Where you cut your hair?

KARTer

On 12/2/2024 at 2:01 PM, 13177 said:

Wondering how they able to offer such low haircut price and yet still can survive? Lol.

number game..the more pple go in the lower the cost...i guess this package is just incidental to their main packages ..this is to attract pple into the shops .and hopefully get some uncles to sign up for their package...

On 12/2/2024 at 10:39 AM, Kb27 said:

It's true. They try to sell me package, but I just reject them. Pay the $6.80 and go.  

After all, I only need 2 haircut a year. One to be timed a few weeks before CNY, so they don't jack up the price. 😁

waahh 2x a yr! that's really low...i cut every 2 mths....my wife say too long gap already....:grin:

On 12/2/2024 at 10:39 AM, Kb27 said:

It's true. They try to sell me package, but I just reject them. Pay the $6.80 and go.  

After all, I only need 2 haircut a year. One to be timed a few weeks before CNY, so they don't jack up the price. 😁

On 12/2/2024 at 10:52 AM, Volvobrick said:

2 haircut per year! In between tie with rubber band? 

I can't stand it after 1 month at most. 

Ya, how to cut hair only twice per year? Unless your hair not really growing fast. Lol. I find best is to cut your hair around 3 weeks or so.

On 12/2/2024 at 2:04 PM, Spidey10 said:

number game..the more pple go in the lower the cost...i guess this package is just incidental to their main packages ..this is to attract pple into the shops .and hopefully get some uncles to sign up for their package...

waahh 2x a yr! that's really low...i cut every 2 mths....my wife say too long gap already....:grin:

If number game, then why others hair salon price so ex despite their business so good. 😅 Even those QB house, last time quite cheap, but now increase price until so ex liao.

On 12/2/2024 at 11:33 AM, Victor68 said:

Wonder why you choose to pay $5 and take the risk when your wife could have done a better job for almost free? 😁 

She just trim those uneven length with a scissor and shaver.

No talk about style..

My experience, $8 type keep changing cutters and price slowly creeps up. $12 are mainly aunties running the shop, stable and quite OK ones. QB my POV better than Kcut but price now is $12 too? Still looking for a more permanent aunty shop and hopefully she keep her price longer. 

On 12/2/2024 at 2:33 PM, Victor68 said:

My experience, $8 type keep changing cutters and price slowly creeps up. $12 are mainly aunties running the shop, stable and quite OK ones. QB my POV better than Kcut but price now is $12 too? Still looking for a more permanent aunty shop and hopefully she keep her price longer. 

I keep it simple. Go to the $12 auntie type at neighbourhood. Best part is no need to tell them what I want. Sit down and straight away cut to the exact length I want.

Go for one every 3 weeks. A good hair cut puts you in a good mood for the day. Thats why I don't change.

On 12/2/2024 at 2:48 PM, Davidklt said:

I keep it simple. Go to the $12 auntie type at neighbourhood. Best part is no need to tell them what I want. Sit down and straight away cut to the exact length I want.

Go for one every 3 weeks. A good hair cut puts you in a good mood for the day. Thats why I don't change.

Same same - but uncle cutting. Cut for me for 20-30 years liao. Waiting for him to retire then change shop.

On 12/2/2024 at 2:33 PM, Victor68 said:

QB should be at least $14 already, more ex than Kcut. Kcut will be $12 or $14 depending on locations. Like in Punggol, Waterway Point & Northshore Plaza will be $14 while Oasis Terraces & Punggol Plaza at $12

On 12/1/2024 at 3:20 PM, Kopites said:

Such blatant acts in singapore! 

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/hair-salons-geylang-offering-more-just-haircut

Hair salons in Geylang offering more than just a haircut

my old time uncle barber just move to Geylang  with a shop there.

But I decided not to go anymore cos east side a bit far for me and also don't like that area. 

Heng ahh...lucky never go there  for hair cut,, otherwise hard to explain after this article is out....

😄

Edited by Stary

On 12/2/2024 at 2:07 PM, 13177 said:

If number game, then why others hair salon price so ex despite their business so good. 😅 Even those QB house, last time quite cheap, but now increase price until so ex liao.

i think they make money via their other packages....see a lot of aunties sititng there for hours doing up ...me, the faster go in and faster out is the best. I normally got 15 mins earlier, be the 1st in q and the moment they open, walk in and 1st one to be seated and tell the guy, short and high slope and out of there in less than 5 mins.....

if u imagine, they have 30 customers like this for a day...i think it would have covered the barbers cost for the day....and you multiply by 30 days..

Businesses like Snip Avenue don't make much money cutting hair.

But from other services, like hair colouring, etc. Women are their best customers. 😁

On 12/2/2024 at 3:53 PM, Spidey10 said:

i think they make money via their other packages....see a lot of aunties sititng there for hours doing up ...me, the faster go in and faster out is the best. I normally got 15 mins earlier, be the 1st in q and the moment they open, walk in and 1st one to be seated and tell the guy, short and high slope and out of there in less than 5 mins.....

if u imagine, they have 30 customers like this for a day...i think it would have covered the barbers cost for the day....and you multiply by 30 days..

Even at $10 per cut and working non stop with no rest day, that is $9k a month in revenue.  

Rental is easily $3-4k for a small neighborhood shop.... plus utilities and other consumables, what is left, no CPF, no health insurance, no leave.  Driving a Grab is better. 

And I don't think there are 30 customers a day, especially on weekdays. 

These type of low cost HDB barber shop with low HDB rental in old neighborhoods are a disappearing trade.  Most are increasingly OMO as workers are hard to get and they can't even afford $3k salary. 

My hairstylist said she has more customers when the borders are closed. Now everyone do their hair in Johor. 

Edited by Voodooman

On 12/2/2024 at 4:55 PM, BanCoe said:

If this one go there how ??  

IMG_8651.jpeg

So, this is the one who tip $250 ? 

😆

Wow, i thought most people once enter into uncle age will not need haircut so often. Personally i just ownself mow hair with a xiaomi hair clipper, good enough for every 2-3 weeks once. Only once in  a few months go to a $5/6 barber to trim the rough edges. My job is not front-facing or and no need to look well-groomed , well-dressed so it's fine.

On 12/2/2024 at 3:49 PM, Stary said:

my old time uncle barber just move to Geylang  with a shop there.

But I decided not to go anymore cos east side a bit far for me and also don't like that area. 

Heng ahh...lucky never go there  for hair cut,, otherwise hard to explain after this article is out....

😄

You go there to cut hair right? can always take a photo or 2 to prove it,

as for what you do before or after haircut, you happy jiu hao... :D

Edited by Ahwhye

I had one regular saloon in Roxy SQ since secondary days... Cut from student rates until my late 30ys. So almost 20 over years, decided to change another place because I dislike their long waiting time for haircut. Their rates then was $18 cut and wash. 

Then found another about 10yrs ago at Bedok South, haircut only $12, Whatsapp the hairdresser for appointment time. 

Recently increase to $15. But they are moving to Tampines North soon.

Edited by Atonchia

On 12/2/2024 at 4:19 PM, Kb27 said:

Businesses like Snip Avenue don't make much money cutting hair.

But from other services, like hair colouring, etc. Women are their best customers. 😁

I went once many years back, then asked me want to buy this and that, after that i stop going 😁