Fri13th 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Unltd 5th Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? I think you r being paranoid. If can afford to drive there are better things to worry about than this. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Estrangable 5th Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 You seriously have nothing better in life to worry or think about ... Even if u found out that u can pump a bit more on cool days ... So what ... You gg to pump only in morning at all time ?? Instead of thinking of how to save pennies ... Think bigger. Jesus the extent one can do to save pennies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Author Share June 30, 2011 I think you r being paranoid. If can afford to drive there are better things to worry about than this. Paranoid? Errm....i think i am more curious than worry about the money just want to know the truth why the hose is warm when pumping....driving means have alot of money meh?I got a few friends who take public transport have liquidity of a 5rm resale flat or maybe i am the poor 1 who drive and have to watch every cent i spend? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Author Share June 30, 2011 You seriously have nothing better in life to worry or think about ... Even if u found out that u can pump a bit more on cool days ... So what ... You gg to pump only in morning at all time ?? Instead of thinking of how to save pennies ... Think bigger. Jesus the extent one can do to save pennies No leh i never pump in the morning leh rushing to work where got time to still go pump? I am just curious or maybe i poor mar thats why i must watch every penny not like rich ppl mar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Timex1441 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 sg is not like other countries eg usa, where the temperature can swing quite a bit fr day to night....the amount tat u save by pumping petrol when it's cooler, is really not worth saving..... be happy, dun worry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Author Share June 30, 2011 sg is not like other countries eg usa, where the temperature can swing quite a bit fr day to night....the amount tat u save by pumping petrol when it's cooler, is really not worth saving..... be happy, dun worry I never say i want to save money leh....i just curious want to find out why lor or maybe i am really that poor to want to save that few pennies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Best time to pump is just before sunrise which is average at 7.07am everyday. If that you pump anytime later for instance 7.30am, you are screwed! Better things in life is to spend money not worrying the best value per buck. If that one needs to worry with every pennies, migrate is the best option as Singapore is one of the top debt-GDP countries in the world. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fri13th 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Author Share June 30, 2011 Zzzzzzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mahjong74 Supercharged June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? A petrol station normally have underground fuel tanks size of 30000 to 40000 Litres. If there are really such equipments that can warm the petrol, what is the running costs required to warm 30000 to 40000 Litres of petrol??? Maintenance cost of these equipments since it is underground??? Sorry for being blunt but your IQ a bit the and also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mecontle 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 I support this discussion, no need bother with above Lemmings they r brought up only to be told what to do eg jump off roof or walk into wall just like a typical sinkie, ie brain drained/dead, lacked creativity yes i read this too & its true cold = denser, i only pump at night, but hard to confirm what effect for saving, but definitely not at mid noon when 35deg ok back to ur post, i think pump gets hot due to the machine running, not due to heater inside , but nvr notice pump gets hotter becoz attendant always do it, maybe tonite will try, tank running low liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 A petrol station normally have underground fuel tanks size of 30000 to 40000 Litres. If there are really such equipments that can warm the petrol, what is the running costs required to warm 30000 to 40000 Litres of petrol??? Maintenance cost of these equipments since it is underground??? Sorry for being blunt but your IQ a bit the and also Can share with us which are the ones with such tank sizes? The tanks appear much smaller during the respective upgrading/renovation? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 Hi everyone as above i believe many of us had heard its better to pump cold petrol early morning as petrol is more dense than when its hot....very logical right? But recently i started to pump petrol myself and i touch the metal part of the hose which connect to the nozzle and i can feel that its warm! i tried at another station and b4 i start pumping the metal part is cold and during pumping i again can feel the metal part is warm again So i suspect that petrol stations got some sort of equiment to warm the petrol and that in turn let them be more profitable by selling warm and less dense petrol to us What do u guys think? Maybe u guys can try pumping urself the next time and feel for urself? Is it the latent heat in the petrol being stored underground that you felt? This is normal. Need to warm their petrol with our climate/weather? This is ticklish if you are kidding with us (laugh). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 It's called underground trapped heat from the sun radiation on the ground. The tanks are located in the u shaded part of the station. In theory cold liquid are denser. But in reality, it's not much. In theory it's best to buy during cold days, like winter or huge difference in temp between day and night of >10degrees. Countries in china where the day temp and night temp has great differences might be advisable to pump from 7am to 10am where the sun is just starting to heat up the ground. In theory there is a pressure relief and oil overflow valve in your car, so if you park you car under hot sun, the car fuel tank will get heated up, the vapourisation of the fuel will have to escape somewhere. You will lose fuel due to evaporation. You try shaking a liter of petrol in a plastic bottle, the vapor pressure will cause the bottle to be hard. Like shaking the coke bottle scenario. The gas will escape thru the car pressure relief valve. So the best is to cover your car with a silver cover if you park under sun, or get a shady area, more so when your gas tank is full......as the vapor gas has less headroom to expand and need to escape. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Club21z 4th Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 pump in morning advisable becos no que ! Evening go always full house, that's my theory Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yattokame 4th Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 pump in morning advisable becos no que ! Evening go always full house, that's my theory yah man. I always pump early and then have breakfast in the mart before leaving for work. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 Yes, pump on cool weather can get a little more petrol. But its a tiny amount. I always pump at night cause petrol station is not crowded. But I won't bother to go early morning. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RoadTricks Neutral Newbie July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 pump in morning advisable becos no que ! Evening go always full house, that's my theory Precisely! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...