StarHub TV to increase prices in face of rising costs

Blogtowkay

KNN...with contract why must pay more? then what is the use of a contract? they lost EPL to Singh -tel....so lost money liao..

Edited by LoverofCar

news say that old and new subscribers will have to pay more. who else has contract with starhub tv and feeling moody like me now?

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/S...ory_685161.html

what's there to be moody abt? as long as the service is reliable and doesn't hang halfway everytime u watch, i'm happy to pay the $2 extra.

hv u tried watching Mio TV? can vomit blood.

what's there to be moody abt? as long as the service is reliable and doesn't hang halfway everytime u watch, i'm happy to pay the $2 extra.

for your Mio, r u using wireless setup? im on wired, no problems for the whole of last season watching football.

but tats the only time i on the Mio, the rest of the time is on Starhub.

I have both SCV n Mio TV. Never experience any hang for Mio TV at all when on direct LAN cable from modem. Watch it in Full HD setting most of the time for BPL n F1.

SCV, some times jerky like cd dirty or pirated version like that. Watching Discovery, Discovery Turbo, NGC, NGC Adventure, Crime n Investigation, History n BBC Knowledge.

My Mio connection from brand new Aztech modem to box is thru Cat 5E LAN. Box to TV via HDMI. Still hang or jerky without fail. Called 1688 to comprain dunno how many times liao. They keep resetting on their end and ask me to switch off and on again. Walau eh.... <_< Gimme $2 discount oso i dun wan if i hv a choice.

i read there will be a shift (MDA/IDA led initiative) to move from exclusive content to buffet style pick and choose programs within the next 2 years perhaps. Then with the to be developed common set top box, it will be a battle for consumers' eyeball time. hopefully this comes sooner than later.

tink it's shared content rather than a common box coz both using diff system. but i know which box i WON'T be going for.....

My Mio connection from brand new Aztech modem to box is thru Cat 5E LAN. Box to TV via HDMI. Still hang or jerky without fail. Called 1688 to comprain dunno how many times liao. They keep resetting on their end and ask me to switch off and on again. Walau eh.... <_< Gimme $2 discount oso i dun wan if i hv a choice.

er.....wanna say sth but duwan lah [laugh][laugh][laugh]

KNS, thought they have already increased the price of their set-up box long time ago by $2??!! [:|] Now increased another $2! [furious]

Singtel will be nxt to increase cos just gib top mgt pay rise

Pay rise for SingTel top management

By Tamal Mukherjee | Posted: 28 June 2011 2040 hrs

Photos 1 of 1

SINGAPORE: Singapore Telecommunications (SingTel) has given its top management another pay rise, following a year of 7 percent revenue growth to S$18.07 billion.

The telco earned a net profit of S$3.83 billion, which was however 2 percent lower than a year ago.

According to SingTel's annual report released on Tuesday, group chief executive Chua Sock Koong was paid S$4.5 million for the financial year ended March 31.

The amount, which included a fatter bonus of S$2.95 million, is higher than the S$4.15 million she earned the year before.

Besides Ms Chua, most of SingTel's other management team members also received pay increases.

SingTel's Singapore CEO Allen Lew earned S$3.19 million, compared to S$2.88 million for FY2010.

Paul O'Sullivan, CEO of Australian subsidiary Optus, received S$3.95 million (A$3.04 million) last year, against S$3.48 million the year before.

Optus, SingTel's largest subsidiary and Australia's number two telco, posted a 15 percent growth in net profit to A$776 million for the year ended March 31.

The higher profit came on the back of a 3.7 percent rise in revenue to A$9.28 billion.

However, chief financial officer Jeann Low earned S$1.7 million, compared to S$2.39 million the previous year.

In the company's annual report, SingTel chairman Chumpol NaLamlieng revealed that the group crossed the 400-million mobile customer mark, with the inclusion of Bharti's 16 African operations.

Mr NaLamlieng also said a significant event was the Next Generation National Broadband Network going live in Singapore, adding that the company's knowledge and experience will help Optus compete more effectively when NBN is rolled out in Australia.

Meanwhile, Ms Chua said in the annual report that the company is "at the crossroads of industry changes, which present both opportunities and risks."

"Industry value is shifting towards mobile devices, content, applications and services while prices and margins of traditional access services are declining," said Ms Chua.

She added that to counter this trend, the company needs to "creatively manage the returns from our access business to afford continual investments in our mobile and data networks."

- CNA/ir

they gib me 50% discount that's why kena suckered into signing up.

now i feel i've paid 50% too much.....

they gib me 50% discount that's why kena suckered into signing up.

now i feel i've paid 50% too much.....

my mio is bcos of the 50%....the box has never been touched....when time to terminate...sure terminate.....