Ivan_06 5th Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 some, if not, many, SG households are a bunch of ar se holes. they treated the maid worse than a dog. i know of a family; made the maid wake up 4am in morning, must mop floor, wash clothes, then make breakfast for whole family. then cannot sleep whole day coz of more cleaning to do. then come dinner (this one is the champion), she has to cook for 3 families because 2 other families will come to the home to eat, and this includes 3 generations. then she can only sleep at 12am because of more cleaning to do....... and you know why she has to wash clothes at 4am? Because she's washing for 3 families..... And they might also bring to her to the other 2 families to clean their homes too on weekends.... And no extra pay for her... she gets the same pay as other maids really ar se holes........ So i advocate for more humane treatments for maids.... give them deserved off days. They are worse than our NS boys. the maid never put her menstrual blood as extra ingredients in the soup ah? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 His past posting are all like that. Dont be too bothered with him. He is living in his own world. I don't know anything about you but I'm proud to say that in my world, playing fair even at your own expense is the right thing to do. And respecting another individual regardless of their station is a must. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 If one day off a week then one year got 52 days off? I only have 21 days of leave i ask you hor, do you work on public holidays, sat and sun? maids do hor!!! %$%$$ you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ivan_06 5th Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 No leh brudder hiphip, sat sun we have to do housework . . . . go marketing, cook lunch and dinner, do laundry, clean house, wash toilets, iron clothes for the coming week, drive kid for tuitions . . . We are weekend maids! how can you compare like that. @$##$@$@# Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 I can't understand that as well. Imagine you go for a lunch with the bosses and everyone gets to eat except you and noone talks to you during the entire session, except to ask you to take note, make business calls, etc... yeah.... absolutely.. many think they pay the maid and the perceived fact that the maid is lucky to work in Singapore, its gives them a right to abuse them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 27, 2011 Share June 27, 2011 i think these employers are worried that their maids misbehave at home while they are not around..bring them to watch them eat so to watch over the maids..also make sure of the maid to carry stuffs..squeezing every bit of juice out of the maids but refused to give them restaurant quality food..slave drivers these employers are such kind of maid employer own bosses should lock them out during lunch time and off the aircon incase they surf porn in office too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 If you mean preying on the misfortune of others is OK and does not grate on your conscience, then I have nothing much to say. Except that it says a lot about your value system. seriously, my previous maid is sitting at her home doing bascially nothing (not even helping out in her own family) before she came to us. coming here to earn est. peso 13k per month, who won't want? not all maids have tough lives here. some serves families with teenage, some with old folks, some with children, some with everything. not every family is the same. similarly, we don't have similar job requirements. so i think it is up to the contractual agreement between the maid and the employer. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireball0088 5th Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 (edited) nevermind...found the MOM link http://www.mom.gov.sg/legislation/Document...0employers).pdf Edited June 28, 2011 by Fireball0088 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 You agree.... BUT.... money does not right a wrong. Totally agree. Some arsse holes like the one you are replying to thinks that money can buy anything. These kind of arsse holes have two sets of rules. One for itself and one for others. I would love to see this arsse hole's children get treated by their employers in the same vein and attitude it treat its maid. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Did you compare your work with your friends too. So your boss should not let you go out with friends? Arrse holes like these (the one you are replying to) ought to be treated by their employers in the same way. Better still if this arrse hole's children get it from their employers in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Maids deserve some day off. But having said that, it is best to let them work out privately with employers what the arrangement is. I also feel MOM should do away with the $5000 security bond totally. KNN .... the maid misbehave on her off day and it's the employer who gets punished. MIW is very good at acting good guy when actually part of the trouble is caused by their own stupid rules Your $5000 security bond is protected by insurance. Anything happens the insurance covers the bond. Unless you had opted not to insure the bond. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hypermiler 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Your intentions may be good....to save the maid from trouble. But she isn't your daughter. Neither is she your relative. She is your employee. As much as she has no right to tell you to pray to Jesus, you have no right to tell her who she sleeps with. She is an adult with her own needs and wants. Let them lead their lives and need be suffer their own consequences. Don't be uptight and self righteous. Didn't you know that this arrse hole has been self righteous (and ultra-hypocritical) all the while? That's the way how this chap argues its tunnel visioned points across. Very consistent character.... can be seen in previous posts as well as in other threads. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 some, if not, many, SG households are a bunch of ar se holes. they treated the maid worse than a dog. i know of a family; made the maid wake up 4am in morning, must mop floor, wash clothes, then make breakfast for whole family. then cannot sleep whole day coz of more cleaning to do. then come dinner (this one is the champion), she has to cook for 3 families because 2 other families will come to the home to eat, and this includes 3 generations. then she can only sleep at 12am because of more cleaning to do....... and you know why she has to wash clothes at 4am? Because she's washing for 3 families..... And they might also bring to her to the other 2 families to clean their homes too on weekends.... And no extra pay for her... she gets the same pay as other maids really ar se holes........ So i advocate for more humane treatments for maids.... give them deserved off days. They are worse than our NS boys. Then you be headhunter for her lor. Always got families looking for maid but with 1/3 her current workload. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 Then you be headhunter for her lor. Always got families looking for maid but with 1/3 her current workload. my previous american lady boss, although she live alone, but hire a maid. The maid been working for her 2-3 years then, took up courses, cook fusion style cuisine. then one day the maid had heart attack, my boss pay for the by-pass and hospitalization, PLUS hire another maid to look after her :o Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 (edited) Giving maid an off a week is not a problem. The only worry is who they meet outside we all dont know. Imagine that we are working during weekday and your kids or elderly are left at home with them, who knows what and who they can invite back home. You never know what type of people they meet outside. As many say that we must treat them as one of our family members but will she treat us as a family?? Many question marks.???? Edited June 28, 2011 by Jamstart Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 my previous american lady boss, although she live alone, but hire a maid. The maid been working for her 2-3 years then, took up courses, cook fusion style cuisine. then one day the maid had heart attack, my boss pay for the by-pass and hospitalization, PLUS hire another maid to look after her :o Wow.. so good sia.. the maid must be very lucky to be hired by the lady boss.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
SimonTan 2nd Gear June 28, 2011 Author Share June 28, 2011 There must be a very good reason why so many people fear their maid get pregnant outside. I am not sure why the $5000 fine came about in the beginning? Is it to make us more concerned about the maids health condition? I had the assumption that it's this $5000 bond that makes many control their maid like slaves. Anyone can remember last time when there is no $5000 bond....what happen to maids and employers? I am not going to link the blame to authority again....but I had that impression that way after learning about the $5000 forfeit conditions.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamstart 1st Gear June 28, 2011 Share June 28, 2011 The authority can say what they want and like but end of the day, who shoulder the blame if anything happens to the FDW? Who gonna pay for their air tix and maid transfer fee?? Who, who, who? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...