Soya Supersonic June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 you helping to cure my depression mah eh, u and michelle chong like same same hor? she can act as the pinoy maid and u can act as the bangla worker.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konken Clutched June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I dunno but quite feasible given that the task is rather dangerous and time consuming. I bet most of the guys at Explomo was ex-SAF EOD It is called paying more for the same Xhit. But at least Mindef don't have to go around explaining to parents why their son is in multiple chunks and incomplete. You are right. Most of them are ex-regulars already EOD trained. I know some of them back in NSF days those regular divers joined Explomo or become commercial divers after their contract ended. Oh yeah, insurers shun them for obvious reasons. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vulcann 6th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 (edited) You are right. Most of them are ex-regulars already EOD trained. I know some of them back in NSF days those regular divers joined Explomo or become commercial divers after their contract ended. Oh yeah, insurers shun them for obvious reasons. Plenty of respect for EOD troops, especially after watching Hurt Locker... Edited June 21, 2011 by Vulcann Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 paging for MO. he is our forum expert This is utter rubbish, unexploded munitions all come under the charge of the military EOD division, no such crap of a public company doing so. Public companies do disposal and such, but in this instance,it is solely under the Military. The police don't know what they're talking about, if that is the case, anyone can remove it without any training to do so and endanger the lives of the general public. What about remove the contents and using it to make a bomb? How stupid can the MIB really be? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I dunno but quite feasible given that the task is rather dangerous and time consuming. I bet most of the guys at Explomo was ex-SAF EOD It is called paying more for the same Xhit. But at least Mindef don't have to go around explaining to parents why their son is in multiple chunks and incomplete. No brother, I beg to differ, all explomo staff were former SAF ammo base, ammunition technicians, grade 1 or grade 2. The ATs are trained far more detailed then EOD personnel. Knowledge of fuzes, primers, det.cots, plastique, etc... Founder of Explomo was former AT officer before he left. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toyo 1st Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I read the full report from straits times. Seems like the foreign workers were happy with their 160kg findings and actually carted it off and try to sell at a scrap yard thinking it is a piece of scrap metal. The scrap yard refused to take and they took it back where it was found. The report also state that it would cost $2000 to engage a private bomb disposal company to check the object out and another $8K to remove it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LoverofCar 6th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 (edited) CB...even the bomb was from WWII....it is like someone had put a bomb in a private proporty...police no need to act on it meh? So we just let it go off? wat c--k exuse is that by the police? it is public safety we are talking about... May the owner should go meet their MP at MPS....need him to write letter. Edited June 21, 2011 by LoverofCar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 (edited) No brother, I beg to differ, all explomo staff were former SAF ammo base, ammunition technicians, grade 1 or grade 2. The ATs are trained far more detailed then EOD personnel. Knowledge of fuzes, primers, det.cots, plastique, etc... Founder of Explomo was former AT officer before he left. thanks for the head up. Edited June 21, 2011 by Bavarian Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazdaowner Moderator June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 thanks for the head up. No problems brother. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I can't believe what I was reading this morning. If the relevant security agencies dun take care of the bomb, what if the thing land in the hands of terrorists? I wonder which joker was answering the call. If the the manager calls on the emergency number and was turn down, I mean at least give him another number to call to get relevant help. This is a joke. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kklim Supercharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 (edited) The furniture warehouse towkay should tell police, "Look here. The land the warehouse sits on is leasehold, like HDB flats. It is owned by JTC/SLA, I only own the building structures. My workers found the war relic in the soil, not in one of our buildings, so why don't you call whichever agency owns the land and ask them to get rid of the damn thing?" Edited June 21, 2011 by Kklim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darthrevan Supercharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 they rather sleep..Zzzzzz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Scion Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Author Share June 21, 2011 I read the full report from straits times. Seems like the foreign workers were happy with their 160kg findings and actually carted it off and try to sell at a scrap yard thinking it is a piece of scrap metal. The scrap yard refused to take and they took it back where it was found. The report also state that it would cost $2000 to engage a private bomb disposal company to check the object out and another $8K to remove it defuse it and let the museum has it... i'm sure not many of the WWII bombs are around anymore Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bystander50 5th Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 I don't know the policy on this. I would say they should diffuse it, BUT charge the company for services rendered lor. This is not a good suggestion. Next time your house on fire, SCDF will demand payment frlm you for putting out the fire. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Now that this has made news..... I think the next developer to find another bomb will quietly dispose if it somewhere to cut cost.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ngck 3rd Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 Now that this has made news..... I think the next developer to find another bomb will quietly dispose of it somewhere to cut cost.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zenithpool 2nd Gear June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 too bad the relic was not found in a HDB site. if not the construction company can move the relic and dump at TPY HDB Hub. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
The_Bear Turbocharged June 21, 2011 Share June 21, 2011 No problems brother. just read on the papers that the police confirmed that they told the company to get their own contractor. Where do we go from here?!? Maybe should contact the Japanese or British Embassy, probably belong to either of them. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...