if you cannot, then bad mouthing him, put some rooster picture beside him, or just simply saying "since he paid so much he shd have better solutions" will do nothing to improve his policies nor our lives.

2) Lumping everything back to PAP men equals bad, equals money suckers, equal not listening to public opinion, does not equate to constructive criticism.

3) Yes we do not possess 100% information so how can we criticise constructively? Does the general mood here in MCF sound like people whom takes all things into careful consideration before wording all the nasty comments to whomsoever that does not look pleasing to their eyes? If you ask me, i think most are simply posting tongue in cheek, takes things literally, and quotes out of context.

4) How many posts in this thread is in responce to his actual acticle and the gist behind it? I think most are more concerned with making snide remarks that is funny and sounds like endless whinings to me. Ok ok, maybe whine, whine, complain, complain, Govt gets rid of MBT, and presto.... everything improves! Great.... we sure are a godly bunch.

5) But seriously, since most here are not able to agree nor relate to his "Dun throw stones....offer better ideas..." mentality, do you guys actually agree that throwing stones but not offering better ideas is the way to go? Btw... politics, agendas, and governance is not about providing necessarily good aftersales customer service.

I agree with No.5 government not a customer service.. government job is to shape up good policies and improve people life and economy.

Hmm...

But as what I said in my last few posting.. sometimes things are not so simple.. and average singaporeans do not have much information except on the surface..(not as if every information is in depth ) and some problem is very complicated and cannot be easilly solve by one brain or a person with no techenical expertise.. like that how to give good solutions?

Edited by Yewheng

Don't throw stones how to improve???

Why not you give me his salary and set up a independent auditing post? You can keep the govt scholars. I just need 1 or 2 to do my admin work and I can personally guarantee better policy, governance and improvement ideas, along with good service and results to my shareholders.

On? Any PAP dare to take up my challenge?

I"m o'levels.

getting such a high salary and yet ask people to offer better ideas.

where is his brain? kept at home is it?

Yeah, why do his job for him ?

This is Internet. That's how it is.

Obama also probably a rooster pic himself - but does he go around telling Americans not to throw stones?

He should sieve the gems from the stones and produce results. He invited dialogue avidly 2 months ago and instead of drawing up new plans to raise the state singapore soccer, he tells you not to throw stones.

Asking social media to behave is like loudly asking birds not to s--t on your car - only the waiting-to-be slaughtered chickens who are already not doing it would nod and agree. And he wants to be happy with only his chickens.

I am very concerned about this guy.

looks like another 1 term ministar....possibly asked to step down and say he cannot continue cos he blah blah blah

lazy to find his email address to write to him..."don't throw stone"...take it negatively...it is throwing stone...take it positively...we are telling them...you are driving into the wall soon...be careful !!! so conclusion is that he is very negative..."offer better ideas"...that is his job mah...else need him do what ?? To act upon my idea ??? then he should be the assistant manager and I be his manager....And I give good idea got money bo ?? I am brought up in a realistic country and I believe good money bring good people and good idea...so good idea also should bring good money mah !!!! ha ha ha.... [laugh] [laugh] [laugh]

in this world ....it does not matter how good you are....toilet paper come first...well...unless you are the few smart, hardworking and most importantly lucky ones...

For all your 5 points above, its a reasonable rebuttal to MCFers' comments. But i can assure you, you will actually be surprised by the number of forumers here who are capable of constructive criticism and solutions of originality when the situation really calls for it, including our local politics despite the seemingly anti-MIW climate in here.

The real reason for the large amount of dissent and negative responses in this thread is attributed by MG (NS) Chan Chun Sing's holier-than-thou attitude, rather than his intentions behind his comments. By now, PAP ministers should have know better to thread the water carefully and phrase their words in a humble manner.

If you still insists that MCFers are a biased bunch, just do a search on the generally positive comments on BG(NS) Tan Chuan Jin and Khaw Boon Wan in this forum. Compare the public behavioural patterns between these 2 guys and Chan and you will know the real reason why everyone is so upset.

I think what he is actually saying is to take charge, offer constructive criticism, don't just throw stones to stir the water but offer no credible solution.

So far almost 2 pages already but still no constructive criticism. Just coffee shop talk only.

So we should just suck it up if we have no solution lah?

Then why u join in this coffeeshop talk? U have anything constructive? Most of your comments so far are just criticising the 'incontructive' criticisms here. LPPL.

I do agree with some of your points. But your 1st post took all your credibilty away.

Edited by Relagsingh

This "raise hand" acting minister thinks we are all his soldier. Cannot give negative feedback. He wants us to give feedback only if we have solution. He think he is running MINDEF WITS project is it?

He should take all the stones a positive critcism to fine tune his policy..