Blogtowkay Neutral Newbie June 30, 2011 Author Share June 30, 2011 for your Mio, r u using wireless setup? im on wired, no problems for the whole of last season watching football. but tats the only time i on the Mio, the rest of the time is on Starhub. its true miotv can make me vomit blood cos i tried for 6mths and gave up. BUT a contract is a contract mah. if we terminate still muz pay penalty. n starhub can suka suka increase price?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Relacklabrudder 1st Gear June 30, 2011 Share June 30, 2011 so ppl used to say no protest, no demonstration in singapore is good, but is it good when u are taken for a ride and u cannot demostrate or protest? like kena slap yet cannot cry... CASE is really powerless. wayang dummy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear July 1, 2011 Share July 1, 2011 mio sports package also increase price liao from $25 to $29. BPL fans take note! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Don't watch lah, so bloody expensive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 since all of them are providing the network for the steaming, if one day they decide to block these sites, we also LPPL Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 wonder when it will be mio TV turn to increase price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic2000 Supercharged July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 With the Cross-Carriage measure for Pay-TV to go ahead from August, does it mean that if I am on Starhub Cable TV, I would be able to pay and watch EPL telecasts which is now carried exclusively by Mio TV of SingTel? Jul 1, 2011 Cross-carriage Pay-TV rules to go ahead from August By Chua Hian Hou COUCH POTATOES may get to watch previously exclusive pay-TV content on their own pay-TV provider from August, without having to sign up for another pay-TV subscription or install another set-top box. On Friday evening, the Government announced that it would go ahead with its controversial decision requiring pay-TV operators to carry each other's exclusive content. The move, said Singapore's content regulator Media Development Authority of Singapore (MDA) in a statement, will help create 'a vibrant pay-TV market to the benefit of consumers and industry'. Operators will have to implement the measure, known as cross-carriage, from next month (August), it added. This means that pay-TV providers will have to allow their exclusive content to be carried on a rival provider's network, if the latter's customers want to watch this content. Such exclusive content must be made available, unedited, to the rival operator's customer within five working days of him making the request, and at the same price, the MDA added. MDA's new rule only affects exclusive content deals signed from last March, when the cross-carriage measure was first announced. Since MDA's announcement however, no significant exclusive content deals have been announced. Most of the big, recognisable channels like the English Premier League, The Discovery Channel, Animal Planet, Discovery Travel & Living, HBO, Warner TV, Animax, Beyond, AXN, the UEFA Champions League, Formula One races and Wimbledon tennis tournaments, had been locked down via multi-year exclusive contracts with either StarHub or SingTel, before the MDA announced its cross carriage measure. As such, they will remain exclusive to either SingTel or StarHub until the contract expires in a couple of years' time. Pay-TV operators will also have to publish a list of exclusive content signed since March online, starting next month. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Westcoastbay Neutral Newbie July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 (edited) As a very small country, there is no mass economies of scale. So no other competitive choices. For the BPL, I think Starhub can only get the content from 2013/2014. Singtel got the 3 years exclusive contract before the MDA ruling. Edited July 2, 2011 by Westcoastbay Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 Just as a further comparison: You have to buy a TV licence in UK, cost S$300 per annum. For that you get the 4 main TV channels, BBC1, BBC@,ITV1, Channel 4. But if you also get a Freeview STB then you get another 50 + channels for free. And if you get a satellite dish you get another 100 + channels for free. On top of that if you want to pay for even more additional satellite channels then you can. The above 3 options includes many free HD channels. I also see someone has mentioned overseas telephone call charges. When I'm in the UK to phone Singapore costs me 10cent connection charge and 1cent per minute for the call itself. And finally if you know someone in the US I think you can get a Slingbox and set up your own personal streaming of US TV shows to Singapore. I believe this is legal if you have a US TV licence. And really finally there are many Internet streaming sites for TV. Dunno if this is legal in Singapore. All the above really does show in my opinion how poorly we are served here in both choice and especially price. I have a Slingbox. I wouldn't recommend getting this, but instead go for Monsoon's Vulkano. The Vulkano has recording capabilities on memory cards or external harddisk, removing the need for another recorder. My Slingbox started giving problems slightly after a year of usage. After reading their forums and google around, a lot of people are facing exactly the same issue. The fault was later traced to be 2 capacitors that had failed. Sling refused to acknowledge this problem and if you need tech support after the initial 3 months, you've to pay close to US$30. Negative comments or repair solutions posted on the forums are deleted almost immediately. Luckily I managed to repair my unit and prevented it from turning into another paper weight. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mllcg 3rd Gear July 2, 2011 Share July 2, 2011 yay. time to ditch miobox. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...