Question: 4 off days for maids

SimonTan

Different rah.......most of us got sat and sunday off mah.

Maid got no annual leave.

But then again, some sporeans also work on sat & sun or bring work home. No difference from maids.

On the whole, one off day a mth is more practical for both the employer and maid.

If one day off a week then one year got 52 days off?

I only have 21 days of leave [:(]

Different rah.......most of us got sat and sunday off mah.

Maid got no annual leave.

But then again, some sporeans also work on sat & sun or bring work home. No difference from maids.

On the whole, one off day a mth is more practical for both the employer and maid.

No leh brudder hiphip, sat sun we have to do housework . . . . go marketing, cook lunch and dinner, do laundry, clean house, wash toilets, iron clothes for the coming week, drive kid for tuitions . . . [bigcry]

We are weekend maids! [laugh]

Another fear is that with outside contact, they start to compare their work and employer and the grass becomes greener elsewhere when actually hearsay do not give them the full picture as each household is unique. Some employers got bitten from own experiences.

Did you compare your work with your friends too. So your boss should not let you go out with friends?

I think some of us put in more work than the maids! Having employed a few (none of them up to standard, really), I know what I'm talking about. Now, no more maids (except for weekly cleaning service) - but it's tolerable, which shows that the typical maid does not much extra anyway.

Then again, it's our own home, kids we're looking after - so I guess it's natural that we put in more genuine and sincere effort...

Bro, I believe its in the contract that the employer will provide the food and living space. They are not paid super high salary to come here to work, if such basic civil rights have to stated as law, something is wrong with the employers in Singapore.

I believe so. I have read & seen enough & feel very sad that some people can be so self centered, treating their maid poorly, giving lame excuses why maid should not have off.

Maid go out will do 'stunt' & get pregnant. Your hubby go out, or oversea also may do 'stunt', so all wives shouldn't let their husband go out alone or overseas trips?

Yes, there is problem if they do 'stunt', but it is not an excuse to disallow leave. The leave is not the root of the problem.

I wash my car maybe once every 2 weeks, & even so, I admit its quite tiring, even under sheltered MSCP, & I think its a reasonable period to wash car. Yet some employers ask their maid to wash their car everyday, some even under hot sun!

Extend the line of questioning

1. I do not know if it's compulsory for all companies to buy insurance for their employee, but I do know that some coverage are for during work purpose only. So why is it that maid employers are must buy insurance for their employees (maids)? And if the compulsory off days become a reality, does the insurance coverage cease on those off-days?

2. If I commit a crime on my off days, my company is not responsible for me, although I su[ppose they may chose to terminate my employment if that action is justifies. So if maids were to commit a crime, does it mean that their employers are also not responsible for ANYTHING for their employee and that they may choose to fire thair maid if reasons are sound? (ie no need post bail, no need to pay for arrangement to send maid home ... etc)

Afterall, the rationale is to approach this an a employer-employee welfare/responsibilty thingy, then we should also be fair to the employer here too right?

I think paying the air fare to send them home is reasonable. After all, that's only a few hundreds. On the other hand, if it cost a few thousands because they did something wrong or commit a crime or whatever, then something is really wrong. It will not be fair to us as employers.

A long time ago, some unfortunate people had to work 24/7 and this was deemed to be harsh ie during slavery and feudal China, when people were treated as a commodity.

Along came democracy, progress and the notion of human rights and the law gradually mandates that people need their break, otherwise it is physical and mental abuse. Can't believe the defenses put up by the anti-off day camp. Would you work for 2 years without any off day or just 1 off day in a month? And most are not even paid more than 700 a month, including levy. Yes, some choose to work and save all their monies.... but really? Go ask your helper again if she would like the occasional off day.

I have a helper at home and she is free to go out every Sunday (sometimes she stays home to save money), yes it kept us busy when she is not around but we get used to it after a while. I support weekly off for domestic helper as it is the right thing to do. No point praying to God everyday when one can't even behave and think like a decent human being.

I know one my off days, I don't go back to office to enjoy air con, or use the free internet or photo printer.

How about maids off days?

Can they stay at home?

I mean if they stay at home, do they have to hide in their room?

Or can they walk around, watch TV with kids, eat their cookies, surf on their laptop, etc. Just dirty the house and no need to clean up until the next day?

How will one feel when the family is cleaning and arranging the house, while the maid is sitting around and watching the owner clean their own house for once.

So if the off days are implemented, must the maid be out of the house?

Also if the compulsory Sunday off, does it mean 00:00am till 23:59pm, exactly 24hours or what?

Anyone with the answer?

I think it's all wayang one lah. If during their off day the employer and family do not do any cleaning and washing, the next day the maid still LL have to do. It's just like we go for off or leave, work will still pile up and wait for you to come back and finish them, KNS. If off day go out no need to spent money, that will be great for the maids but everything in sgp is so bloody ex, you think they will want to go out often? For those who just arrive in sgp, I doubt they will even go out on their own on their off day.

It's better that they are given more time to rest and do the things they like each day dan have them work like a slave around the clock each day and only given a day's break each week.

A long time ago, some unfortunate people had to work 24/7 and this was deemed to be harsh ie during slavery and feudal China, when people were treated as a commodity.

Along came democracy, progress and the notion of human rights and the law gradually mandates that people need their break, otherwise it is physical and mental abuse. Can't believe the defenses put up by the anti-off day camp. Would you work for 2 years without any off day or just 1 off day in a month? And most are not even paid more than 700 a month, including levy. Yes, some choose to work and save all their monies.... but really? Go ask your helper again if she would like the occasional off day.

I have a helper at home and she is free to go out every Sunday (sometimes she stays home to save money), yes it kept us busy when she is not around but we get used to it after a while. I support weekly off for domestic helper as it is the right thing to do. No point praying to God everyday when one can't even behave and think like a decent human being.

well said....

one more bad thing about Singaporeans,

They like to bring their maids out to restaurants and let the maids watch the bosses eat.... i cannot understand that....

want to save money on 1 headcount then let the maid stay at home.. not let them watch you eat....

Well said. There are multiple kinds of hypocrites around. They can subject their employee to their form of treatment but never tolerate if it was given to them likewise by their employer. Quite surprisingly coming from a so called democratic highly educated english speaking first world swiss standard society in this 21st century.

I understand what it's like to do all the housework myself everyday. So I employed a maid to relieve my burden. And I know how tired she is to do my house work for me everyday.

She gets her day off every sunday and public holiday. Birthday off is given as well.

Maids deserve some day off. But having said that, it is best to let them work out privately with employers what the arrangement is.

I also feel MOM should do away with the $5000 security bond totally. KNN .... the maid misbehave on her off day and it's the employer who gets punished.

MIW is very good at acting good guy when actually part of the trouble is caused by their own stupid rules

4 days off in a month is better life than some of our local senior citizens who are making out a living working in coffeeshops and canteens with no annual leave and need to work on public holidays without any OT pay.

Don't know what and who our gahment is fighting for?

[laugh] No need to be so extreme lah. If you go back to office on off days, would your boss charge you rental for using the aircon, computer or just sitting there?

Anyway, I'm all for off days for maids. They are human beings and should be treated as such. The only problem lies with MOM with the $5k security bond. That is the thing stopping employer from giving maids off days.

if off day, i go back to office, my boss will ask why you are back. then give me work to do [laugh]

Another fear is that with outside contact, they start to compare their work and employer and the grass becomes greener elsewhere when actually hearsay do not give them the full picture as each household is unique. Some employers got bitten from own experiences.

another fear is go outside to "work"...if they get into trouble, who should be responsible? [:p]

Maids deserve some day off. But having said that, it is best to let them work out privately with employers what the arrangement is.

I also feel MOM should do away with the $5000 security bond totally. KNN .... the maid misbehave on her off day and it's the employer who gets punished.

MIW is very good at acting good guy when actually part of the trouble is caused by their own stupid rules

Bro, you didnt read Saturday ST? MOM already declared that if outside work hour, anything that happened to the maid is their own "pasa" liao, employer is not responsible to it.

who is going to pay money to send them back? so who is going to pay to get another replacement?

it is easy for them to say, as long as no $$$ from money. [laugh]

I think employers are not reponsible if the maid gets pregnant. But if they run road, the employer is still in trouble