Kwchan 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 (edited) Back in school days, i almost sign up power boat course to get a license to sail. but last time me poor student, $500+ for a course is a lot of $$ to me. that's why i save up the $$ to get a class 3 driving license in the end. Now, there is this lobang to learn power boat at only $150. http://tinyurl.com/6jkdkul Even after adding Examination fee ($70) and medical check-up ($30) fees...total add up only $250. Anyone with power boat license here can share how useful is it? Heard that next time punggol going to have some water sports facilitates, which is very near where i stay Edited June 22, 2011 by Kwchan ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 Back in school days, i almost sign up power boat course to get a license to sail. but last time me poor student, $500+ for a course is a lot of $$ to me. that's why i save up the $$ to get a class 3 driving license in the end. Now, there is this lobang to learn power boat at only $150. http://tinyurl.com/6jkdkul Even after adding Examination fee ($70) and medical check-up ($30) fees...total add up only $250. Anyone with power boat license here can share how useful is it? Heard that next time punggol going to have some water sports facilitates, which is very near where i stay At the moment no licence required to sail a boat. Licence required only for piloting a powered pleasure craft, other marinised vessels/crafts. Licence getting cheaper as more gave up their boats due to financial reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Teoky Clutched June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 I got a PPCDL 6 years ago and till date, has not use it before. Unless you have deep pockets to buy a boat or to rent a boat (not cheap), PPCDL end up under utilized. But for S$200+, why not ? However, it isn't easy to get the license on the 1st try, I think success rate is 30% for 1st try. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched June 22, 2011 Share June 22, 2011 At the moment no licence required to sail a boat. Licence required only for piloting a powered pleasure craft, other marinised vessels/crafts. Licence getting cheaper as more gave up their boats due to financial reasons. correct!! if need big class then get steerman/helmman but both are mostly commerially used! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
I-LOVE-CARS 1st Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 At the moment no licence required to sail a boat. Licence required only for piloting a powered pleasure craft, other marinised vessels/crafts. Licence getting cheaper as more gave up their boats due to financial reasons. Agree, own boat in SG is like 'RICH MAN TOY' but if u intend to move to places like Auckland in the future, then no problem, if not like waste money, i rather use the 250 dollars eat better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Hi, I obtained my PPCDL in late 2009, until now I have yet to utilise it. I took it just for fun as I have already driven a 62m missile covette and a four man rubber dingy around for 5yrs. the license is actually just for fun lah, not that I want to get a boat. But in SG, even riding a jetski needs a PPCDL. The test will be difficult for 1st timer. But I still passed on the 1st attempt. You will need to familiarise with navigational terms n rules of the road for coastal navigation, thatz the theory part. The practical test is being conducted at West Coast SP marina. The waters are choppy there due to the ferry service there and it gets pretty windy. After u demostrate ur skill to the tester, u still have to go to the room for an oral test with the tester. He will ask u some question with regards to navigational terms n rules of the road for coastal navigation. So I would advise 1st timer to learn at Republic of Singapore Yacht Club. They share the same waters with the SP marina where u will take the test. I learnt mine at SAF Sembawang Yacht Club. If u really love boating, can get a small fibreglass boat + a small outboard and the mandatory 13 items. Should be available for ard S$2k excluding yearly inspection from MPA. U will be surprised abt the mandatory items to carry!!! One of them is a rubbish bin. During my test, learnt from some, they took the test more than six times liao. Go to a proper learning place who are experienced. Dont waste ur $$$. P.S the testers there is as lau lan as those tp testers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Razgriz Clutched June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 actually i also quite tempted to buy.... seems fun ... not that i wan that licence.. but jus wanna try and learn new stuff ^^ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Agree, own boat in SG is like 'RICH MAN TOY' but if u intend to move to places like Auckland in the future, then no problem, if not like waste money, i rather use the 250 dollars eat better Owning a boat in SG is not a rich man toy lah. It depends on the type of boat!!! There are ard 60+ kelong in SG and all of them have at least two boats, they are all rich man??? But if you are looking at a 30m Cabin Cruiser with full facilities type, then its a really a rich man toy. They cost in the range of $40-50k second hand, cheapest. Then u will have to factor in fuel + storage + maintenance + insurance + yearly inspection. Not too long ago, I met a nice malay chap while r/c boating. He told me I have to mix ard with his abangs as they have such boats. They normally share the cost among themselves. But there must be trust lah. He told me of one case where one of the owners turn to the dark side. He used the boat to smuggle cigg from Indon to SG. Kena caught by CG n boat was confiscated. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pmiw Neutral Newbie June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 is there any annual license fee? and is the license recognized internationally? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 is there any annual license fee? and is the license recognized internationally? Its a one time license fee like ur driving license. I dont think it is recognised internationally. It is only for local use. Because during the theory test and oral test, u must memorise all the little islands in SG only. There are ard 30 of them!!! I didnt know that until I went for the theory lesson. So maybe when in other country, u may have to take their theory test again just like driving license conversion for foreigners. Boat handling part, once u get used to it, u will learn to read the wind, current n ever changing condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hondaes8 2nd Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 PPCDL is only for Singapore waters only.... I too have a licence since 1998 but have not use it before...... However, i still enjoy the practical lessons and actual test where you actually helm the craft..... berthing fees and maintenance of the boat is definitely a minus point which many of us find it not worth to sustain...unless you have a passion for fishing and is out of the sea every week... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Patricklyb Clutched June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 actually i also quite tempted to buy.... seems fun ... not that i wan that licence.. but jus wanna try and learn new stuff ^^ go buy....but be4 you do think first! 1)membership 2)berthing at waterfront 3)storage if your boat is small 4)shore power/water 5)maintenance 6)etc....... afew yrs ago i own 1 even coastguard can only smell my smoke yours are at 45ktn,my at 75ktn the reason for selling fuel comsumtion! 1hr drink 200ltr of petrol for both engine! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 i also wanna get bec i wanna play jet ski but bintan and the likes no need licence leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Its a one time license fee like ur driving license. I dont think it is recognised internationally. It is only for local use. Because during the theory test and oral test, u must memorise all the little islands in SG only. There are ard 30 of them!!! I didnt know that until I went for the theory lesson. So maybe when in other country, u may have to take their theory test again just like driving license conversion for foreigners. Boat handling part, once u get used to it, u will learn to read the wind, current n ever changing condition. My time no need to know the islands. Just past you after the theory test taken after lunch. Before lunch demonstrate you are able to berth the boat smartly by yourself alone. I believe we practice the basic maritime Code. Actually the theory should cover ship stablility (GZ...). After getting her licence, a girl capsized her boat on the first trip she made. She drowned as the first licence-holder to drown. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blogtowkay Neutral Newbie June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 wah elites spotted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Good-Carbuyer 1st Gear June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 go buy....but be4 you do think first! 1)membership 2)berthing at waterfront 3)storage if your boat is small 4)shore power/water 5)maintenance 6)etc....... afew yrs ago i own 1 even coastguard can only smell my smoke yours are at 45ktn,my at 75ktn the reason for selling fuel comsumtion! 1hr drink 200ltr of petrol for both engine! I believe the CG used inboard diesel engines. Some models slower than smugglers'. How embarassing? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 Went for course during army days at Sembawang SAF sailing club, that time quite easy, no such thing as memorise island names, the part I remember about theory is remember boat lights. But I pass already they send letter for me to collect licence, I didn't. Till today no use for it as it turns out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic June 23, 2011 Share June 23, 2011 My time no need to know the islands. Just past you after the theory test taken after lunch. Before lunch demonstrate you are able to berth the boat smartly by yourself alone. I believe we practice the basic maritime Code. Actually the theory should cover ship stablility (GZ...). After getting her licence, a girl capsized her boat on the first trip she made. She drowned as the first licence-holder to drown. Ya, last time no govt control. The instructor who teach u can just suka suka pass u if he feel u are good enough. License was 5yearly renewal. But now all change liao. MPA in charge. So just have to follow the current rules to obtain ur license. Cannot bring in history. Thatz why I see many uneducated kelong caretakers re-take the test quite a few times. Its their job to operate the boat so they die die have to get that license otherwise cannot drive the boat. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...