Staying in JB?? Need advice

Acanthus

Hi all MCFers,

I am considering relocating my family to a rented condo/apartment in JB while trying to apply for a BTO. Currently renting a HDB unit which cost me 1.7k a month. If BTO will have to wait for 3 years, my rental will be 61.2k.

Forget about a resale flat, 3rms in places like boon lay, woodlands and yishun are all asking for about 30 to 40K in COV. Which to me is crazy money.

If i pay a rental of RM1.5k a month for a condo/apartment in JB, my 3 years rental will only cost $27k (taking in consideration exchange rate of 1SGD to RM2) This will save me about $34k. Saving an additional $34k just by waking up earlier, longer travelling time and enduring the traffic jam seems very worthwhile for me. The toll $$ can be offset by the cheaper petrol in Malaysia.

The plan is i will drive my son to school everyday, and head to my office. He will join me in my office after his school and after my work, we'll head home in JB.

Just want to find out from bros doing the same thing what are the pros and cons that i might have missed out. And also which areas in JB i should avoid and which are the recommended areas to look for a place.

Thanks a million!

Hi all MCFers,

I am considering relocating my family to a rented condo/apartment in JB while trying to apply for a BTO. Currently renting a HDB unit which cost me 1.7k a month. If BTO will have to wait for 3 years, my rental will be 61.2k.

Forget about a resale flat, 3rms in places like boon lay, woodlands and yishun are all asking for about 30 to 40K in COV. Which to me is crazy money.

If i pay a rental of RM1.5k a month for a condo/apartment in JB, my 3 years rental will only cost $27k (taking in consideration exchange rate of 1SGD to RM2) This will save me about $34k. Saving an additional $34k just by waking up earlier, longer travelling time and enduring the traffic jam seems very worthwhile for me. The toll $$ can be offset by the cheaper petrol in Malaysia.

The plan is i will drive my son to school everyday, and head to my office. He will join me in my office after his school and after my work, we'll head home in JB.

Just want to find out from bros doing the same thing what are the pros and cons that i might have missed out. And also which areas in JB i should avoid and which are the recommended areas to look for a place.

Thanks a million!

All the lao jiao here , you need not look futher >http://singsupplies.com/showthread.php?35746-Living-in-JB/page380

Hi all MCFers,

Thanks a million!

bro, im a sg staying in jb. u can pm me if u need any help.

Hi all MCFers,

Thanks a million!

34k of saving is not worth the trouble, in my opinion.... :mellow:

Exactly. What about security issue?

he havent count other living expenses saved.. [:p]

ya...everything is cheap over the other side, including your life.

I know about the security there (im a johorian). The reason im doing this is that the housing in singapore has become too expensive, and renting over 3 years while waiting for the BTO is a lot of money.

Anyway, its not as safe as they make out to be here anyway [:p]

ya...everything is cheap over the other side, including your life.

I still get paranoid each time I step foot in JB. Always worried someone wants to car jack my old bimmer everywhere I go. At the petrol station, ask my wife to lock our car and standby to go over the driver seat and horn or drive away if on first sight of trouble. Only feel safe once I cross custom bridge back to Sng, am I paranoid? Heard too many cases, think my uncle almost new merc was car jacked in the late 1990s, even my friend's Toyota Wish was gone with the wind last year. This year 2011 just checked my passport, never step foot into JB at all. But I have joharian friends who comes to Singapore to work, think and assimiliate like the locals should be safe and drive a non flashy or COE car

Edited by Amazon777

Will your son's studies be affected? Wake up early, go home after u finish work... by the time get home will be tired, can study? Homework, got time? What if u need to OT? And weekend do project with classmates, how?

If rental is 27k, u might as well use the 27k, top up a few more K and pay COV for a resale flat. U said 30-40k COV is crazy money, $27K rental money is even more crazy.

Will your son's studies be affected? Wake up early, go home after u finish work... by the time get home will be tired, can study? Homework, got time? What if u need to OT? And weekend do project with classmates, how?

agreed.. i believed your son will be affected.. why not consider putting up at your relatives / parents place if the rental is too much

1.7k..you are renting the whole flat?

how many of you are staying?2?u and son only?

maybe you can try switching to rent just a room and squeeze abit for the time being.should be around 500-600 for a room,can save you 1k a month.

driving a sg plate car in jb is just looking for trouble,even my jb colleague who drove a sg plate car to work here,once he reached jb home he always drove his j plate car out to town.he said even a j plate car can be car jacked but the probability of a sg plate one being targeted is hundred times higher.

1.7k..you are renting the whole flat?

how many of you are staying?2?u and son only?

maybe you can try switching to rent just a room and squeeze abit for the time being.should be around 500-600 for a room,can save you 1k a month.

driving a sg plate car in jb is just looking for trouble,even my jb colleague who drove a sg plate car to work here,once he reached jb home he always drove his j plate car out to town.he said even a j plate car can be car jacked but the probability of a sg plate one being targeted is hundred times higher.

lol?

SG 3 series BMW

MY 3 series BMW

why sg targetted more?

both same cars leh

I still get paranoid each time I step foot in JB. Always worried someone wants to car jack my old bimmer everywhere I go. At the petrol station, ask my wife to lock our car and standby to go over the driver seat and horn or drive away if on first sight of trouble. Only feel safe once I cross custom bridge back to Sng, am I paranoid? Heard too many cases, think my uncle almost new merc was car jacked in the late 1990s, even my friend's Toyota Wish was gone with the wind last year. This year 2011 just checked my passport, never step foot into JB at all. But I have joharian friends who comes to Singapore to work, think and assimiliate like the locals should be safe and drive a non flashy or COE car

Yupz.. u r right.. my jb colleague Pte condo kena break in last month..total 5 units kena break in..sercuity guard dun know anything.. :angry:

Edited by Aaron_soh80

I know about the security there (im a johorian). The reason im doing this is that the housing in singapore has become too expensive, and renting over 3 years while waiting for the BTO is a lot of money.

Anyway, its not as safe as they make out to be here anyway [:p]

so u r a PR? Then pls dont queue up here coz PRs r causing alot of BTOs being oversubscribed at the mo. maybe try 10 yrs later