13177 Hypersonic June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 4:40 AM, Pltang said: i see a number.... weekend cars mostly, they occupies lots and sometimes, remain there for more than a week.... these should go Maybe you are right, they are taking up space. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 4:34 AM, Timex1441 said: U feel like a 1st class citizen here meh??? 1st class citizen here is PRs, 2nd class is FTs, 3rd class is then s'porean. But think very fast s'porean might not be 3rd class anymore! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Very soon MCF will have lesser members coz lesser car owners...hehe.. have to open MyTaxiForum or MyBusForum, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 7:09 AM, Tarzan666 said: Very soon MCF will have lesser members coz lesser car owners...hehe.. have to open MyTaxiForum or MyBusForum, Who say must own car then can come to MCF!? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 6:53 AM, 13177 said: 1st class citizen here is PRs, 2nd class is FTs, 3rd class is then s'porean. But think very fast s'porean might not be 3rd class anymore! Sorry but that's b-------t PR are lesser priority in everything compared to citizen a) lesser chance in school b) lesser subsidy in hospital c) lesser chance to buy property To mention but a few d) lesser subsidy from town council e) no govt payments f) a lot lot more... Whether this is the correct policy, enough or more is needed I am not going to say. BUT to say that PR are better off than citizen is pure rubbish. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 6:08 AM, Jamesgetz said: as much as i hate paying for COEs like all car owners, i think it's a necesary evil. road space is a premium in s'pore and there is really a need to control the car population. in s'pore, it's just not possible for everyone to own a car but the 'fairest' way to allocate car ownership is via simple market economics ie. you can own it only if you can afford it. There is one issue though - and I don't have a "fair" solution for it. Market forces always tend to favour the rich rather than those that will get the most benefit. So what its posssible to end up with is one family (lets say mum, dad + two uni age children) that have the means, owning three cars - while you get another family of mum+dad+two kids+parent /s without a car. While this is "fair" in terms of the first family being able to pay getting the benefit, the second family is left out in the cold - and consequently there is a lot of stuff that simply is not open to them. Even something simple - like going canoeing at Seletar resevoir becomes a mission if you are limited to public transport, whereas if you have a car it is easy. SO there will be a lot of stuff that some families are missing out on - which will create a further divide between rich and poor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Expanding on the theme... Some time ago towards the end of the Muldoon era in NZ (so mid 80s) there was a "wage / price freeze" in New Zealand. This was supposed to make life "easier" and you would think that by freezing prices you would make it easier. But the reverse ended up happening - what it did was to restrict credit. So banks were in the position that they could pick and choose their customers to lend to - so only those that were the very very best "credit risk" were afforded loans - in other words, only those that least needed a loan could get one. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 i am thinking of buying a merc vito bus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic6228 6th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Most of us would agree that cars in Singapore is a want and not a need ..... Prices of COE can be at $1 or $100k, there will still be people buying and selling cars. At the end, it is about affordability .... Based on current situation, there should be further cut in COE Quotas to reduce population but i doubt LTA dares to implement this action. Cannot afford, LL use public transport lor, cannot access to certain places (which I doubt any where in Singapore that a taxi cannot get to), dun go lor... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Woof Clutched June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 There is also a possibility COEs may moderate lower but the cost to drive it on the road is so very expensive that you think twice before driving out of the carpark...this based on usage on the road (i.e. $X / km) with the use of GPS tracking your car driven usage on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 4:24 AM, Ben5266 said: Actually, those due 2014 is the most jiak lat. A lot of them will need to scrap their car but the available COE is based on last half year. Someone will have to drop out, unless LTA changed the policy again to forecast based. Maybe they renew coe?50k for 10yr or 25k for 5yr? Just like me during yr2000,my humble jap car reach 10yr mark. coe during that time also 40 to 50k & new car so expensive & cant afford. In the end choose to renew coe for 40+k & loss all the parf value. Am i stupid? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 With the new formula to determine COE quota, i don't expect to see cheap COE again. The spiral effect will continue to drive COE prices higher and higher as the quota will continue get lesser and lesser. This should last for at least 2-3 more yrs till 2014 when we start to see more cars reaching 10 yrs COE. I hope i am wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 9:44 AM, Sktan10 said: Maybe they renew coe?50k for 10yr or 25k for 5yr? Just like me during yr2000,my humble jap car reach 10yr mark. coe during that time also 40 to 50k & new car so expensive & cant afford. In the end choose to renew coe for 40+k & loss all the parf value. Am i stupid? Depend on what car and the amount of cost saving. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maroon5 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 9:44 AM, Sktan10 said: Maybe they renew coe?50k for 10yr or 25k for 5yr? Just like me during yr2000,my humble jap car reach 10yr mark. coe during that time also 40 to 50k & new car so expensive & cant afford. In the end choose to renew coe for 40+k & loss all the parf value. Am i stupid? i thk such situations should b lesser tis time round cos there are alot of 5yr old cars avail in resale mkt calling 30k thereabouts and still can get back PARF. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/28/2011 at 6:23 AM, Johnnylim said: Well...if they still insist on driving, they can always buy 2nd car Err... I mean 2nd hand car... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeleeswp Neutral Newbie June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 How do they expect people to afford to keep paying these prices, everyday living expenses are hard enough for some families!!! http://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/marc-jb-f...oul/id446797230 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Picanto 3rd Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 On 6/27/2011 at 2:59 PM, Alheych said: komoco would definitely have a vested interest in scaring people to boost sales now. in high COE times it's korean dealers like them who suffer the most. you barely see any new hyundais now. even the showroom at bt timah road 'zhap lap' alr. its a matter of time before they begin to retrench some of the sales staff Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Axela72 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 during the time were COE is hovering around 5k period, I remember someone here mentioned that the higher COE era is history. Furthermore, don't know which bugger here also mentioned that there is possibility that the COE might be abolished at the later stage. This make me taking my own sweet time to change car. See what happen now!!! Those bugger that comment the above better come out and give yourselves a tight slap to your mouth. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...