Baphomet 3rd Gear October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 hey...Im also experiencing sudden lower then average mileage this period...till now.. all the while i thought maybe air filter dirty, maybe tire pressure...maybe i suddenly become very heavy footed.. mileage drop from 10-11km/l to 9-10km/l.. roughly ard 1km/l difference.. same driving pattern.. And..not counting my biking days...i've been pumping SPC from the first day(Pre-Levo) I drive till now(Levo)....never have i encounter this before. maybe i should try 1 tank whih shell and see if there's any difference.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 Hi All, I used to worked in SPC for 3 years as a sales executive in year 2000. Do you know that SPC, BP and Caltex shared the same refinery called SRC ? It is located on an island near Sentosa. But BP sold off their All their petrol station business to SPC somewhere in year 2003. Because BP find that these station are not making money due to high land cost , small margin and high competition. So both SPC and Caltex have their petrol supply coming out from the same refinery pipe from SRC. As SPC have fewer station in Spore. So they always have petrol surplus in their storage tank in Jalan Buroh storage plant. Guess what ?! It is quite common that Caltex truck came into SPC storage plant to fill up their delivery truck and deliver to their Caltex station island wide. Now, can someone tell me. Is Caltex RON 95 is much better than SPC RON 95 ? Is all depends on the traffic conditions , your engine , your light foot changes the FC lor Honestly, i've been driving for many years, own a few cars.. Tried all petrol brands b4. My conclusion is all petrol (diff brand but same RON) are the same! Some say certain brand better than the other.. Well, its all psychological! Trust me! Otherwise, do a blind test! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 (edited) Honestly, i've been driving for many years, own a few cars.. Tried all petrol brands b4. My conclusion is all petrol (diff brand but same RON) are the same! Some say certain brand better than the other.. Well, its all psychological! Trust me! Otherwise, do a blind test! Blind test I done before many times already. Some people just don't want to believe it. Some still can say feels alot more powerful just because I said I pumped 98 from caltex or shell when in actual fact is 92 or 95 from SPC. But dunno about performance cars though. All these done with B&B cars like Toyotas, Hondas, Merc and BMWs. When I tell them the truth they still insist got more power when using more expensive petrols. Edited October 6, 2012 by Nzy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkblue 1st Gear October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 (edited) I 100% agree with bros all petrol deliver "similar" power, unnoticeable gains, unless dyno... But mileage hor...recently SPC goes downhill. Been both Esso/SPC supporter, so this shows I don't care brand, just pump nearer one... however, recently SPC petrol mileage returns is really jiaklat ! Edited October 6, 2012 by Darkblue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fu11thr0tt1e Turbocharged October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 Blind test I done before many times already. Some people just don't want to believe it. Some still can say feels alot more powerful just because I said I pumped 98 from caltex or shell when in actual fact is 92 or 95 from SPC. But dunno about performance cars though. All these done with B&B cars like Toyotas, Hondas, Merc and BMWs. When I tell them the truth they still insist got more power when using more expensive petrols. That the power commercials (be it TV, radio or thru other means) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yjq82 Clutched October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 I 100% agree with bros all petrol deliver "similar" power, unnoticeable gains, unless dyno... But mileage hor...recently SPC goes downhill. Been both Esso/SPC supporter, so this shows I don't care brand, just pump nearer one... however, recently SPC petrol mileage returns is really jiaklat ! But SPC is 1.993 only nia (after discount). Give and take. I think pumping at SPC Jalan Buroh gives better mileage, maybe more "thick" :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Locknload 5th Gear October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 Honestly, i've been driving for many years, own a few cars.. Tried all petrol brands b4. My conclusion is all petrol (diff brand but same RON) are the same! Some say certain brand better than the other.. Well, its all psychological! Trust me! Otherwise, do a blind test! Thanks to Wenger for the info on spc and caltex. Daily commute and driving style is same so perhaps engine (conti) may be a factor here. Comparing the 98 from these 2 brands, I find that cowtex provides better butt-feel, less engine noise (tested it after servicings) and better oomph. Just my 2 cents worth, it's more financial rather than psychological for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yjq82 Clutched October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 Just for info. I pump my petrol based on this site http://www.petrolwatch.com.sg/ Which is cheap is what I pump. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wenger666 Neutral Newbie October 6, 2012 Share October 6, 2012 Thanks to Wenger for the info on spc and caltex. Daily commute and driving style is same so perhaps engine (conti) may be a factor here. Comparing the 98 from these 2 brands, I find that cowtex provides better butt-feel, less engine noise (tested it after servicings) and better oomph. Just my 2 cents worth, it's more financial rather than psychological for me. Hi, I agreed with you that it is possible that Caltex will provide better mileage for their RON 98 because Caltex have added so called " techron" in it. Same as Shell V power, some chemical is added in their RON 98 to enhance better combustion and better mileage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear October 7, 2012 Share October 7, 2012 Just for info. I pump my petrol based on this site http://www.petrolwatch.com.sg/ Which is cheap is what I pump. #1: prices listed are not that updated these days #2: credit card benefits are not only not that updated, but usually misleading. Citibank Dividend and POSB Everyday (with SPC&U) cards give much higher discounts at Esso & SPC respectively. But this is not shown at Petrolwatch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Solar Turbocharged October 8, 2012 Share October 8, 2012 #1: prices listed are not that updated these days #2: credit card benefits are not only not that updated, but usually misleading. Citibank Dividend and POSB Everyday (with SPC&U) cards give much higher discounts at Esso & SPC respectively. But this is not shown at Petrolwatch. since u mentioned...just like to share a lobang if u are a die-hard shell user.. maybank world mastercard gives u up to 19.7% discount.. details here Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baphomet 3rd Gear November 22, 2012 Share November 22, 2012 (edited) after noticing a sudden increase in fuel mileage(from 10-11km/l to 9-10km/l) with SPC, although servicing just done, air filter changed, tire pressure is as required. Decided to switch petrol and see if any difference. Firstly i tried one tank of shell 95. mileage when back to what i normally gets.. ard 10-11 km/l. Then I tried Esso.. mileage also back to what i normally get in the past ard 10-11Km/l.. Now on second tank with esso liao.. so far mileage is as normal. Weird leh..why suddenly SPC fuel different one? I've been pumping SPC ever since I started driving/riding.. in fact the mileage imporved abit when they introduced Levo...but past few months mileage was really bad.. Edited November 22, 2012 by Baphomet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joajas Neutral Newbie November 22, 2012 Share November 22, 2012 after noticing a sudden increase in fuel mileage(from 10-11km/l to 9-10km/l) with SPC, although servicing just done, air filter changed, tire pressure is as required. Decided to switch petrol and see if any difference. Firstly i tried one tank of shell 95. mileage when back to what i normally gets.. ard 10-11 km/l. Then I tried Esso.. mileage also back to what i normally get in the past ard 10-11Km/l.. Now on second tank with esso liao.. so far mileage is as normal. Weird leh..why suddenly SPC fuel different one? I've been pumping SPC ever since I started driving/riding.. in fact the mileage imporved abit when they introduced Levo...but past few months mileage was really bad.. I have never gotten any decent consumption figure from SPC petrol, thats y I rarely pump at spc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear November 22, 2012 Share November 22, 2012 I have never gotten any decent consumption figure from SPC petrol, thats y I rarely pump at spc. I will exchange redeem fuel voucher with DBS points for SPC, always get poorer mileage as compare to my usual Esso. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SDK 1st Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Hi friends, I had my MIL (Engine check) triggered today. I used SPC's Levo 92 for the past two fills. And when I ignited the engine this morning, I noticed this amber lamp. Is it related to fuel? A mechanic said that I just need to fill-up my fuel tank with Levo-98 twice and within days, MIL would go off. Please advise. Thanks. Vehicle - Hyundai Avante (2007). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jtb 6th Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Hi friends, I had my MIL (Engine check) triggered today. I used SPC's Levo 92 for the past two fills. And when I ignited the engine this morning, I noticed this amber lamp. Is it related to fuel? A mechanic said that I just need to fill-up my fuel tank with Levo-98 twice and within days, MIL would go off. Please advise. Thanks. Vehicle - Hyundai Avante (2007). yr car allows 92? twice 98 to rinse off 92! If works, this shows that 92 is not suitable for your car under this Levo if you have tried other name with 92 with no symptom. Sensor maybe sensitive which is good if this is an indication. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SDK 1st Gear February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 I'm gonna fill-up 98 today. let's see how it goes :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chucky2007 Turbocharged February 15, 2013 Share February 15, 2013 Hi friends, I had my MIL (Engine check) triggered today. I used SPC's Levo 92 for the past two fills. And when I ignited the engine this morning, I noticed this amber lamp. Is it related to fuel? A mechanic said that I just need to fill-up my fuel tank with Levo-98 twice and within days, MIL would go off. Please advise. Thanks. Vehicle - Hyundai Avante (2007). depends on car manual.. if it says minimum petrol grade is 95, and u give 92, then it might be the cause. If its not, then it may be error codes on other components ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...