Derek_phua Neutral Newbie June 26, 2011 Share June 26, 2011 Dear Bros and Sis, Anyone has recommendation of where to buy lights and fans in JB? Can help to provide shop names and their address? Thanks a lot in advance! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Crystal_tiong 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 I heard kdk fans are cheaper in JB Here's the info http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/YES-E...143969298961977 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 Won't the goods be subjected to taxation(GST) at the customs? Why not just buy locally? The stretch along Geylang Rd got many shops who are distributors. Prices are cheap also plus you dun have to waste petrol to go all the way to JB. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tarzan666 2nd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 There are 2 shops which I frequent.. Yes, lighting & fans are cheaper but bear in mind no warranty for fans.. I bought lotsa lightings at dirt cheap prices at these 2 places, other lighting shops in JB can forget about it, even with GST also still dirt cheap. Juz imagine i bought a big crystal chandelier with LED at ard S$260..where can get that price in SG. Tampoi lighting centre No.2,4 & 6, Jalan Titiwangsa 3/1, Taman Tampoi Indah (Batu 6 1/2, Jalan Skudai), 81200 Johor Bahru, Malaysia Best light 103, 105, Jalan Ros Merah 2/3, Taman Johor Jaya, Johor Bahru Johor, 81100, Malaysia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 Won't the goods be subjected to taxation(GST) at the customs? Why not just buy locally? The stretch along Geylang Rd got many shops who are distributors. Prices are cheap also plus you dun have to waste petrol to go all the way to JB. Big bulky items sure can't escape the eyes of the customs. Yes, if you go in for just a day trip and stay less than 24 hours, your entitlement is only S$50. Anything beyond this amount is subject of the usual 7% GST. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 great info!!!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 maybe drive to genting for a short vacation and on the way back buy there lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 those giant lights how to transport back? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derek_phua Neutral Newbie June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 thanks for the info! How about furniture? Any recommendations since our local get their supplies directly from Malaysia? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Derek_phua Neutral Newbie June 27, 2011 Author Share June 27, 2011 Come'on. Lets be constructive and that's the questions. Thanks for your first pointer but not the rest =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kzyshop Neutral Newbie March 28, 2012 Share March 28, 2012 can add me up at [email protected] for lights accessories... =) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched March 28, 2012 Share March 28, 2012 (edited) I heard kdk fans are cheaper in JB Here's the info http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/YES-E...143969298961977 If its a KDK, theres no need for warranties... Their fans will last for 10years or longer and still spin like a dj at zouk out.... All my fans have always been KDKs and I seldom need to use the aircon even on hot days. Edited March 28, 2012 by Haziqko Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched March 28, 2012 Share March 28, 2012 Big bulky items sure can't escape the eyes of the customs. Yes, if you go in for just a day trip and stay less than 24 hours, your entitlement is only S$50. Anything beyond this amount is subject of the usual 7% GST. Customs has revised that b-------t as of yesterday. Now everybody including kids are allowed to bring home goods worth up to $600 per person if you travel for 3d2n. So if got family of 4 2.4k worth of goods free of taxes. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear March 28, 2012 Share March 28, 2012 I bought most of my lights and kdk fan from tampoi, when coming back just declare at custom with the number of passerger you have, I paid less than 10 buck for GST. The kdk fan there cost 200sing while here cost about 380 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 no need declare la... just go thru custom as normal, if the officers jialat one will ask for receipts than you go declare la. if not move along... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Haziqko Clutched March 30, 2012 Share March 30, 2012 wah you supplier ah boss...how many fans you already bring in? yar lor correct bring more passanger to get more tax free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aaronlkl Supersonic May 28, 2013 Share May 28, 2013 Just wanna check, till date how much can a person buy without having to pay GST? (day trip) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear May 28, 2013 Share May 28, 2013 Just wanna check, till date how much can a person buy without having to pay GST? (day trip) http://www.customs.gov.sg/leftNav/trav/Dut...+GST+Relief.htm Now so good...last time no relief at all...I bought a used windscreen also kenna pay GST. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...