Mockngbrd Supersonic July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 (edited) who wanto throw stones? kee chiu kee chiu!!! Reply to Kee Chiu MP July 5th, 2011 | Author: Ng Kok Lim Dear Mr Chan, I refer to the 3 Jul 2011 Straits Times report of your comments at a Young PAP dialogue. You urged young people to ask themselves whether their ideas can move the country forward. Are you doubting young people’s ideas? You should ask yourself who are you to judge their ideas which might not be worse than yours. Please don’t speak of young people as though you are very old. You asked young people not to throw stones, cast doubts and tear down institutions. Are you saying people should not criticise or question institutions even when they failed to carry out their duties to serve the people? Are you asking people to condone institutional incompetence and wrong doing? You said people were caught in the heat of the moment attacking the government or the opposition. Actually, if you look at PAP comments, even your own comments during the heat of the moment, the most scathing attack actually came from the PAP. You asked if people have better ideas to bring the country forward. Of course they have. But until the problem is acknowledged, would the government even bother about solutions being offered even if they are good ones? When people give feedback on problems, the government spends its most fruitful energies denying the problems. If you deny there are problems, would you even be interested in solutions? No problems why need solutions? Until the problems are acknowledged, how can we move forward? You said politics for politics’ sake is poisonous to our country. Please tell that to your PAP comrades. The PAP is the master of politics in Singapore. You are convicted that young people should ask less what the government can do and more of what they can do for themselves. If we take housing for example, practically all land for housing comes from the government. What do you want people to do for themselves if housing is too expensive? Emigrate? You lament that people always ask what the government is doing. If it is the government’s job that is not being done properly, who else should we ask but the government for what it is doing or not doing? What kind of job pays millions but doesn’t allow people to question whether the job has been done properly? Part of doing more to take charge of our lives is to challenge the authorities for not doing their jobs or not doing them properly. Taking charge of our lives doesn’t mean we shut up and do our own things when the government is screwing up our lives. You prefer young people to believe in something, ask for help, and do it. Precisely, young people believe housing should be more affordable, they ask the government for help and since help is not forthcoming, they do it by taking the government to task. You said picking up litter is taking charge of our own destiny, writing to the government is outsourcing the problem and taking a picture and posting it on Stomp is tearing down the institution. But what if it is the government that is caught littering? Picking up after the government is tough since the government’s litter tends to be larger than any one individual can carry away. Writing to the government is not outsourcing the problem but asking the government to face up to the problem. Sending a picture to Stomp is not tearing down the institution but making sure that the institution doesn’t hide from the issue but face up to it instead. Should the need to protect Singaporeans from squandering their CPF money prevent us from helping those with real, legitimate reasons to use more CPF? Should a policy’s broad rationale shackle us from recognising, understanding and addressing real, legitimate case-by-case circumstances? Australia may have high income tax rates to fund social welfare. But they still take home more than we do according to the UBS report on prices and earnings. Thank you Ng Kok Lim Edited July 6, 2011 by Mockngbrd ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 My office area is near construction site. For supply pls call 1800-keechiu-tstones Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rainbowbiatch 6th Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 WOOHOO!!! round of applause now everyone! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relagsingh 4th Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 Good rebuttal, but futile. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 (edited) clap clap clap.....this fellow should be put up on the hall of shame together with WKS and MBT...he is using his army style to tackle issue faced by the citizen..is like, don't question, just do it...phui! i think the mid term review by PM on their performance, he should fire him or move him to ministry of defense,....he is not suitbale for civilian life lah.. Edited July 6, 2011 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 (edited) clap clap clap.....this fellow should be put up on the hall of shame together with WKS and MBT...he is using his army style to tackle issue faced by the citizen..is like, don't question, just do it...phui! i think the mid term review by PM on their performance, he should fire him or move him to ministry of defense,....he is not suitbale for civilian life lah.. Tan Chuan Jin also from army.. and he is so much better in handling people.. I feel MG chen should really learn from BG Tan how to get out of army way of doing things.. Edited July 6, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 Never... Never cut the hand off from the ones who feeds you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 he really speak as if he had familee backing him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jasonjst 3rd Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 Last job is Dont ask why , just do and die . New job is Everything you do , we must know why ! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewl Clutched July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 still throwing stones? haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 this got published in the papers? wow... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 this got published in the papers? wow... Eh is not in newspaper leh.. is on http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/07/05/do...r-better-ideas/ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 We only throw stones at screwed ups. If screwed ups are small, then difficult to hit. But if its big like HDB issue, then easy to hit. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 getting such a high salary and yet ask people to offer better ideas. where is his brain? kept at home is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 Jia lat liao... So this is our so called "LEADERS"? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 What are the similarities between both pictures? Ans: Both are white, stands on 2 legs and are cocks~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mike1234 1st Gear July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 We only throw stones at screwed ups. If screwed ups are small, then difficult to hit. But if its big like HDB issue, then easy to hit. Eh... u go ask your co driver from your dp to slap the driver Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator July 6, 2011 Share July 6, 2011 real kee chiu ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...