Wear a tie during interview?

Jj5599

Is it a norm? Lazy to wear one..

if you tink a couldn't-be-bothered attitude would impress ur potential employer, dun bother wif a tie.

Depending on the level. Sometimes wearing a tie or coat for a role that doesn't require that can even have the effect of lowering your chances [;)]

Agree. Can be quite subjective to the occassion/participants. Example: years back, my Head of Department arrived in coat and tie to attend a sponsor's ceremony. His superior and the Sponsor arrived later dressed smart casual. My Head of Department immediately took off his coat in order to blend with them.

Edited by Good-Carbuyer

if lazy to wear a tie for an interview on a white-collar job, then why bother apply in the first place???? pls show some effort, wear a tie will not suffocate u, think far.....

if you tink a couldn't-be-bothered attitude would impress ur potential employer, dun bother wif a tie.

bu bu your time wear tie, as big as scarf wan u noe......and you too old lah...wait kena strangle how?? [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i've had clowns who came for an interview for senior positions wearing jeans.

needless to say, it was a very, very short interview......

I have gotten round the part of wearing tie to use a mandarin collar shirt. All my shirts are mandarin collar. No need for tie

din know u switch line to waiter.

post-1105-1309486593_thumb.jpg

din know u switch line to waiter.

priest lah [laugh][laugh][laugh]

in the medical line. the tie is actually the biggest spreader of germs, bacteria. Thus, Drs wear bow tie and there are increasing no of ppl not wearing tie bcos of this.....so the best compromise is mandarin collar lo

Edited by RadX

priest lah [laugh][laugh][laugh]

in the medical line. the tie is actually the biggest spreader of germs, bacteria. Thus, Drs wear bow tie and there are increasing no of ppl not wearing tie bcos of this.....so the best compromise is mandarin collar lo

ahe,...dr.death counted meh? thot ur motivation is for them to KO faster? [:p]

sssssh....dun pecah lobang [laugh][laugh][laugh]

But then, when you get the job, start the job, don't wear tie... is it equivalent to false advertising?? [laugh]

My first day of work I wore a tie....

Being the clown of the company as no one else pulls up one.

imagine going for an interview for dish washer and wear suit with tie.........

:D :D :D

if the tie covers her cleverage... then no need to wear lah... :D

should wear bras for interviews? ..... [rolleyes]:D

Yes, although for professional technical positions, even at MNC, and I'm talking grad and post-grad positions here, I've seen more people being tie-less, just long-sleeve and business pants.

You may be able to get away without a tie for technical positions, but even then, if it's senior management in the interview panel, then better to wear. It'd be odd if they are in suit or jacket with tie, and here you are, being very casual [laugh]

I've always worn a tie, even though it feels constricting. Some people claim to be more relaxed, tie-less, so can think better and speak better at interview. But I think you should be prepared (rehearsed) for any interview, so don't need to think much. Speaking for myself, if I was relaxed and give answers on the spot for my previous interviews... I think cannot get the job lah... [laugh]

So, conclusion, better to wear a tie.

Agreed...

Wearing a tie is also showing respect to the interviewers, not so much as to 'elevate' our own image.

Even if the interviewer is the towkay who wears casually, it's good to be a little overdressed (but dont go overboard) just to show him some respect.

Unless in creative industry interviews, you may wear to suit the environment... but basically, even a simple tie in such situations also wont be too out of place

for technician / tradesman job interviews, it will be different, bring your tools / overall and greasy hands, it helps :D

My first day of work I wore a tie....

Being the clown of the company as no one else pulls up one.

same here, everyone was looking at me as if i was an alien......... 2nd day onwards, i wore tuck-out short sleeve and sometimes even no socks :D:D

How about a bow tie? Will it look like waiter? I find normal tie too cumbersome and irritating.

if you are a doc or a designer/architect, why not?? :D:D ......... but seriously, bow ties wont do for interview [:)]

same here, everyone was looking at me as if i was an alien......... 2nd day onwards, i wore tuck-out short sleeve and sometimes even no socks :D:D

But I always make it a point to wear 1 tie in office when I am meeting suppliers (even that they are my contacts and had been friends for years).

U joking ?? Who the f wear a bow tie for interview ?? Charlie chapin ?

its called audition... not interview :D:D