Jman888 Moderator November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 If needed can stop at Seremban before heading to KL. If the main purpose is just shopping and makan, and you have kids in the group, preferably get a hotel IN BB, Furama is a bit far to walk for kids after a tire day of shopping (walking), getting a cab is also a nightmare and may charge you very high for a distant you can even see the hotel from where you are! If not go straight to Damansara where they have a few big shopping malls and child friendly place. Alternatively, Sunway itself has shopping and kids play ground! Thanks bro. We should be leaving Melaka at ard 12 noon and then head towards KL. Any rest point recommended for the trip from Melaka to KL? Think only 1 stop should be enough as Melaka to KL is just under 150 km....so I should take no more than 1.5-2 hrs drive. I'm just worried about the jam from toll to hotel as well as the roads 'cos first time driving to KL. I'll be driving with a GPS though. For the traveling inside KL, I'll stick to the public transportation then..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 The rest point not actually for me lah 'cos my friend and his wife plus a 8 yr old kid might need. Also I might need to top up fuel as well. I won't be driving ard KL as we'll be taking public transport......... I have not stayed there but used to travel along jln pudu. Dont remember can turn directly to hotel from the direction you going. Ask worldfamousfriedbeehoon in post #102 who has stayed there. Most take one break from Sg to KL or Genting and some dont even break or refuel destination. So from Melaka a break is not necessary and you can pump petrol in Melaka. For me. despite the condition of traffic, I still drive around KL unless I aim to go a specific place and return. It is walkable from hotel to BB and I am sure walking is also part of seeing the place rather than driving. Last time I stayed at Swiss Garden I also walked to BB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MTRAC Neutral Newbie November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 Bro WTF, I always stay at Park Royal. Its at BB area. Location is good for shopping and price reasonable. Free parking for hotel guest. Monorail station nearby. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 Bro WTF, I always stay at Park Royal. Its at BB area. Location is good for shopping and price reasonable. Free parking for hotel guest. Monorail station nearby. Thanks bro. We were actually not wanting to get a hotel right in the middle of BB but near to Times Square. So Furama looks good for us and they have family rooms available which is a plus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 Stayed before during March this year. Very good. Just behind Berjaya Mall and BB. There is a local coffeeshop just behind the hotel morning nice noodle soup and such. Opp the hotel also have some small boutique cafes (there was a Taiwanese cafe which I patronised). Like me, there were also quite a few Singaporean families and couples staying there. Carpark is bright and safe, can see at least 20% SG plated vehicles. You have any idea where to turn into the carpark of the hotel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 If needed can stop at Seremban before heading to KL. If the main purpose is just shopping and makan, and you have kids in the group, preferably get a hotel IN BB, Furama is a bit far to walk for kids after a tire day of shopping (walking), getting a cab is also a nightmare and may charge you very high for a distant you can even see the hotel from where you are! If not go straight to Damansara where they have a few big shopping malls and child friendly place. Alternatively, Sunway itself has shopping and kids play ground! Thanks bro. We wanted to stay at Furama 'cos of price and location as it's near to Times Square where we would bring the little one there...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 I have not stayed there but used to travel along jln pudu. Dont remember can turn directly to hotel from the direction you going. Ask worldfamousfriedbeehoon in post #102 who has stayed there. Most take one break from Sg to KL or Genting and some dont even break or refuel destination. So from Melaka a break is not necessary and you can pump petrol in Melaka. For me. despite the condition of traffic, I still drive around KL unless I aim to go a specific place and return. It is walkable from hotel to BB and I am sure walking is also part of seeing the place rather than driving. Last time I stayed at Swiss Garden I also walked to BB. I've checked the Goggle Map and it shown as below : http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Renaissa...mp;t=m&z=18 You rem if the entrance to the carpark is facing the main road or need to go into those small roads behind the building? It looks like the hotel is part of a shopping center, the Shaw Parade....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dumb 4th Gear November 12, 2012 Share November 12, 2012 I've checked the Goggle Map and it shown as below : http://maps.google.com/maps?saddr=Renaissa...mp;t=m&z=18 You rem if the entrance to the carpark is facing the main road or need to go into those small roads behind the building? It looks like the hotel is part of a shopping center, the Shaw Parade....... Your road map looks ok if that the location. You can also go by jln pudu and turn right to jln brunei based on your road map. But the hotel's own website gives another location and if you key 136 jln changkat thambi dollah using streetdirectory.com.my you get another location. So where is the exact location? Tell us where you are back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 13, 2012 Share November 13, 2012 Your road map looks ok if that the location. You can also go by jln pudu and turn right to jln brunei based on your road map. But the hotel's own website gives another location and if you key 136 jln changkat thambi dollah using streetdirectory.com.my you get another location. So where is the exact location? Tell us where you are back. Siao liao........really need help liao..........anyone stayed at Furama Bukit Bintang before can help to pinpoint where is the exact location of the hotel? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear November 13, 2012 Share November 13, 2012 Your road map looks ok if that the location. You can also go by jln pudu and turn right to jln brunei based on your road map. But the hotel's own website gives another location and if you key 136 jln changkat thambi dollah using streetdirectory.com.my you get another location. So where is the exact location? Tell us where you are back. Just contacted the hotel and was told that the hotel is after the Shaw Parade building and can be seen on the main road of Jln CHangkat Thambi Dollah..........and the carpark entrance is along that road as well....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gong Neutral Newbie November 13, 2012 Share November 13, 2012 Will be driving to Genting for 2 nites and Kl 2 nites wife and kid during 20 - 24 Dec. Staying at Sky Express Hotel in KL http://www.agoda.com/asia/malaysia/kuala_l...ress_hotel.html Anyone stay at this hotel before? How is the room and car park? Beside the theme park at Times Square, any place nice for the kid? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged November 16, 2012 Share November 16, 2012 i will b going to KL next mth. will stay at parkroyal serviced suites. anyone stay there b4? will b my first time driving to kl. don plan to drive ard. will either take the lrt or walk ard there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tireburner 3rd Gear December 3, 2012 Share December 3, 2012 Yeah, stayed in Parkroyal Serviced Suites for 3 nights last November just before the school holiday. It opened last year and got a 2 bedroom apartment (turned out it was actually a 3 bedroom) for RM650 with breakfast for 4. Nice place to stay. It's a distance from Bukit Bintang. Walking to Pavillion takes about 8-10mins i think. Kids loved the place as it was spacious, with kitchen and laundry room. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shorty Turbocharged December 4, 2012 Share December 4, 2012 Yeah, stayed in Parkroyal Serviced Suites for 3 nights last November just before the school holiday. It opened last year and got a 2 bedroom apartment (turned out it was actually a 3 bedroom) for RM650 with breakfast for 4. Nice place to stay. It's a distance from Bukit Bintang. Walking to Pavillion takes about 8-10mins i think. Kids loved the place as it was spacious, with kitchen and laundry room. saw the layout for the 2 bedroom also. very big. when u say it's a distance from bukit bintang, u mean far or near? according to the hotel, they said it's walking distance. but i see the map, looks like can b quite far if walk there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear December 4, 2012 Share December 4, 2012 saw the layout for the 2 bedroom also. very big. when u say it's a distance from bukit bintang, u mean far or near? according to the hotel, they said it's walking distance. but i see the map, looks like can b quite far if walk there. Gotta gib discount on what hotels said sometimes.......just like car manufacturers' on the fuel consumption thingy....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 4, 2012 Share December 4, 2012 i will b going to KL next mth. will stay at parkroyal serviced suites. anyone stay there b4? will b my first time driving to kl. don plan to drive ard. will either take the lrt or walk ard there. Remember to keep right after you exit the SMART tunnel. The road in front of Park Royal is 2 same way with the LRT in the middle. If you take the left side, you will have to go one big round + the jam. Foodcourt at Lot 10 is quite nice but expensive. Or else you can walk over to Jalan Alor (Touristy but nonetheless interesting at night). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged December 4, 2012 Share December 4, 2012 saw the layout for the 2 bedroom also. very big. when u say it's a distance from bukit bintang, u mean far or near? according to the hotel, they said it's walking distance. but i see the map, looks like can b quite far if walk there. 10 minutes. It is like you stay in Far East Plaza and walk to Paragon. Just around the same area. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dee_farrell Neutral Newbie December 4, 2012 Share December 4, 2012 Yup..it's quite near if you don't actually take note of the distance and get urself occupied by looking @ ur surroundings.turn to ur right upon exiting the hotel n once u saw Radius hotel,turn left n all the way straight up.will c b.bintang in no time. Stayed there in March this year n very pleased with everything.definitely will go back there again! Oh ya,the mama shop directly opposite the suites have nice food! Should try it! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...