Rosschang 1st Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 got this promotional mail from citibank, newsweek subscription 1 yr 52 issue @ SGD49 bucks... should I?... but kinda thinking from the no free lunch perspective, I absolutely detest my personal infor falling into one of those millions of marketing database... :( ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 got this promotional mail from citibank, newsweek subscription 1 yr 52 issue @ SGD49 bucks... should I?... but kinda thinking from the no free lunch perspective, I absolutely detest my personal infor falling into one of those millions of marketing database... :( why not? I love Newsweek!!! 49 bucks is great price! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 i tried $300 for 3yr The Times but after few issues already si bei sian all about obama obama as if obama is his boyfriend KNN, now from letter box drop straight into bin dun even wanna open the wrapper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hensony Clutched July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 i tried $300 for 3yr The Times but after few issues already si bei sian all about obama obama as if obama is his boyfriend KNN, now from letter box drop straight into bin dun even wanna open the wrapper Same here. I terminated my subscription with The Times as I find the mag very US-centric. The editors better wake up and take notice of other parts of the world if they want to maintain readership. The US-era is over. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear July 2, 2011 Author Share July 2, 2011 Same here. I terminated my subscription with The Times as I find the mag very US-centric. The editors better wake up and take notice of other parts of the world if they want to maintain readership. The US-era is over. Ya use to buy times off the shelf once in a while... US Centric, as if the rest the world dun exist liddat. never like it... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Thedream 3rd Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 got this promotional mail from citibank, newsweek subscription 1 yr 52 issue @ SGD49 bucks... should I?... but kinda thinking from the no free lunch perspective, I absolutely detest my personal infor falling into one of those millions of marketing database... :( IIRC, there are like 2 tick boxes at the bottom of the flyer where you can choose to exclude your information from being shared... but then again it's up to you whether you trust them to do so... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 i tried $300 for 3yr The Times but after few issues already si bei sian all about obama obama as if obama is his boyfriend KNN, now from letter box drop straight into bin dun even wanna open the wrapper Newsweek is not so US centric. All the important weekly news in one issue.....I don't even bother with daily newspaper. And I find it good at improving my vocabulary. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 got this promotional mail from citibank, newsweek subscription 1 yr 52 issue @ SGD49 bucks... should I?... but kinda thinking from the no free lunch perspective, I absolutely detest my personal infor falling into one of those millions of marketing database... :( There's only 1 magazine which i think is worth subscribing which is the Economist. The articles r well written, bring up a lot of issues that normal media won't cover. Can be quite heavy and is hardcore reading. But no time to read liao. Stopped it few yrs ago. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Donut Supercharged July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 I am on the Times and Fortune subscriptions now. Yeah Times is v US centric. So got to read with a pinch of salt. The Fortune is v good. It gives alot coporate insights into companies worldwide. No technical and ez to read. My wfe is enjoying Fortune. So u can imagine how interesting it is. She never have a reading habit to start with. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 Dun waste yr moni Stomp is all the news you need! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 If the TS doesn't want it, please PM me and give me the promo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Porker Turbocharged July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 got this promotional mail from citibank, newsweek subscription 1 yr 52 issue @ SGD49 bucks... should I?... but kinda thinking from the no free lunch perspective, I absolutely detest my personal infor falling into one of those millions of marketing database... :( You should go with professional agencies such as WSJ. It can be viewed online and even on iPad. Better coverage. Less biased. Not controlled. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 If the TS doesn't want it, please PM me and give me the promo. Y dun u ask forummer Mecontle to pass it to u for the next < 3 yrs, since he's dumping it to the bin everytime he receives it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icedbs Turbocharged July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 Y dun u ask forummer Mecontle to pass it to u for the next < 3 yrs, since he's dumping it to the bin everytime he receives it His is the Times. I don't want Times. I want Newsweek. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 (edited) Dun waste yr moni Stomp is all the news you need! 'The Daily MCF' better, it cover wider and in dept on the topic, provide more objective and 'professional' view than 'The Stomp' [laugh] Edited July 4, 2011 by Jman888 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 'The Daily MCF' better, it cover wider and in dept on the topic, provide more objective and 'professional' view than 'The Stomp' [laugh] Quite right! MCF is the best! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jpcc Clutched July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 WSJ not controlled meh? It is a division of News Corp, controlled by Rupert Murdoch leh. I do agree with another post on the Economist. A good and worthy subscription, can learn chim words too. A Chinese equivalent (offering an Asian perspective) maybe Yazhou zhoukan 亞洲週刊. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rosschang 1st Gear July 4, 2011 Author Share July 4, 2011 chop chop subscribe 2 years liao... lol... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...