Hankook Tyres??? Might wanna think again............

Gtrviper

im on 225/45/17 R-S3s as well, for almost 2 months, clocked about 800km with them so far *touch wood* no prob

dry grip is impressive as these were meant to be high performance street tyres with the occasional track day

cornering in the dry is amazing, i can push my car even harder than my prev federal evos without a hint of squeal or tyre flex - shld be the carcass being very hard

wet is alittle tricky though and i wont recommend 3 digit speeds when goin over huge puddles

i noticed the compound is very soft and wear rate is on the high side

as to be expected of tyres in this category, tyre roar and other imperfections are heard loud and clear, but again they arent as noisy as my prev tyres

basic rule and knowledge

performance tyres do produce noise due to its characteristics

comfort tyres do produce noise but at a minimal level

All tyres will produce noise when it wears out progressively

My experience in tyre bumps is due to over inflation.

just my 2 cents

No I did not pump to the 40 psi max rated ( but who knows the petrol kiosk air pumps accuracy??) that was written on the tyre but only till 38psi ( coz I felt the sidewall was still bulge out - on a 45 profile )

The tyres were perfect before that and I only did for the 2 front tyres..... hence I traced the issue to this difference.

After I felt and saw the issue, I reduced the pressure but the 'lumps' along the circumference still was there.

My deduction was that the pressure had already ripped the inner tyre bindings at the weakest points.....

Change tyre lor... only myself to blame

tried v8 last time for kicks, went over glass on road two tyre sidewall corner and thread block torn ( 3 day old)

they offer me 5% discount buy 2 new..

i throw the 4 tyre away went fit CSC3

feedback exactly as #30 above by meanmachine, spot on by him

Edited by Furrynadz

My experience in tyre bumps is due to over inflation.

just my 2 cents

No I did not pump to the 40 psi max rated ( but who knows the petrol kiosk air pumps accuracy??) that was written on the tyre but only till 38psi ( coz I felt the sidewall was still bulge out - on a 45 profile )

The tyres were perfect before that and I only did for the 2 front tyres..... hence I traced the issue to this difference.

After I felt and saw the issue, I reduced the pressure but the 'lumps' along the circumference still was there.

My deduction was that the pressure had already ripped the inner tyre bindings at the weakest points.....

Change tyre lor... only myself to blame

I was told by their workshop manager that RS3 needs higher PSI (35-36) to work at optimum. Like u mentioned, if its over inflation, there should be lumps around the circumference and not only one single spot.

I agree it might be plain unlucky to get a lemon but it was their approach to this that pissed me off badly. I waited 2 months for the KOREAN engineer to come only to hear him commend " i dunno why this happen, so cannot claim warranty" and I have to drive cautiously not knowing the exact date if his arrival. How would u guys feel if in my positon.....

hmm i feel ur pain... such lousy customer service might make me reconsider Hankooks in Future. currently running Hankook V12s & F1 Assyms. One of my F1 Assyms developed the cracked sidewall problem, and i immediately changed to a new piece at Hurry, was told the old spoilt tyre can claim directly from Goodyear, but mine was previously patched before (had a nail) so couldn't do so. But if there wasn't a patch, i can claim 1-for-1. That's proper service.

Maybe i ask where u find F1 Assym same price as Hankook?

On V12 for about 15K km, no problem so far.

But if confirm tyre problem, they should change for you free of charge. How about asking them to fit your tyre on another car and see got the same problem or not?

hmm, reading this, i'm staying fr korean tyres....will stick to jap brands or dunlop or bridgestone/michelin....those r the ones i've tried n trust. [cool]

hmm i feel ur pain... such lousy customer service might make me reconsider Hankooks in Future. currently running Hankook V12s & F1 Assyms. One of my F1 Assyms developed the cracked sidewall problem, and i immediately changed to a new piece at Hurry, was told the old spoilt tyre can claim directly from Goodyear, but mine was previously patched before (had a nail) so couldn't do so. But if there wasn't a patch, i can claim 1-for-1. That's proper service.

Maybe i ask where u find F1 Assym same price as Hankook?

Hi bro,

ur 17" motorsports sunflower serving me well =) luckily they dint try and blame it on the rims.......

Hmmmm

i dint say F1 Assym same price leh... not directed to me tio bo??

Hi bro,

ur 17" motorsports sunflower serving me well =) luckily they dint try and blame it on the rims.......

Hmmmm

i dint say F1 Assym same price leh... not directed to me tio bo??

no not u. another posted prev. page mentioned

GR90 is the best! I was previously using LS2000 hybrid II but my ride became very bumpy. My Hankook is he first tyre come with the car, nothing fantastic. But this GR90 makes me want to sleep while driving, or rather I prefer to be driven for its smoothness and road grip!

Think GR90 tyre not cheap?! [:/]

Beregond?

ah yes, i was refering to ts size 225.45.17, u can find g.y aysm 1 selling that price (185sgd). check around some tyre shop

. dun ask me for name, :( dun want to be seem like i am from some tyre shop selling tyres here :( )

Hi guys,

I've considered about starting this thread for a long time... In the end, I felt that I should let everyone know about what happen... Not to complaint/blackmail but just to share..

I bought my set of RS3 from hankook (one of their highest range, I believe) in last oct. 3 months after installing them, I realize my car is alittle bumpy when cruising at slow speed (50-80). I thought it was my suspension setup thus I went back to my workshop (I am currently one of the employee there) but it was found out to be my tyres which has bumps on them (3 out of 4). The bumps appear on a single spot on the tyres individually. I called the sales guy and he asked me to drive down and let him have a look.

I went down and after inspection, they agreed that they are some issues with my tyres which they cannot determine the cause at that point of time. I waited 2 months for the hankook korean "engineer" to make his trip down and he will decided the next course of action.

The final verdict is HANKOOK do not warranty uneven wear on their tyres, even when they are not sure what could be the cause of it. They sort of blame it on my car's hardware but if so, the bumps would be all around the tyres and not just that single spot.

PS I used to be on 17" v8rs and it serve me well for 16 months on the exact same car with same h/w.

I am utterly disappointed by this and sadly after 5 years of hankook supporter, I will be changing and NEVER going back again.

Sorry to hear your plight.

I was on Hankook V12 for more than 30k mileage and RS2 for another 20k. No problem. Noisy and my ride becomes more bumpier. And I change them at the Woodlands outlet.

Then I head for a change to Toyo T1R and I thought I felt it was much better.

ah yes, i was refering to ts size 225.45.17, u can find g.y aysm 1 selling that price (185sgd). check around some tyre shop

. dun ask me for name, :( dun want to be seem like i am from some tyre shop selling tyres here :( )

if S$185 from German, it a good buy.

If from thaikok or cheena, then dont waste $

i know V12 side wall is soft .....u mean RS2 and RS3 side wall also soft ????? ...full lock turn, tire will flex a bit

I have used V12 and RS2. I don't feel much difference except more bumpier for the RS 2.