Wear a tie during interview?

Jj5599

Is that a model agency you went for interview? :wub: :wub:

No la, just a shipping company. Quite intimidated when I stepped in, almost all were ang moh......and the ladies were tall and damn hot...I felt like want to leave..ahha..thats how stressed when I saw the environment, there's no rooms..even the bosses have a desk next to common staff.

wow that's good, my neighbours all have hot OLs. only my company with old and lazy OLs

The only local gals are the two recep girls.....i think all the rest ang moh, wah stressed sia if i got the job.

The titile "Manager" can mean a job which commands a salary around 5kpm in some companies, but in some MNCs, the salary starts at 10k.... so some candidates get it wrong and show up in different attires... :D

VPs a dame a dozen in many local campanies/banks, but some companies use the same title for very senior positions as their 'Managers' already draw 15kpm :blink:

More puzzling that some companies called their Apprentices, 'Engineers' (laugh)

Bought the suit from G2000 this afternoon. But I can't wait to have the pants & sleeve do up in 5 days (need to fly on Wednesday night) & send to a tailor shop to adjust (Monday collect). Cost total about $280 (suit & pants). Is this price reasonable?

Reasonable, depend on the quality... I bought mine $300 as blazer and pant, but good quality.. Overall G2000 not bad, free alter and all the suits are suitable for business type

I interview people wearing long sleeve shirt and tie for specialist position while I am wearing a polo t shirt. To me it's the substance of the candidate and how he carries himself in the interview. Not what he wears.

Q...

how do you recognize a person got substance in a short interview...? [confused]

This is a classic case.

Imagine the HOD came in smart casual and his superior came in tie and coat??

Change on the spot from formal to casual seems easier than the other way round..... :D

The only local gals are the two recep girls.....i think all the rest ang moh, wah stressed sia if i got the job.

i always like to visit a customer, hot reception to hot OL to Hot lab assistants to hot scientist.

I once went for an interview dressed in shirt and tie and the interviewer was in polo tee and jeans with wierd pink stripes.

my boss and i once did interviews for design consultancy, the designers bidding for the job showed up in formal jacket and tie.... but my boss and I were in black t and jeans :D:D:D (usually designers show up in casual wear though)

Bought the suit from G2000 this afternoon. But I can't wait to have the pants & sleeve do up in 5 days (need to fly on Wednesday night) & send to a tailor shop to adjust (Monday collect). Cost total about $280 (suit & pants). Is this price reasonable?

i guess the range/varieties of daily office autumn/winter wears here are limited as compared to UK (you are heading there, rite?).... why not just grab one or two here but buy the rest once you are there..... the fashions here maybe outdated whereas in UK you can get the current fashions? Formal jackets/suits maybe cheaper to made here, or bangkok though..... [:)]

I should be in UK later this year, hope to visit your car-related office if there's a chance... oxford/london will be my destinations [:)]

$1k suit for a $3k / month job?

don't think bro kiadaw is holding a 3k/month? but whats wrong with holding a 3k/month job and wearing a $1k suit, if you need it for your job and use it often, it is perfectly fine. hokkien saying, su lang mai su seh.

i once attended an one-to-one interview, she's ang moh and 1.8m 40-28-38.... arm muscle quite big... talked like a man... she tried to cornered me but i guess i did not to bad and ended up working for her 2 weeks later..... later we both tekang her angmoh male collegue in work, i helped her set him up :D:D:D .... i still remember she banged his table real hard one day the glass dropped on the floor [laugh][laugh]

might as well rent

if you don't wear often, don't need get too expensive, probably zara should suffice but then really depends on your industry, certain industry is more conscious of the things you wear ie banking. The more branded item you wear, the nicer car you drive indirectly implies how successful you are as a banker.

More puzzling that some companies called their Apprentices, 'Engineers' (laugh)

now secretaries are called office managers :D

i once attended an one-to-one interview, she's ang moh and 1.8m 40-28-38.... arm muscle quite big... talked like a man... she tried to cornered me but i guess i did not to bad and ended up working for her 2 weeks later..... later we both tekang her angmoh male collegue in work, i helped her set him up :D:D:D .... i still remember she banged his table real hard one day the glass dropped on the floor [laugh][laugh]

Greene and Geoff :D