Doraemonsg Neutral Newbie July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 Chill guys :):) Interesting topic to think abt actually... Didnt know got so much science behind pumping petrol. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Moredhel 2nd Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 Got a non related questions for you guys here :- If I have half tank of ron92 , I pump another half tank of ron98 , will my tank of petrol become ron95 ? Thanks No, your injectors will spray half ron92 and half ron98 and with a jumbled up cocktails of additives. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 density=mass/volume if the mass and volume stay the same, how can density change coz of the heat? mass confirm same but if air hot, volume expand rite? then if vol up, density sure dn Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? do you need to calculate and save until like that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? Then next time u wan to go pump, bring some ice n put it at the nozzle to cool the petrol so u get more bang for your buck lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Then next time u wan to go pump, bring some ice n put it at the nozzle to cool the petrol so u get more bang for your buck lah. and a thermometer to measure the air temperature before setting off Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 No leh i never pump in the morning leh rushing to work where got time to still go pump? I am just curious or maybe i poor mar thats why i must watch every penny not like rich ppl mar Or.....next time u dont pump till u see temp drop to 20 deg C then go n pump. If never drop, just take bus lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 I never say i want to save money leh....i just curious want to find out why lor or maybe i am really that poor to want to save that few pennies? I pump in JB the nozzle is always cold. Maybe there ty cool the petrol b4 selling so we get more petrol fr every RM we pump? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Next time if ur kids ask a weird or impossible question pls reply him this way also thks But u must remember that the underground tanks wil take quite long to heat up n cool down. So if above ground is hot, below is still cool n visa-versa. So like that means u sud only go n pump when it is hot above ground cos then its still cool below. So wait till 5pm then go pump. Sud get more petrol for every dollar? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Background on Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Hot Fuel Costs Consumers More Than 2.3 Billion Dollars Annually The price of gasoline and diesel is already a major concern to all motorists. What you may not know is that the temperature of the fuel you pump into your tank affects how much money you spend and how much fuel is ultimately consumed. In short, you may not be getting what you pay for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pdreams Neutral Newbie July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Read that cold is better, can pump more into the tank as its not filled up with petrol fumes... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Grinch84 Clutched July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 bro,petrol flash point quite low if apply heat ,there's a high chance of explosion. basically the heat is due to flow of fluid.there is friction between the fluid and the hose which is the contributes to the build up of heat. cheerz...!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
5936 1st Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 FRICTION from fluid movement cause nozzle to heat up. I do believe pumping during cold weather. For refinery tank, it make a lot of different it you are dealing in thousand tons or million litres. But the benefit is just too little for car's fuel tank size for the extra effort. For me better to refuel as part of your journey in the morning or night. Of cause I avoid hot afternoon to refuel. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 (edited) let's be more scientific n do some analysis....found the following discussion on another forum. http://www.frihost.com/forums/vt-97955.html So, assuming coefficient of expansion of petrol as 0.00095, and temperature swing of 6 deg C from day to night, and pumping 50L of petrol, the savings will be 0.00095 x 50 x 6 = 0.285L. At $2 per litre, tat's $0.57 saved. s--t.... thats more saving then all the nonsense discounts combined er wait is that per L or per 50L? jesus its just 50cent less for nite pump i better go to sleep Edited July 3, 2011 by Mecontle Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 density=mass/volume if the mass and volume stay the same, how can density change coz of the heat? It's called specific gravity http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Specific_gravity Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atonchia Supersonic July 3, 2011 Share July 3, 2011 (edited) Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? What you say is true. Ask those in the aviation industry and they will tell you the normal time to call the fuel bowser to refuel the aircraft is normally in the morning. The lowest temperature for any place in the world is the minutes before sunrise. Edited July 3, 2011 by Atonchia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear July 4, 2011 Share July 4, 2011 s--t.... thats more saving then all the nonsense discounts combined er wait is that per L or per 50L? jesus its just 50cent less for nite pump i better go to sleep it's per 50L....and tat's assuming a rather large temp diff....if the day n night temp diff is less, then even lagi not worth ur effort....better go to sleep, as u said. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...