May i know what does the following contributes in noise level and comfort:-

1) softness of the side wall

2) higher profile vs low profile

3) thinner and thicker thread.

3) more and less threads.

kum sia many many

Edited by Tom_kkh

Soundproofing used and the road condition.

I know for sure low profile tires contributes to noise.

soft or hard wall no effect?

and the threads will not contribute to noise?

Everything will contribute to noise. How the thread is cut also contribute to noise. Soft wall or hard wall that I couldn't advise. I think not much different. Low profile normally harder while higher profile normally softer and more comfort.

In a car?

I know that firm suspension will contribute to noise level in the cabin also. Low profile for tires too. Wider grooves on the tires, although good in wet condition as it moves more water, it's also make more noise. It's a give and take thingy. If you want performance, you will have to put up with noise and discomfort.

So when ppl ask for tire that's performs great in every condition and is quiet, there's no such thing, theres always a compromise.

thanks guy.

other than noise, how does a hard or soft wall contributes to the ride. more comfy? stability? ???

I know for sure low profile tires contributes to noise.

soft or hard wall no effect?

and the threads will not contribute to noise?

low profile not = high noise

high profile not = low noise

( compare a 214.45.17 gr90 , and 195.60.15 falken912)

when car lower, gap between car body and tyre smaller = higher noise, cos noise transmit into the car more easily.

thanks guy.

other than noise, how does a hard or soft wall contributes to the ride. more comfy? stability? ???

There's no hard or soft wall lah. How are you going to determine the hardness? You think F1 tires? Got hard & soft compound tires?

It's the height of the tire wall eg. 215/55/R16, the figure 55 is the height of the tire wall. The higher the figure the more the tire is able to flex and absorb impact. Lower the figure the less the tires is able to flex and absorb impact. Simple as that.

It's not stability. I find that any tire profile under 45 is very prone to loosing traction causing the car to drift(that's why car drifting enthu like to use them). Anything from 50~60 is good for comfort and grip as tire has more allowance to flex.

May i know what does the following contributes in noise level and comfort:-

1) softness of the side wall

2) higher profile vs low profile

3) thinner and thicker thread.

3) more and less threads.

kum sia many many

I assume you mean all other factors the same: generally:-

1) softer side wall less noise (can absorb road uneveness)

2) higher profile less noise (ban absorb road uneveness)

2) thinner and thicker thread also subject to the land/sea ratio, thread pattern (unable to comment much)

4) less thread more noise (less rubber to absorber surface roughness)

There's no hard or soft wall lah. How are you going to determine the hardness? You think F1 tires? Got hard & soft compound tires?

It's the height of the tire wall eg. 215/55/R16, the figure 55 is the height of the tire wall. The higher the figure the more the tire is able to flex and absorb impact. Lower the figure the less the tires is able to flex and absorb impact. Simple as that.

there is hard and soft sidewall tyres.

exact same size same brand. goodyear 205.55.16

f1gsd3. and f1 efficientgrip .

if u got chance to feel this 2 tyre u will know.

more example: basically bridgestone tyre ( esp potenza series ) all side wall very hard

225.45.17 s001 and toyot1r

there is hard and soft sidewall tyres.

exact same size same brand. goodyear 205.55.16

f1gsd3. and f1 efficientgrip .

if u got chance to feel this 2 tyre u will know.

more example: basically bridgestone tyre ( esp potenza series ) all side wall very hard

225.45.17 s001 and toyot1r

Dan is there any indication that is printed on the tire to tell you the hardness or softness?

If you telling me to feel I take it as "butt feel" which to me is BS.

If you tell me the chemical composition (that's hard/soft) whether it's rubber or silicone I can understand. But tire wall hardness?

Dan is there any indication that is printed on the tire to tell you the hardness or softness?

If you telling me to feel I take it as "butt feel" which to me is BS.

just my personal view, dun need take it so hard, any case if u got chance go tyre shop touch and feel those tyres i mention, before there are install, u might change your view.

My opinion is the tire wall height. The shorter it's the more rigid the tire. If it's the chemical composition or the tire compound, that will determine the wear rate of the tire. Ppl like to say hard/soft which is too general for me.

generally is true that lower profile will stiffened the side wall, this is physic. however, tyre manufacturer will include reinforcement within the rubber, thus will further stiffened up. depending on design, rigidity of side wall will differ from one to another.

Yup..this is probably correct...the height of the tire wall will determine the stiffness of the tire..

Edited by Cluboxed

So when ppl ask for tire that's performs great in every condition and is quiet, there's no such thing, theres always a compromise.

have lar.. wear ear plug.. [:p]

i have sets of 215/45/r17 & 185/60/r15 on same car, & i say if ur car is not heavy enough, having the 215/45 will cause wheel spin at mscp cornering slope up , & the ride is so stable on flat there's no bodyroll fun anymore, comfort is 1 think more dependent on suspension + tyre material, my 185/60 is noisier but better braking while my cheaper 215/45 is lesser noise but poorer braking