Mona-vie 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 I just wonder what should we do if someone dash across the expressway and we are going at ~100KM/H? Do we try to avoid him at all cost (this means banging other cars or yourself crashing into barriers)? If not, do we brake and slow down and hope for the best (so as to minimise risk to other drivers)? I am asking this because quite sometime back, I recall seeing a worker running across the expressway to the construction site. I was like WTF..... I was quite far so I could see and slow down. I just wonder what if he dash out just like that and I am unable to react in time? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nightkids 6th Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 Wat would you do if its a dog or cat instead of a human? Long loh ki.....????? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whathefish 5th Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 hold the steering wheel tight and lock your elbow.....prepare for impact? Joking lah....E-brake of coz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JaydenSTI 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) i think most ppl would not considering such scenario in the first place, as it is common sense that ones should not be walking along any part of the expressway. Should everyone keep having this though while driving along expressway, wont it be PITA to do that??? However, shyt happened from time to time, i believe should such idiot dash out with meters of allowance, God bless to that idiot and myself...... Have a rather bad similar encounter years back when driving along PIE after Jalan Bahar right before KJE, saw an animal (most likely dog.....) dash out just meters ahead........... BANG!!....... wanted to stop but so many cars following behind at high speed..... having said that, am still speeding (<110kph most of the time) down expressway every now and then... Edited June 24, 2011 by JaydenSTI Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Majordan 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 ebrake la.. cannot swerve swerve many die Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lanevomax 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) i was told that if someone dash across the expressway and a driver kill it by bang on him , he wouldnt be charge for any offence. As everyone know no crossing through across the expressway at all times. But if it would really happen ,of cos it is good not to kill anyone. 7th Month coming.... Edited June 24, 2011 by Lanevomax Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Author Share June 24, 2011 Wat would you do if its a dog or cat instead of a human? Long loh ki.....????? I would e brake and hope for the best. If human, I also e brake and hope for the best. If bo pian means bo pian. But hopefully, I won't be rear ended....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mona-vie 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Author Share June 24, 2011 i was told that if someone dash across the expressway and a driver kill it by bang on him , he wouldnt be charge for any regulations. As everyone know no crossing through a expressway at all times. But if it would really happen ,of cos it is good not to kill anyone. 7th Month coming.... Thats what I remember also. But I think if can avoid, I will try to. If cannot then no choice. I am just thinking that even if I want to avoid, I also need to consider my own safety too. If jam brake swerve and go out of control and die how? Not to mention if knock into other cars can create a massive accident..... All because of 1 idiot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Naughty9795 2nd Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 There was a time, late at night when I was driving on PIE toward Jurong, a auntie dash across the road, I E brake and sway to lane 2. My friend and I was shocked and continue driving. We asked each other, if she a human or ghost Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 I just wonder what should we do if someone dash across the expressway and we are going at ~100KM/H? Do we try to avoid him at all cost (this means banging other cars or yourself crashing into barriers)? If not, do we brake and slow down and hope for the best (so as to minimise risk to other drivers)? I am asking this because quite sometime back, I recall seeing a worker running across the expressway to the construction site. I was like WTF..... I was quite far so I could see and slow down. I just wonder what if he dash out just like that and I am unable to react in time? I thought expressway speed limit 90km/H? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redstorm 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) Wat would you do if its a dog or cat instead of a human? Long loh ki.....????? Honestly, I dun how to react if it is a human being but I guess I will brake hard and hope for the best. Never try to swerve to avoid him. Your car will go out of control and in all probability will crash into some other cars on your right and/or left. This is precisely what happened many years back when a dog suddenly dashed across the TPE when I was doing about 100kmph. It was so sudden that instinctively I swerved to avoid it and the car went out of control and was going like a snake. Fortunately, it was a quiet Sunday afternoon and there was no vehicles on both my right and left otherwise I would have caused an accident. I only managed to gain proper control after about 200 metres. Phew!! I told myself, lesson learnt, in case of animal dashing across the road, try to slow down and hope for the best. Never swerve especially when u are on the expressway. Edited June 24, 2011 by Redstorm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yewheng Twincharged June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) i was told that if someone dash across the expressway and a driver kill it by bang on him , he wouldnt be charge for any offence. As everyone know no crossing through across the expressway at all times. But if it would really happen ,of cos it is good not to kill anyone. 7th Month coming.... Well provided the driver did not exceed speed limit.. but if driver exceed speed limit and happen to be so sway suddenly someone dash accross and no time to react.. it will be driver fault.. Edited June 24, 2011 by Yewheng Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 (edited) intermittent braking.....and handbrake hand brake is to the extreme...but most of the time if the driver is fast and alert enough skilled intermittent braking will do drive safe guys Edited June 24, 2011 by Ithunk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jj5599 1st Gear June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 Leave it to fate....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 24, 2011 Share June 24, 2011 intermittent braking.....and handbrake hand brake is to the extreme...but most of the time if the driver is fast and alert enough skilled intermittent braking will do drive safe guys Most cars have ABS now. Just slam on the brakes. It is human nature to swerve. Just hope all the ESP, DSPs watever ABCs works as they claim. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...